We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AbFAB”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
Ranked #20 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AbFAB”
Reviewed June 22, 2010

The Intercontinental Bangkok is one of the nicest hotels i have stayed.
The service was fantastic and super fast, it was almost like haveing a personal butler except we were not on the Executive floor!
The room was much larger than a Grand Hyatt or Sheraton in the same city, great layout and the twin beds were sized almost could have slept 2. A pillow menu was provided as well.
this hotel is so fabulously located , right in the center of downtown Siam Square area.
The malls , cinemas are walking distance through the skywalk - skytrain which are both a few steps outside the hotel.
A choice of fabulous restaurants in and around the hotel. A fabulous concierge service , they answered all our queries faultlessly and made our stay very comfortable. they gave us restaurant recomendations which were great as well as organised our sightseeing trips. the entire stay was fabulous , the only negative was the room service prices were a bit high, though the food was super.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diva3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Rep, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, July 12, 2010
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to express your appreciation during your current stay at The InterContinental Bangkok.

Your comments are always most appreciated helpful for us in maintaining a high level of service to our guests.

We are pleased learning that you enjoyed your experience of our hotel's service and facilities during your stay. I have passed your kind compliment onto all associates, particularly the Concierge Team who did a good job in enhancing your dinning experience and enriched your stay.

I certainly hope that your future plans to Bangkok include The InterContinental Bangkok. We are looking forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality in the future.

Best regards,

Wasunthara Pratoomvieng
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,300
    656
    125
    43
    23
See reviews for
605
839
313
834
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Stayed here for 2 weeks i think this intercontinental hotel is better then the one in Athens Greece. I stayed here for 2 weeks lovely hotel great roof top pool and work out facility even has a personal trainer available for you to help you work out. A bit on the pricey side considering where we are but thats it the rooms are ok I had standard room and they are average size. I had a driver while i stayed there who took me around and showed me the city and when i went out to the club he came with me he was pretty cool exasit was his name i recommend him!!! I would defiantly go back. The staff are very friendly and the food was great.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_petr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

The hotel offers good quality, according to Intercontinental standards. But not more. Compared to other hotels in bangkok, the service can be considered very sterile. It is consistently good, but not as good as I would have expected. Internet is Intercontinental typically far too expensive. The Sunday brunch is however top notch. For some weird reason, the Cigar lounge does not allow for smoking cigarettes, hence there is no chance to have a drink and a smoke at the same time in an air-conditioned environment. The roofside pool is fairly small and the offerings at the executive club are fairly limited. BTS is very close by. It is not the coziest place, but rather caters for a business traveller clientele.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabaBologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Firstly, I have to say that this hotel was excellent, definitely 5 star standard and everything I would expect from an Intercontinental. Rooms, pool, and common areas were excellent and spotless. Only criticisms were that the couple of times we ate in the hotel the food was poor. Facilities (food, drinks, internet, etc ) were all extremely overpriced by western standards never mind Thailand.

However thats not why I'm taking the time to review...

We stayed in this hotel mid April just a few days after 25 people were killed in the first Bangkok riots.




After the voilence started it was hard to get information as we didn't have access to internet where we were staying down on the Islands. I rang the hotel twice, and once the day before we were due to arrive to ask them about their proximity to the troubles and whether there were any safety issues. We were concerned and wanted to cancel the trip. The reception staff told me there was no issues and it was perfectly safe. I was told that there was "no trouble near, sir" and when I asked were they located near the protesters the reply was that there was "just a few people on the street, sir", and they insisted that it was "perfectly safe".



When we arrived we realised that not only did the red shirts have to let us through the barricades to get into the hotel but that the hotel was located right in the middle of their encampment, next to the main stage, and beside the central world complex which has now been burnt down. The only other people staying in the hotel, apart from a few others like ourselves, were journalists and cameramen.



It was obvious from the minute we arrived that trouble could break out at any time, and that it just wasn't safe with the hotel located in the heart of the protest encampment. Needless to stay our holiday consisted of spending 3 days sitting in our room, we were afraid to go out at night, and even when we did go out during the day, we always felt on edge
.


Obviously it was our decision to travel to Bangkok, however I would have expected a hotel chain like the Intercontinental to tell the truth when I rang. Even some of the cheaper hotels and hostels were telling people not to travel and giving refunds on stays.



I feel it was totally irresponsible and given the events of the last month I feel justified in saying that I think this hotel was willing to put people at risk in order to keep their doors open. I would certainly have to question their integrity and do not trust the staff if there is further trouble in Bangkok in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iwabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Rep, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us comments while staying at The InterContinental Bangkok during your recent visit to Bangkok.

We value your patronage and the incidents that occurred are indeed unbecoming of an establishment like ours. We take a lot of pride and commitment to deliver the level of service that is expected of us and it is regrettable that we would not provide this in your case. Please be assured that we take a serious stand on these matters and corrective measures will be taken to ensure that these incidents are not repeated. We seek your kind indulgence on this occasion

You are a valuable guest at The InterContinental Bangkok and we hope to demonstrate improvements that will be made by having the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

Wasunthara Pratoomvieng
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Excellent service upon arrival helpful and friendly staff. Rooms and furnishings are newer and more modern design so looks brighter and more spacious. Rooms have extra touch everywhere to show that they care like iPod docking stations. Good location near all the shopping malls but unfortunately we went during the protests so can't shop. Average sized bathrooms and rooms but all amenities newer than most hotels.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Rep, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to express your appreciation during your current stay at The InterContinental Bangkok.

Your appreciations are very valuable in helping us maintain a high level of service to guests. We are most pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel’s service and facilities. Your comments have been passed and recognized on to the staff. I know that they appreciate the recognition that you have given and was always delighted to be at your service.

I certainly hope that your future plans to Bangkok include The InterContinental Bangkok and that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality again.

Best regards,

Wasunthara Pratoomvieng
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We were kept awake most of the night by ''required plumbing work'' in the room next door
when this had been going past 2 hours were were told it would be finished shortly, at 1am we asked to change rooms, the duty manager was un available to grant this permission to reception staff, at 4am we got to sleep. On learning that morning at breakfast the hotel was 60% full we were angry when told earlier there were no other rooms on hand to change to. Poor service in a 5* hotel

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiltonSmith25567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Rep, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us comments while staying at The InterContinental Bangkok during your recent visit to Bangkok.

We value your patronage and the incidents that occurred are indeed unbecoming of an establishment like ours. We take a lot of pride and commitment to deliver the level of service that is expected of us and it is regrettable that we would not provide this in your case. Please be assured that we take a serious stand on these matters and corrective measures will be taken to ensure that these incidents are not repeated. We seek your kind indulgence on this occasion

You are a valuable guest at The InterContinental Bangkok and we hope to demonstrate improvements that will be made by having the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

Wasunthara Pratoomvieng
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

The Intercontinental Bangkok is truly a great hotel. The service culture at this hotel goes above and beyond any other hotel I have ever stayed at. As someone who works in the hotel business I must applaud the management of this hotel for instilling their employees with such a courteous disposition at all times. I was shown to my room by a lovely young lady who tok the time to explain to us all the features of the hotel. The young man at the concierge was exceptionally helpful on both occasions, even suggesting to us a cheaper taxi service to get to the Intercontinental Hua Hin (another great hotel) about 2 hrs away. The rooftop pool and bar is also not to be missed! When in Bangkok, stay here!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerchantsVillaHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 862 in Bangkok
8,193 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Property: InterContinental Bangkok
Address: 973 Phloen Chit road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's largest hotels, InterContinental Bangkok offers a refreshing take on modern luxury, providing guests with a unique cosmopolitan escape. With a BTS station on its doorstep, the hotel offers convenient travel to the city's major business district, while exciting shopping destinations and dining options are within easy walking distance. For a new level of luxury, experience the bespoke services of our exclusive 37th-floor Club InterContinental, while enjoying breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing