We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed February 26, 2013

the best hotel i have ever stayed in. I got club room n the staff really took good care of me. had this evening drink waiting for me on the club level.
Rooms are awsome .
very close to siam paragon , centeral world on either side n other shopping places.
I have traveled all over the world , trust me no place like this one

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gsvij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,794 - 1,800 of 3,323 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

There's no doubting that the Intercontinental is extremely luxurious, brilliantly located and fulfills every need of the business and leisure traveller.

The location is perfect, in the high end shopping district and right next to the Skytrain. Rooms have almost everything, plentiful supply of complimentary bottled water, fresh fruit daily, turndown service, iPod docking station, turndown etc, everything you would expect from an Intercontinental. However, a couple of missing details - no milk for coffee, just Coffee Mate, no biscuit/chocolate, and honestly, how do they have the cheek to charge for in-room wifi when even the most basic places offer it for free.

What let the Bangkok Intercontinental down for me was the service on check in. I am a Platinum Priority Club member, spending 2 nights every week in IHG hotels. As my flight was arriving into Bangkok early morning, I emailed ahead to see if an early check in would be possible. I was informed that I would need to pay 50% of the nightly rate to guarantee early availability, or wait and see if a room was available on arrival. I chose the latter, and on arrival at 07.30 was told that a room was available but that I would need to pay 30% to check in early. Ridiculous, the room was empty but they just wanted to make money from me. After much arguing (odd, remember I am a loyal IHG customer!), they admitted the room was a twin (not suitable) so would get another room sorted out within 2 hours. OK, so I got a room a few hours early and appreciate that, but it was an unnecessary argument at the start if my holiday.

So, sorry but I can't award the full 5 points on this occasion.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

InterContinental Bangkok its nicely located so you are just steps from 2 to 3 world calss shopping centers as the CentralWorld. Good Service but could be better.
Good and nice assorted breakfast buffet, in-Restaurants and Bar, Not enough local dishes.
Well kept and maintained.
If I go back to Bangkok I will return to the InerContinental.

Room Tip: At your arrival you can ask for a consierge to help you during you stay with the language (english...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rub777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We usually use Crowne Plaza, but this time booked the Intercontinental.
What can I say? Absolutely perfect in every way. Great location, close to the Central and Siam shopping complexes and MBK indoor market. Lots of bars and restaurants within 20 minute walk in any direction, and close to Lumphini Park, which is great for chilling and people watching.
Staff were extremely helpful and polite, as you'd expect, and nothing was too much to ask of them.
Next time in BKK, this is the one for me..!

Room Tip: For a modest additional rate, treat yourself to an Executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Intercontinentals never disappoint. I find the staff are always helpful and professional, the rooms nicely appointed. I especially appreciated the good lighting, numerous electrical sockets, fabulous breakfast buffet. The beds are very comfortable and of course the room is spotlessly clean. My only complaint is that there is little charm or character and the clock radio seems rather out dated though there is a small ipod dock in the room. The location is very good and overall it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salmonpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Excellent royal ambassador recognition, good clublounge benefits such as complimentary laundry service with excellent food and service with a smile. Good spa and nice roofpool on the topfloor with panoramic views. Im coming back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S_DXB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Intercontinental in Bangkok, after an 8-day eventful trip in Myanmar. The property was a very welcome back treat to luxury proper after a hit and miss at horrendous prices in Myanmar (worth the visit just as well though!). Great spacious rooms, great bathrooms, very nice lobby and great concierge service, the hotel has everything one would expect from a top notch 5* property, no need to say more.

Try a massage at the spa, I had a great and very relaxing time there, having arrived super tired and short on sleep from Myanmar. Also super nice is the pool on the top floor, great views of the city from there at no additional charge (-: and the bar service is very good (food as well as drinks).

I was travelling with my brother and his wife, who were on their honeymoon. I ended up arriving a day late from Myanmar and was in touch with the hotel to organise a nice treat for them on arrival - flowers, sparkling wine and a nicely set bed was awaiting them after their long-haul trip from Europe. Very prompt responses by email to all my requests. Extremely professional and friendly staff everywhere, including a bell boy manning the lifts at all times.

Location-wise, an easy connection from the airport by train and 3 (or 4 stops) on the metro, and you are right at the hotel's entrance, about an hour door to do, beats the Bangkok traffic hands down at a cost of roughly $2.5 per person. Easy connections by metro to all the sights in the city.

Enough said, highly recommend!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Mpivanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 891 in Bangkok
8,750 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 891 in Bangkok
4,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Address: 973 Phloen Chit road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $184 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's largest hotels, InterContinental Bangkok offers a refreshing take on modern luxury, providing guests with a unique cosmopolitan escape. With a BTS station on its doorstep, the hotel offers convenient travel to the city's major business district, while exciting shopping destinations and dining options are within easy walking distance. For a new level of luxury, experience the bespoke services of our exclusive 37th-floor Club InterContinental, while enjoying breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing