We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
Ranked #20 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Islamabad
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OK, but......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Intercontinental wins on location, location, location if you are in Bankok for some qiock shopping: accross the street from a large mall and nextt to one of the best departmetn stores in Bangkok--with a great supermarket.

Rooms are nice, but there are some quirks: I arrived at 7:30 at night, and had to wait for the room to be checked. This was about 2 hours later than my intended arrival time due to a delayed flight, and there really should not have been a wait. Second, I had pre-paid and every time I wanted something, like wifi access, the first response was your room rate does not include this. The more appropriate response would have been to indicate that (i) it was free in the lobby and (ii) that there would be a charge for in-room wifi.

The hotel web site lists pedicures and manicures, which are in fact not available. Having just spent a week diving, I had broken and busted nails in need of remedial care. Given that it is still on the web site, it would be nice if those lovely peaople at the spa did not just tell you it was unavailable, but also gave you the name/location of placesd near by that can meet your needs in this regard. I tried to access the wifi to find a place, but it was not working uin the room at that time, regarless of whether I paid or not. Finally, when sonmeone calls and says they cannot connect, please do not respond with "have you turned on your computer".

Another oddity is that if you pay for breakfast when you check in it is one price, abd about 50% more if you simply walk in in the morning. Does not really make sense, and it leaves you feeling nickel and dimed.

Will I stay there again? Possibly, because the locationis good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnIslamabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Bangkok and also for taking the time to share your comments with us. It is great to hear that you were impressed with our hotel’s location.

Your appreciated comments in regards to the room readiness prior to your arrival and the communication with our team members has been addressed and discussed in our rooms department. Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us.

We would like to thank you very much for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,226
    637
    121
    42
    23
See reviews for
586
821
305
799
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I just stayed at the Intercontinental,having stayed at many other hotels in the same area of Bangkok (Grand Hyatt Erawan and Four Seasons) and we liked it very much. The room was very nice and practical - flexible plug sockets, large TV, tea/coffee/kettle in the room, shower and bath, etc. I also had Club Floor access and it is a very good club with breakfast, afternoon tea and evening cocktails, and tea, coffee, juices any time. Wireless was also excellent in the room, meeting rooms and club lounge. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MHuddart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management team, thank you so much for sharing your stay experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to read that our rooms, location and club lounge services made your stay more enjoyable.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind patronage and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you and your wife back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a great location right in the Centre of town.We have just stayed 3 nights at this hotel, the club lounge is amazing we we're looked after so well from breakfast through to happy hour in the evening.After several hours shopping We enjoyed a massage in the Spa great way to end the day.
Our room was spacious & Oh so comfortable. On our last day we were all shopped out so decided to relax by the roof top pool, if you need to know where to eat or places to visit just speak to the bar men who were so helpful. One word of warning watch out for the tiny ants out there, I didn't realise till I got back to our room how much I had been bitten.

Room Tip: Ambassador level is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Bangkok and also for taking the time to share your stay experience with us.

We are glad to hear that you were impressed with our hotels location, club lounge, Spa, and the pool facilities.

We always strive to provide a pleasurable stay for our guests and your given feedback is very important for us, as it helps to improve our service standard. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience which you have experience during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have been a loyalty guest with IC BKK since 2009 I gave it a 5-star rating. I'm happy to say that it retains all the qualities that made such a positive impression on me the first time I stayed,
Bangkok is a huge city with diabolical traffic, and one of the nicest aspects of this hotel is the Center of town. Easy to go everywhere by walk and feel safe more convenience by sky train in front of the hotel feel comfortable with warm welcome of front desk staff, The rooms are elegant, with great decoration. The small pool on the roof top which a great bar (Small but comfort. Best of all, the service remains and truly personal by K.Chutima Guest Relations Manager and Team.

Moreover here is elegant lobby, always lead by K.Umavadee and front desk team so friendly and helpful whatever I and my family need, I always got it!!!

The InterContinental Bangkok is the BEST choice guarantee and sure that when I am back to BKK The InterContinental BKK is number one in my mine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almakki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for supporting The InterContinental Bangkok and also taking the time to share you stay experience with us.

It gave us much pleasure to read your comments and to hear that you and your family enjoy the services and facilities in our hotel. We have shared your kind compliments with Ms. Chutima, Ms. Umavadee and front desk team for their service and good to know that we have been successful in looking after our Loyal Guest.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel very soon.


Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have to comment on the wonderful attitude of the concierge here in the InterContinental Bangkok. I asked for some help in guiding me for trips and local where to go, what to see and within a few minutes they come up with tons of recommendation and not only that but they also arranged it for me wow what a fast service!!!.

The highlight was how they were follow up on my agenda and always wanted to hear about my trips and my feedbacks. Excellent service!

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the InterContinental Bangkok and for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay.

It is great to hear you were impressed with our Concierge Team on their knowledge and recommendations. We have shared your compliments with them and they were pleased to learn of your kind recognition.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind patronage and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Definitely the best Club Lounge in town!!! They did nothing but take care of us, and make us feel so special.

We were checked in by Natt and Patt, they made sure any questions we asked were promptly answered. The service at the lounge from breakfast till evening cocktail is simply the best, staffs were very friendly, good manner, well trained and I can't say enough how impressed we have been by services and never-failing professionalism provided by them.

The highlight was we didn’t tell anyone that we come to Bangkok to celebrate my wife birthday but at night when we back to the room a bottle of champagne with a birthday card from staff were set up on the table….speechless. They just went above and beyond our expectation! Recommended.

Room Tip: Book Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The InterContinental Bangkok and also taking the time to share you stay experience with us.

It gave us much pleasure to read your comments and to hear that you enjoyed the service in our Club Lounge. We have shared your compliments with Ms. Natt and Mr. Patt for their personalized service and good to know that we have been successful in looking after our Guests.

Thank you for your kind patronage and we all look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to our hotel to celebrate your special occasions with us.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Service was amazing from stepping out of the car at the entrance, all the way to checking out. In between - the breakfast staff was attentive (food was great), gym staff was helpful (view from here near the top floor was inspiring, also lots of space/equipment), porters/doormen were welcoming. The lobby is very classy, especially with the "Balcony Lounge". Concierge was helpful in planning some day activities.

The rooms are very similar to those at the Conrad Bangkok, but not as nice (unfortunately). Location is great, right next to Central World and Siam Paragon.

This would be one of my top choices when returning to Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at The Intercontinental Bangkok. We are glad to read that our service from your arrival till your departure has been pleasant.

We have shared your compliments with our team members at the gym, porters, doormen, concierge, food and beverage associates and they were pleased to learn of your kind recognition.

Once again, thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to be your only choice of hotel in Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The St. Regis Bangkok
#14 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Property: InterContinental Bangkok
Address: 973 Phloen Chit road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's largest hotels, InterContinental Bangkok offers a refreshing take on modern luxury, providing guests with a unique cosmopolitan escape. With a BTS station on its doorstep, the hotel offers convenient travel to the city's major business district, while exciting shopping destinations and dining options are within easy walking distance. For a new level of luxury, experience the bespoke services of our exclusive 37th-floor Club InterContinental, while enjoying breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing