We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently Accessible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune
Ranked #140 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Conveniently Accessible!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is not exactly new, however it is considered well maintained, clean and tidy. Breakfast is fine, staff are friendly, there is free wifi at the lobby area. Rooms are ok, it comes with an old big box TV. Perfect location as it is walking distance to the Rama 9 BTR station. It is linked to Fortune Town mall and in it there's a supermarket as well as restaurants. Opposite the hotel, there is another mall, Central Plaza Grand Rama 9. This mall is awesome as it has my favourite NARAYA shop. Fans of quilted bags and such, don't miss it!

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms as the old ones looks a bit too dim to my liking.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanielenalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager-GMFB, Manager at Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Stephanielenalee, Thank you for your appreciation of our breakfast, product, service and location with the convenient access to 2 shopping malls and city train. We are in process of replacing some 200 renovated rooms with LED TVs. Look forward to welcoming you back soon! Stan/Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    421
    162
    50
    25
See reviews for
111
133
144
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here several times with family and friends through 2010 and 2011. We always chose the 'executive floor' for the private check-in and out, larger rooms and private breakfast area. The slightly higher room cost is easily justified by the extras, including free internet.
The Chinese restaurant on the mezzanine floor is terrific and the serving staff excellent. We visit the restaurant even when we don't stay in the hotel. There is also a very nice coffee shop and bakery next to reception worth a try.
We noticed that the hotel is now undergoing refurbishment (October 2012) and look forward to seeing its renaissance soon.

Room Tip: Any room on the executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meowf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager-GMFB, Manager at Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear meowf, Thank you for being our loyal guests of our Club Prestige floors with super added value at minimum marginal rate supplement. Our Chinese culinary team infact has been awarded by our late Prime Minister Samak over a national contest. Our Gf coffee shop upon completion late Jan will feature an interactive show kitchen with a pizza oven with in/outdoor seating options. Hope to seeing you, your family and friends around! Stan/Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel was nice, even while it was under massive renovation. The location is perfect that it is right outside of the crazy jam area and is right next to two large malls. MRT station is just 100m away. The staff were nice too especially "Wanlapa" who was very attentive to details.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager-GMFB, Manager at Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear s t, Our colleagues are briefed to take extra care to our guests especially when our renovation though means well but has brought along some inconvenience. We thank you for the understanding. Your kind words will be passed onto our colleague k. Wanlapa. Stan/Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Most Mercure hotels are good. This hotel at present is under renovation. The problems this poses include workmen and construction immediately outside, difficulty for traffic taxis etc entering the concourse area, a temporary entrance area which has far too many steps (despite the willingness of the hotel porters to assist with bags etc), and worst of all a constant reek of glue or paint from the rebuild. This last factor is quite significant, and caused me to sleep with the air conditioning off for the last two nights of our stay after waking with a headache the first morning. Clearly this was a no win situation for a traveller, either a fumy headache or sleeping with no A/C in Bangkok at about 30C. I complained to the hotel management , and the best they could do was move us to another room, which to be honest did not solve the problem. In some ways I feel they have a nerve even asking guests to stay and pay in these conditions. For this reason, solely , I would not recommend this hotel until the renovations are complete.

Room Tip: Check to see if renovations are finished. Perhaps lower floors are less effected by paint and glue f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager-GMFB, Manager at Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear patrick d, Thank you for sharing with us your comment. It has been a tough decision knowing that there'll be some inconvenience. Over 20 years, we have built up many regulars who would like us to remain our service as they get used to our food taste, friendly atmosphere and of course, the super location. That's why we managed to remain all our services. I look forward to personally meeting up or communicating with you so as to extend to you our personal apologizes and for now, I can be reached at Quality.Manager@grandmercurefortunebkk.com Meantime, our renovation progressed well and should be able to fulfil our management/owners' wish to add value to our customers upon its completion. Hope that we can be given the opportunity to welcome you to our new rooms. Stan/Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

For years I have been staying in this hotel because our company gets a corporate rate and the location is accessible to any point in Bangkok. The Pra Ram 9 mrt station is just in front of the hotel so one can take that to go to far-flung places like Ikea at Mega Bangna and Phahurat through Hua Lamphong mrt station. It is almost like a straight line to Suvarnabhumi Airport and many taxi drivers know how to find it. We pay THB2,500/night which comes with free unlimited wifi and buffet breakfast, although the breakfast can be boring if you've been staying here for a week or so. Housekeeping is quite efficient and you can borrow an iron and ironing board. But most of the time, the towels they provide have signs of wear and tear which are better used as a floor rag.

This time the hotel is under renovation and you must walk up a flight of stairs to get to the upper 1st floor --- not easy if you're carrying a heavy load but the bell boys are quick to help you up the steps.

In the same building are about 5 banks where you can change money, coffee shops, restaurants and a Lotus Tesco supermarket. This feature makes it attractive for holding international workshops and conferences so the organizer need not worry about money exchange for foreign participants.

All in all it is a comfortable hotel at an excellent location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mme1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager-GMFB, Manager at Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Monina, Indeed thanks to the super location we had that enable our guests accessing almost anywhere in/out of the city at their shortest time. If you booked into our Club Prestige floors, you have the option to take up breakfast at our exclusive lounge, the main dining room or even having it on rotation. Will pass on your encouragement on Housekeeping service. For your information, a significant stock of new linen will be replaced as part of our renovation scheme. With 3 new 160 sq.m. rooms, our meeting space will count upto almost 1,900 sq.m. in total and hopefully, can serve better your future events. Thank you for taking your time giving us your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Stan/Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
166 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is an Accor Hotel, conveniently located. Reasonably close to the Airport (taxi ride around 250 Baht), next to an MRT stop (Rama 9) so that you can use the metro system easily, and with a shopping centres next door (for some quick purchases but also authentic Thai massages at a fraction of the hotel price.

Not quite as modern as other Bangkok hotels, but very comfortable and friendly. Certainly feels more authetic than others. Excellent breakfast. Nice swimming pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_from_Malvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager-GMFB, Manager at Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear TomVV, Grand Mercure as one of the Accor hotel brands will relaunch its new spirit early 2013 whilst the authentic touch, friendly and comfort service will be remain throughout the hotel. As you have mentioned, there are on/off premises options for a relaxing massage. Thanks to your apprecition to our breakfast and pool. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Stan/Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

There is a concierge manager, Joel, have been all time friendly and helpful. I was on two days training at Bangkok. For two early morning, Joel will accompany me and chat with me while I was waiting for my transport. He provided me with information like where I can eat, shop and relax near the hotel. On the last day of my stay when I checked out, he arranged my transport to airport. I was with two of my friend, 3 big luggages and 3 boxes. He made sure all is managed into the Camry so that I need not pay more for a mini van.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager-GMFB, Manager at Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Val12345678, Thank you for staying and your encouragement will be passed onto to our Concierge colleague. Look forward to your return visits. Stan/Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Grand Mercure Bangkok Asoke Residence
Din
Centric Place Hotel
Centric Place Hotel
#450 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hi Residence
#667 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#96 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune

Property: Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune
Address: 1 Rachadaphisek Road | Fortune Town, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#121 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rises 26 floors, Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune is annexed to Fortune Town, IT Mall and the new Grand Central Rama 9 modern shopping mall. Enjoy easy access to expressways. MRT station (subway) at doorsteps. All 400 tastefully furnished bedrooms are equipped with individual controlled aircon, bathtub and/or shower, minibar, electronic safe, movie & satellite tv channels, IDD & internet service. Massage, sauna & outdoor pool on podium floor. 24-hour room service plus a choice of fine cruisines: Chinese, Japanese and international dishes. 3 Buffet meals available plus options on a-la-carte from noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Fortune Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand Accor Fortune Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing