We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bangkok
Ranked #119 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“I loved this hotel”
Reviewed January 16, 2008

Iloved this hotel, I booked by a website, it has a very good location, very good area close to chatuchak, suan lum night market, shitlom skytrain, etc, also you can book a lot of tours from the hotel, I took 2 tours and it was great, better than know by yourself

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank negra30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    618
    82
    17
    16
See reviews for
257
308
151
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2007

Just came back from 3 nights in Bangkok, 7 Nights Ko Samui.
We stayed at the Holiday in.

Couldn't fault the hotel. We chose it because we knew we would mostly be out and about, it had good reviews, it was reasonably priced but the main reason was it's great location. We opted for a Deluxe room but room only and it was nice.

The Hotel's location cannot be any better -Chidlom Sky train station is practically on it's door step and it can connect you easily with the major areas. Trains are crowded but come every 5 mins. We bought all day tickets for 120 baht per person- about £2 and it was great. Also, you can walk to Central world in about 5 mins.

One tip. Went shopping in Central World and the Paragon Centre (check out the food court in Paragon it is amazing) but I did not find the shopping that good - it seemed more expensive that in the UK.
Went to MBK and that was more enjoyable but 7 floors of mostly the same things - handbags, sunglasses and t shirts etc but got some great shoes. Some stores haggle and others are fixed price. I would say give it a go but don't start too low. IE if something is 1500 start 800/900 etc and always with a smile!.

Patpong market was great for shopping - got a lovely evening bag and a couple of dresses there.It is good fun haggling with the stall holders and it was not a seedy as I thought.

  • Liked — Location Location Location and service was good
  • Disliked — Wi fi was a bit tricky to connect to and not given as a free service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank AeJUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2007

This was the perfect hotel to explore Bangkok. It is located directly outside the Chit Lom SkyTrain station which is really easy to use to help you nevigate round the key parts of Bangkok.

The hotel is the best Holiday Inn I have ever stayed at. The staff were extremely helpful, hotel very clean. But the key benefit definitely was location.

It is a couple of Sky Train stops away fromthe MBK centre which is a shopping centre with some excellent bargains and some good restaurants.

During our three day stay in early December we visited the Chatuchang market - apparently one of the largest markets in Asia. It is open on weekends and is worth a visit for lots of bargains.

During our stay I had several shorts made and would definitely recommend Jesse and Victor at the Rajawongse tailors based only two stops away from the hotel near Nana SkyTrain station. The services was excellent and the quality superb - I would definitely recommend.

We also visited the floating markets whoch I found to be a real chore. It was too busy and not what you imagine in the idilic photos so would not recommend this day trip.

All in all an excellent stay at the Holiday Inn - I will be back!!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank Keenexplorer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester/Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2007

Holiday Inn Bangkok, was a great stay. Booked there for 4 nights following an overland trip from Singapore to Bangkok with my wife, before flying home. They gave us an early book in as we arrived at 07.00am by train and an extended book out as flight home was late afternoon. The Breakfast had a buffet style with a wonderfull selection of food types and country cooking. Our Superior Room was a good quality and size. This hotel is on a great location next to the best shopping centres and directly on the skytrain for getting around. Right Next to the Intercontinential, you are able to use their facilities and restaurants booking these to your room if wanted. If in Bangkok again I would definately book again if the price was right and they had available rooms.

  • Liked — Location, and good service
  • Disliked — No shared PC for internet accsssunless paid high costs in the business centre.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mikegasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights as the inital part of our Virgin "A Taste of Thailand" tour. We arrived around 9am - well before the official check-in time. We were asked to wait around 45min whilst our room was cleaned and checked - very good service in my opinion. During this time we were given complimentary drink vouchers at the bar.
As we were on Honeymoon we were given complimentary flowers, fruit and chocolate (no room upgrade though!). During check-in, next to us were some very absuive Indian people - the staff dealt with them in a very professional mannor.
The room size was more than adequate, bed was decent and pillows were of good quality. Spotless bathroom, but no acutal bath (shower only). Very strange to have a window between the bathroom and main room with only a flimsy blinds to use as privacy (ok for a couple - wouldn't like to be staying with a friend!).
TV had a good range of English channels with decent reception. Useful clock radio next to bed.
Room was cleaned daily, no problems experienced with getting clean towels etc.
Hotel staff were very polite and courteous, you were not able to enter or leave the hotel without someone opening the front door for you.
Breakfast (included in our rate, otherwise roughtly £7 I think) was extremely good - varied range of international cuisine. Food was continually replenished and our coffee mugs were never empty.
Hotel location was very good - to arrive from airport was quite straightforward, although departure did involve a long time in the notorious one way (rather full) roads. Chit Lom station (Skytrain) is practically attached to the hotel (very cheap to use). Directly opposite are McDonalds, BK, Boots the Chemist and Starbucks and within half a mile radius is about 6 or 7 large shopping malls (all easily walkable using the Skytrain walkway). Very nice and cheap restaurant (Thai cuisine) opposite and upper level - accessed by turning left from the Skytrain.
Minibar in room is a normal fridge which is easily filled with far cheaper (nearby) supermarket drinks!!
Hotel bar has live music in the evening, although we would be heading back to our rooms after a long day of sightseeing.
Had no experience of using the pool (looked nice though) or the gym and hotel restaurants.
All in all, highly recommended.
Improvement that could be made - overall decor of corridors appear dated as well as some room furniture. Air con was very sensitive to minor adjustements (never been so cold!!!).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room to bathroom window!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rhodgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2007

We stayed in the Holiday Inn Bangkok for 2 nts (as i said short!) however it was enough time to realise we'd made the right choice !!

The Holiday Inn is in a fab location, right in the centre of all the best shopping centres! TAKE LOTS OF CASH!!!

The Pool area is great but small, clean towels supplied.

The rooms were spotless and perfect. They were cleaned every morning. You are supplied with toiletries everyday too!

The staff are very friendly and polite!!

All in all great Hotel would recommend to anyone!

please don't be fooled by the hundreds of tuk tuk drivers begging you to 'just' go to a jewellery store to get them free petrol, IT'S A HUGE SCAM!!! THEY GET COMMISION !!!!

  • Liked — clean and friendly
  • Disliked — tuk tuk's outside (nothing to do with hotel though!)
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank marnieg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2007

We're just returned from Thailand having spent a coupleof nights in the Holiday Inn and can definitely recommend it.

We didn't find the room too small as others have commented on here but agree that the beds are really hard.

All of the staff are really helpful and attentive, especially the door men.

The pool is really nice to relax at after a hot day in Bangkok.

Location is ideal if you're there to see the sights Bangkok has to offer. Right next the the monorail station and there are plenty of shops and restaurants around the hotel too.

We can highly recommend this hotel and would definitely go there again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — hard beds
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derby1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
InterContinental Bangkok
InterContinental Bangkok
#20 of 863 in Bangkok
3,148 reviews
Pathumwan
Arnoma Grand Bangkok
Arnoma Grand Bangkok
#234 of 863 in Bangkok
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bangkok

Property: Holiday Inn Bangkok
Address: 971 Ploenchit Road | Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#65 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#80 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#90 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#106 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Bangkok is conveniently located across from Bangkok's renowned shopping complexes; Siam Paragon and Central World Plaza. Other nearby attractions include The Jim Thompson House and Museum, MBK Center, Siam Square, Chidlom Skytrain Station, Pantip IT City, Gaysorn Boutique Mall and the world famous Erawan Shrine. Holiday Inn Bangkok's interior styling evokes a unique sense of home and welcome. The hotel offers stylish amenities, state-of-the-art facilities and attention to details that are important to discerning travelers. Guests will find relaxation in the expansive Lobby Bar; the most suitable venue for work or conversation, or just to unwind after a long day. Guests may also enjoy our market style all-day dining venue, Cafe G, or traditionalThai restaurant in contemporary ambience at Charm Thai cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing