We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip to Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Ranked #109 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Business trip to Bangkok”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Was in Bangkok for a meeting with PTT E&P, and chose this hotel for its proximity to their office. Stayed there 2 nights and highly recommend this place if looking for something in the area. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed, the internet connection in the room was great, and the best part (which money usually cannot buy) was the excellent service received. We enjoyed the ambiance and spread at the buffet breakfast and dinner in the Chatuchak Café,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mervin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantanat K, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Mr. Mervin
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    464
    128
    47
    23
See reviews for
169
305
84
425
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Although hotel location is not in central bangkok but is is only 10 minutes walk to MRT station. Building is modern, big and clean. Bath room is well equibed. Bed room has enough space to do some exercise in the room. Personnels are freindly and helpful. All in all, nothing to complain.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wjj50200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantanat K, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Sir
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I stayed at Centara for two nights on a business trip. It was recommended by the local office staff and I am glad I listened to them! It was a first time for me to be in this side of Bangkok – away from the usual hustle and bustle and though I was a bit apprehensive at first I soon realized that the hotel has its own charm and convenience.

Plus points –
Connected to the Central World Shopping Mall. . The mall has many restaurants with all sorts of cuisines so you will never go hungry!
2 mins walk away from Tesco and 7 Eleven.
5 mins taxi ride away from famous Chatachuk market.
Breakfast was great with a mix of international and Thai dishes and fresh fruits.
Rooms were nice – not much fancy but nothing to complain.
English speaking staff – language was not a problem at all.

Minus points –
The hotel seems to be very popular which means you have to wait for 5-10 mins before someone attends to you. I had to get my money exchanged and had to wait for a while at the reception – same during check in and check out! But once they do attend to you they are friendly and don’t take much time.
No tub :( but the rain shower wasn’t that bad either!
Paid Internet service – and you cannot download any movies or songs.
Long taxi ride to the main city area like Sukhumvit.

Overall, a great experience. Strongly recommended for business travellers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetotravelinIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantanat K, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Miss
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Mumbai...
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
I have taken good note of the speed of services which could be improved...
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Hotel is an ex Sofitel property and as such is of a very high build standard and presentation. It is attached to a new shopping precinct.

The GPS on board the hire car could not identify the hotel or the street address and I had to identify a local school name as the GPS location guide for the street address.

Room was not ready on check-in at a time I had specifically requested 3pm. I had an urgent tele conference booked for this time and could not access the internet even from the lobby unless I had a room number that corresponded with the internet access. All very frustrating.

Internet price was ridiculously expensive at USD 24 for 1 day access.

This hotel only suits people looking to stay close to the local business district rather than Bangkok in general.

The price of an OJ in the breakfast room at 160 Baht was over the top.

As high as a rating as I gave the hotel – I would not stay again.

Room Tip: Difficult to find and closest sub way is Phaya Thai.. It would help if the hotel listed this in thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights for business and really enjoyed the service at this hotel. The location is far from the action, but is near the night market, and the hotel actually connects with a fairly large nice shopping center. Club Lounge was fantastic with great service. Room was comfortable, but a bit compact for being outside the city center. This property used to be the Sofitel, but is now a Thai hotel chain. Since traffic is horrible in Bangkok, would be happy to stay here again if my work brings me to this part of town again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erikagotthetravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantanat K, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Miss Erika ( hoping this is the right name :-) )
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Singapore...
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed two nights in March on a business trip. Overall impression very good. Friendly and efficient check-in; nice and spacious room, sophisticated design and ammenities. Location was ideal for me but if you want to be in town it's a bit far out (on the highway to the old airport). F&B: good breakfast selection, lots of freshly prepared dishes. Rooftop bar is nice but not in the same league as the Vertigo or Scirocco (but also less than half the price there for food and drinks). Menu is limited and no true thai selection. Check-out also friendly and efficient. The only thing I experienced negatively is the internet connection and the speed. A pretty big hassle to finally get the account up and running, then the speed is poor and you cannot switch between accounts. So I called for a second account for my mobile, that took 10 minutes and ended up not working properly. Just a minor thing at the end but it's a hassle one does not want when time is precious on a two days business trip from Europe to Bangkok. All in all: nice, good value for money and I would go there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHW1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantanat K, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Sir
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Zurich...
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
I have taken good note of the internet speed access..
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in the Club room which gives access to the club lounge. Food and drinks was almost served round the clock in the club lounge and it is a convenient place to hold short meetings. However, the saff on the Cub floor is not very friendly and does not seem to have a good understanding of English.

Rooms are nice and clean with good wireless internet connection.

Desirabillity of location is subjective . The hotel is conected to the huge Central World shopping center and is also only a short distance to the famous Chatuchak market. However, for other Bangkok attractions, this hotel is quite a distance away. A good tip will be to take the taxi to the train station near Chatuchak and then use the train to get to central Bangok. Otherwise, you will be trapped in traffic the whole time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErWei001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantanat K, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Sir
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Singapore...
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
I have taken good note of the Club staff friendliness comments, which could be improved...
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
AETAS bangkok
#70 of 858 in Bangkok
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
AETAS lumpini
AETAS lumpini
#51 of 858 in Bangkok
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok

Property: Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Address: 1695 Phaholyothin Road | Chatuchak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand (Formerly Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Chatuchak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#93 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#97 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#137 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern side of Bangkok, within the Ladprao business district and moments away from Chatuchak Park, the five-star Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok is one of the city’s timeless landmarks. The hotel, Thailand’s very first integrated five-star hotel and shopping destination, has a reputation for attentive service, sublime dining with no less than nine restaurants and bars, and bright and spacious rooms and suites of up to 170 square metres. Integral to the hotel is the Bangkok Convention Centre Hall and the Central Plaza shopping and lifestyle centre, together offering all that is needed for guests staying in Bangkok on leisure or business. Modern in style, the 565 rooms and suites command great views of this energetic city or overlook the hotel’s garden and nearby Chatuchak Park, and many can accommodate families in comfort. An oasis in bustling Bangkok, the swimming pool is surrounded by lush gardens and invites our guests to lay back and relax. Moments away from the pool, Spa Cenvaree offers a selection of treatments derived from traditional Thai, Ayurvedic and European therapies and modern rejuvenation practices. There’s also a state-of-the-art fitness centre and sublime meeting venues. The hotel’s dining venues include Blue Sky Rooftop restaurant & bar, locally-acclaimed Vietnamese, Italian and Thai restaurants, and a Chinese restaurant which features a very popular dim sum lunch. The hotel enjoys a convenient location, with the expressway and an MRT underground station and BTS Skytrain station minutes away. Chatuchak Park and shopping opportunities of Chatuchak market are accessed by complimentary shuttle service. Don Muang International Airport is a 20-minute drive away while Suvarnabhumi International Airport is approximately 35 minutes from the hotel via the elevated highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Accor Centara Grand Bangkok
Sofitel Bangkok
Bangkok Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing