We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune
Ranked #133 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Pulau Penang, Malaysia
31
Reviewed April 8, 2012

It's a 4 star hotel that has slipped to 3 stars through age and lack of updating. Accor is a good company: they should invest in this property a bit and tighten it up. I love the location, though. A couple of items: better Club Floor lounge food and drink selections (VERY average) and get a decent internet service provider (service was extremely dodgy).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 1,107 reviews

An Accor traveler
Daegu, South Korea
1
Reviewed April 6, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Booked the room online on their website but when we arrived the rooms were not allocated for us. After what seemed an eternity waiting at the check-in desk due to some other groups checking out (and what looked like inefficient service), we waited an extended amount of time again after that in order to get our rooms sorted out, and the staff were not exactly the friendliest people around - appeared harrassed and were impatient - not a good start.

Room size was okay, what we expected but nothing to write home about, but immediately noticed ants running all over the desk and mirror in the room. Couldn't see where they were coming from but needless to say, we made sure we didn't leave any food about.

The room was poorly equipped. For a hotel chain of this name I was not expecting to find a great big old CRT television complete with smashed remote held together with tape, but I did. Combine this with a broken floor lamp, wardrobes that had the microswitches for the internal lights frigged with coathanger wire to make them actuate when you closed the doors, and paper thin walls where you could make out each word of the television set next door, and it did not measure up too high on our "satisfied-o'tometer".

The breakfast was fine food wise, but a rather hurried affair. There was apparently some group arriving for a pow-wow session and we got the distinct feeling that they really wanted us out of there a.s.a.p so they could re-arrange the tables. Every time I sat my half drunk coffee cup down it was whisked away by some waitress who was practising stealth lurking in the background.

All in all, it was a real disappointment like the title suggests. Great great great location for shopping and BTS rail system, but unless I can have a Mercedes-Benz or a Porsche that I can park it right outside the door and block the main entrance with, like what the others do, or unless I can book a fancy top of the line room, then we will not be returning to this place I'm afraid.

Helpful tips?
1) Check in at 03:00hrs when there's no one else about.
2) Have breakfast at first light.
3) Let the Concierge take the luggage to and from your transport, so you don't actually scratch any Ferrari's yourself on the way past.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bloozntooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Friendly and extremely helpful staff. Definitely worth staying.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azzabkk
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

22nd March 2012 - Checked in Room 2525.
Took the lift to 25th Floor Prestige Club. Once they ladies see my "ugly face, they know is Simon. Check in super quick together with a glass of welcome drink.
well done Khun Mattaya & Khun Sumtaya

23rd March 2012 (Friday) - Breakfast in Prestige Club.
I am worry about putting extra fat around my already round waist.
Breakfast is good enough for me.

I am always being pamper by them.
Khun Lukkama , Khun Todsapol and the team leader Khun Thumyarat.

They make you feel at home.
Make you love them all
Make you come back again and again.

The only set back is - The room required upgrading which is long over due.
there more or me to write...... but 99% will be good feedback which you guy dont wish to hear all over again and again..

Do come and stay in the Prestige Club, is worth every dollar.

Thanks and Regards
Simon

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Need to upgrade the room as it is quite old. The design and furniture looks very old.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KohPSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Amaranta Hotel
#179 of 894 in Bangkok
236 reviews
Din
The Emerald Hotel
The Emerald Hotel
#439 of 894 in Bangkok
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Din
Chaophya Park Hotel
Chaophya Park Hotel
#438 of 894 in Bangkok
419 reviews
Bangkok Cha-Da Hotel
#785 of 894 in Bangkok
456 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand Mercure Bangkok Asoke Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune

Address: 1 Rachadaphisek Road | Fortune Town, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#116 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $87 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rises 26 floors, Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune is annexed to Fortune Town, IT Mall and the new Grand Central Rama 9 modern shopping mall. Enjoy easy access to expressways. MRT station (subway) at doorsteps. All 400 tastefully furnished bedrooms are equipped with individual controlled aircon, bathtub and/or shower, minibar, electronic safe, movie & satellite tv channels, IDD & internet service. Massage, sauna & outdoor pool on podium floor. 24-hour room service plus a choice of fine cruisines: Chinese, Japanese and international dishes. 3 Buffet meals available plus options on a-la-carte from noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Fortune Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand Accor Fortune Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing