We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune
Ranked #138 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed September 1, 2007

My first impression was that this place is due for a makeover but I received a good rate and was not disappointed. One big plus for this hotel is that it is adjacent to an underground railway station and two stops from Sukhumvit where you can transfer to the Skytrain. I ate in their Chinese restaurant one night and the food was excellent.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — Overpriced internet rates in business centre
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    426
    163
    50
    25
See reviews for
111
134
144
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2007

Very big hotel without any caractere.
Good situation for access to the city with the subway.
The hotel is too old and the rooms must absolutly be refreshed (standard room).
The breakfast is very poor : no much choise, bad quality and the service is slow.

  • Liked — The subway just front of the hotel
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BVDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2007

Stayed at the Fortune (as it's locally known) for 2 nights. The hotel is pretty old, but nevertheless, is pretty good. The buffets at the restaurant was great. The staff friendly. Stayed in the deluxe room. Was comfortable and cosy. The hotel is located near the nightlife district. As such, there are lots of clubs, pubs, karaoke and massage joints around the area. There's a shopping mall (IT Mall) attached to the hotel, but it's not as good as other areas. Note though that other than the IT Mall, there's not much shopping to be done near the hotel after dark. Other popular shopping areas like MBK and Siam Square are easily accessible by MRT or taxis. Expect to take 30mins to reach the MBK from the hotel by taxi (~80bth). The MRT is attached to the hotel too, and taxis are easily available. The hotel is also located about 30 mins from the new international airport. Overall, a good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wahcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2007

This is Not a hotel to stay in. We were cheated of our hotel deposit here. It could be the hotel or HotelClub (the website we booked through) - or both of them were in some sort of arrangement together. Our correspondence with both parties has not turned up even an explanation after more than three weeks. Note: we were supposedly Club Prestige guests having booked their best rooms (or maybe that is why they think we will not mind being cheated of some money!).

We were first told that there was a problem with our credit card when we used it to satisfy their deposit requirement. So we obligingly gave USD500 cash as deposit instead.

On check-out, our bill for USD334 suddenly became USD400! And suddenly none of the receptionists or even the Manager could speak proper English! From what we could understand, they first claimed that it was due to changes in exchange rate (there is no way there can be such a great change in rate such that we have to pay 70bucks more!). When we insisted that we had paid a deposit to the website, we were told that the hotel had received no deposit. There was nothing we could do as our money was already in their hands (short of grabbing it.)

Obviously they know we were in a hurry to get to the airport as our taxi was waiting for us at the front door which could explain why the scam was being pulled on us. And so they took their time getting us an invoice which was in baht, and pretended again not to understand when we tried to get an invoice for payment in USD.

Even without the cheating, it is not recommended to stay here. Although there is a train station right at the hotel’s doorstep, this is not the BTS (you will have to get out, buy separate tickets and change trains for travel on the BTS to get to the usual spots). The Club Prestige rooms were ok but the toilets were tired and old looking (the standard/superior rooms would be worse off I think). The main breakfast had only an ok selection and quality was not very good, although the breakfast at the Club lounge was much better.

Please spare yourself the possibility that a similar scam might be pulled on you – do not stay here and do not book through HotelClub. There are so many other hotels in Bangkok and much more hotel booking sites online to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank wynterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2007

The main advantage that this hotel has is its location. The Phra Ram 9 MRT station is literally on the doorstep, and the hotel is connected to the Fortune Town mall with its numerous stores and Tesco Lotus hypermarket. In addition, the expressway to the new airport is just minutes away, so on a good day, the journey is only around 20 minutes. Though it'd be best to allow 40 minutes in case of traffic...

I think the hotel represents very good value for money. Certainly not the best 4* hotel I have stayed at in Bangkok, but the rooms are fairly spacious and very clean. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment overall - I went downstairs and was told that due to the discounted rate I'd paid for the room, I'd have to have breakfast on the 9th floor instead :( Here the service was extremely slow, however on a good note, the staff were very helpful when I said I was a vegetarian and asked the chef to prepare me with special items.

Wireless broadband internet access is a little costly - other hotels I've stayed in offer free access in the lobby, whereas the Fortune doesn't.

  • Liked — Location - ideally located for new airport and MRT
  • Disliked — Poor Breakfast Buffet
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank neilmadhvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2006

Stayed at the Grand Mercure Fortune Hotel 2 night in august 2006, nice hotel, great location. If you exit the hotel and walk about 50 meters you reach the subway line at Phra 9 Station, only 2 stops to Sukhumvit/Asok Station where you can transfer to the BTS Skytrain. I'ts convenient becaus you are distant from the noisy Sukhumvit area, but via the Subway you can reach it in about 2 minutes. Hotel is very nice, clean, rooms are spacious, bathroom clean. staff firendly but not to mutch... Overall a quite unremarkable hotel. Try it if you get a cheap rate on the internet.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — reception staff
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank markhifly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu Nepal
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2006

Fortune Hotel : Don't expect too much .

I saw their promotion on the web and booked the room which looked lovely on the net, however when I checked into the room it was not even 50% of what I had expected...I complained but the reception insisted that this was the room I had booked...since it was prepaid , I could not change the hotel and had to stay.

Regarding the over advertised electronics market in this hotel - I found it totally unreliable as it was full of cheap chinese goods, fake dvds, porno cds etc - which is not my style....

breakfast is OK , nothing special,

If you are single and fun loving ,be ready to pay BHT 700 per guest per visit.

Will I stay here again - NO because I have found another hotel - The Palazzo @ BHT 1200 per night including taxes and breakfast.

I have stayed there thrice and found them to be real good.

  • Liked — near the metro
  • Disliked — communication gap between hotel department
  • Tips/Secrets — Never go for a big hotel in Bangkok ..all you need is a good airconditioned bed, so go for hotels like The Palazzo, Zenith, City lodge etc
  • Stayed October 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DemandingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Grand Mercure Bangkok Asoke Residence
Din
Centric Place Hotel
Centric Place Hotel
#450 of 861 in Bangkok
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#100 of 861 in Bangkok
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune

Property: Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune
Address: 1 Rachadaphisek Road | Fortune Town, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#118 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rises 26 floors, Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune is annexed to Fortune Town, IT Mall and the new Grand Central Rama 9 modern shopping mall. Enjoy easy access to expressways. MRT station (subway) at doorsteps. All 400 tastefully furnished bedrooms are equipped with individual controlled aircon, bathtub and/or shower, minibar, electronic safe, movie & satellite tv channels, IDD & internet service. Massage, sauna & outdoor pool on podium floor. 24-hour room service plus a choice of fine cruisines: Chinese, Japanese and international dishes. 3 Buffet meals available plus options on a-la-carte from noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Fortune Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand Accor Fortune Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing