We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wifi and room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Ranked #170 of 868 Hotels in Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wifi and room”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great location, bit agree with wifi nightmare review earlier. Terrible wifi service, and wifi is essential these days to research things to do etc. level 15 was dated also. Needs a refurb. But breakfast is fine, no issues with service.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Troy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMR, Resident Manager at Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Troy P,
Thank you for your taking the time to let us know how you felt during your recent stay. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced with our wifi connection. Following our installation of router in guest rooms, we very much appreciate feedback alike yours to continuously improve our wifi service. We have an extensive renovation planned in the coming months, from the lobby to guest rooms. Hopefully you will experience or upgrade during your future visit.
Kind Regards
Manuel Reymondin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,343
    1,877
    624
    155
    84
See reviews for
1,333
1,079
332
552
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend getaway to Bangkok. I stayed at the Novotel Siam Square for 3D2N and enjoyed my stay there. It is by far, the cleanest hotel that I have ever stayed in, based on comparisons with other overseas hotels and also local hotels in my home country. The bedsheets and pillow cases are odourless and spotless. The coffee table, dressing table, vanity top in the bathroom, and mini bar counter top are all spotless. The two cushioned chairs in the hotel room were also spotless and odourless. I am impressed with the level of cleanliness in the hotel room. At the hotel lobby, the staff were attentive in keeping the sofa and cushions neat and tidy. After the guests got up and left the sitting area, the staff would go to the vacated sofas to tidy up the area - this includes clearing away bottles and stuff left behind on the coffee tables, fluffing up the cushions, and straightening the sofas.

There was a very good buffet breakfast spread at The Square, which is the restaurant on the second floor. The variety of the spread included halal, vegetarian, local, and Japanese food (sushi) options, in addition to the usual expected fare of American breakfast items like cereal, bread, pastries, salad, cheese, and an egg station. I particularly liked the halal and vegetarian food items such as saffron rice, naan, tandoori potatoes, and curry chicken. There was also due consideration given to preferences for yogurt and milk, as seen from the low fat varieties that were made available. The fruits served were delectable - sweet jambu, baby bananas, apples, and guavas were some examples. Evidently, there has been much thought and attention given to the varieties included in the breakfast spread because the varieties cater to different preferences of the guests who come from different parts of the world.

I noticed that the hotel does not give out breakfast coupons (which is quite the common practice in other hotels) nor does it give out serviettes or napkins at the breakfast table. From the little sticker note found in my hotel room's bathroom, I note that the hotel is working towards being eco-friendly. Perhaps, this explains why the hotel has decided to cut down on the use of paper products.

A few areas that the hotel can improve upon are:

(1) Sewerage smell.
There was a very strong sewerage smell whenever the toilet in the hotel room was flushed. The water that was used seemed to be recycled water because it looked brownish and emitted the sewerage smell. Perhaps the hotel can consider installing a device that sucks up the bad odor.

(2) Air-con temperature control
The temperature control seemed to be unresponsive because at 30 degree celsius, the hotel room was still freezing. We noticed a slight leakage on the ceiling where the air con vents were on our last day of stay.

(3) Provision of toothbrushes and toothpaste
There was a little card placed on the vanity top of the bathroom stating that the hotel does provide complimentary toothbrush and toothpaste upon request. Ironically, the minibar had a toothbrush and toothpaste set for purchase. There were however, other complimentary items that were provided on the vanity top: 2 pieces of soap, 1 shower cap, 1 sanitary bag, and 1set of cotton buds and facial cotton. Luckily, we brought our own toothpaste and toothbrushes, so we minimised the hassle of requesting for the complimentary toothbrush and toothpaste. It struck us as weird that these complimentary items had to be requested for.

(4) Pillows
The pillows were too soft (meaning: they sink all the way down when an entire hand is placed on it). I understand that pillow preference is a very subjective matter but it would help if the pillows could be firmer. Alternatively, more pillows could be provided per bed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMR, Resident Manager at Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Adelyn T,
I would first like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to note your very detailed observations concerning our products and services. We’ve also noted your preference for firmer pillows, and assure you they will be waiting on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind Regards,
Manuel Reymondin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Thin hotel is in a great location and is the only reason in use it.
Have stayed there 3 years in a row whenever I am in Bangkok.

Why oh why has the hotel made the wifi such a drama?

One constantly loses connectivity even while in the hotel.
Every time one goes out and returns, one has to login using a long unrememberable code (as opposed to room number and surname). Why can't you simply reconnect back into wireless as soon as you return to the hotel?

What is wrong with Hotels like this that seem to think it is acceptable to have such poor wifi capability?

If not for the location, I wouldn't bother staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario_australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMR, Resident Manager at Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Mario_australia,
Thank you for informing us of your poor wireless internet connectivity during your stay and apologize for both the inconvenience and frustration this caused you. Please trust that we don’t dismiss poor wi-fi as acceptable, and are working diligently with the carrier for resolution. We are finding that enabling cookies helps, but will keep pushing, including your sensible log-in/user name suggestion. We value your patronage and commit to rectifying this problem as soon as possible.
Kind Regards,
Manuel Reymondin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We recently had a 3 night stay at the Novotel Siam Square in Bangkok. We stayed in a Junior suite with our 2 children. The staff were professional, friendly and very helpful. The room was large and comfortable (huge shower) with enough room for all of us. The location was excellent with shopping and restaurants within walking distance. We arrived at 7am not expecting to check in prior to 2pm. Staff made arrangements, had our room cleaned and we were checked in by 9.30am. The happy hour in the Premier lounge was great. From 5pm to 7pm with drinks and food supplied. Enjoyed the stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMR, Resident Manager at Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Michael B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is with pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay, having appreciated our products, services and location and look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Manuel Reymondin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Perfect location if you enjoy shopping in Siam district. Service is very efficient if you compare to some of the other brands hotel in Asia. But it needs a bit of facelift givent he hotel is quite old especially in the rooms deco.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank mlmyHongKong_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMR, Resident Manager at Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear mlmyHongKong_China,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience with others. I have noted, with delight, that we were able to impress you with our services and location. We hope that you will be pleased to experience our upgraded facilities, rooms and suites during your future visit.
Kind Regards,
Manuel Reymondin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our time at this hotel were a great start to our trip - we were very happy with the price and services provided. The only downside was the hardness of the bed! It felt like they had replaced the mattress with timber!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank nickandmaryjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMR, Resident Manager at Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear nickandmaryjane,
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and I am pleased that you were satisfied with both our services and price. However, I regret to note that you found our bed uncomfortable, which is most unfortunate as we do offer an additional over-mattress upon request; please do not hesitate to raise this during your next stay. We sincerely look forward to welcoming on that occasion.
Kind Regards,
Manuel Reymondin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed two nights in Novotel Siam Square. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has never stayed in Bangkok before. The Hotel is centrally located and is easily accessible. We stayed in the Premier Floor and had access to the Premier Lounge. We will stay here again.

Pluses:
+ Location - Central to most things (shopping and Old Town)
+ Easy to get to by using the train from the International Airport (BKK), only one change from the airport, taking a total of about 50 minutes-- and considering the traffic in Bangkok it is probably as fast or faster than a Taxi. Train cost 70 BHT per person per segment. We paid a total of 280 BHT total for 4 people vs. a Taxi from the airport that will cost anywhere between 400 to 1100 BHT.
+ Nice Pool on the 4th Floor
+ Nice view from the room (spend a little more and get a Premier Floor (Floors 16-17))
+ Staff was very friendly
+ Premier Lounge was worth the money.
+ Value for money
+ Can get a taxi or Tuc-Tuc within easy reach of the hotel to most sites for about 150 BHT to many locations (one way). Be prepared to negotiate.
+ Good Breakfast selection

Minuses:
- Not many
- Rooms seemed to be on the smaller side, although nicely appointed
- If you want to see China Town and the sites in China Town (Wat Po, Grand Palace, etc.)
it is about an 45minute ride.

Room Tip: Premier Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmurrytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMR, Resident Manager at Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear mcmurrytravels,
It was our delight having you stay with us and we are happy to learn that you enjoyed your time in our hotel; pleased be assured that your many positive points concerning our products and services will not complete complacency but instead motivate us to continue in this direction. We sincerely look forward to your return visit.
Kind Regards,
Manuel Reymondin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#97 of 868 in Bangkok
2,123 reviews
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#52 of 868 in Bangkok
5,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Siam
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
#156 of 868 in Bangkok
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square

Property: Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Address: 392/44 Siam Square Soi 6, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#107 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#130 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#131 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#141 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square is a 4 star hotel in the vibrant centre of Bangkok. With 423 well appointed rooms, this is the perfect destination for both business trips and holidays. Guests can relax by our pool, in one of our 5 bars, or be temptedby the delicious choices available in our 3 restaurants, while our conference facilities are perfect for meetings and functions. Close to transport, entertainment and shopping, the hotel is ideally located. Parking is available for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bangkok On Siam Square Hotel Bangkok
Accor Bangkok On Siam Square
Bangkok Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing