We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not like other IC hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not like other IC hotels”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stay in IC Hotels all over Asia and this one reminds me very much of the Singapore IC, it has a certain type of Class and feel you don't get in some other hotels. I am lucky enough to be at the highest level in the rewards program and the benefits in Bangkok are as good as anywhere I have stayed. Lovley club lounge on the 37 floor (but very busy!), good food and drinks served during happy hour and I believe they have afternoon tea and all the trimings as well. Even had Ipads to use for surfing the net.

We were able to have breakfast in the main resteraunt and the choice was great, western and Asian food, even fresh ice cold young coconuts!

The Bedroom was clean, very nice toilitrey's in the bathroom and good sound for the TV or Radio.

We couldn't book a car and had a lot of luggage so booked the hotel Limo to the airport, whilst in my opinion it was quite expensive, it was a nice treat at the end of our holiday. A large BMW with high speed wifi included!

The staff are freindly and of course the location to downtown is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spaman001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM I, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment about our hotel and its facilities. We are glad you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. Your fine compliments on the Club Lounge, the breakfast at Espresso and the friendly staff are really appreciated.

It is most rewarding to learn that our facilities and services are appreciated by our guests. We will do our best to keep up the standard to always meet and exceed our guest's expectations.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at InterContinental Bangkok.

Warm regards,

Julia Andrea Doepfner
Assistant Club InterContinental Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,258
    645
    123
    42
    23
See reviews for
592
831
309
812
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
138 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed in the Premium Suite on the 35th Floor and man it was amazing... A room with a view. Very tastefully done rooms with a work station equipped with all necessities. Our room had the BOSE home theater and a separate dressing area. The bathroom is quite large and separate shower and tub area. Since I am a member of their loyalty program I got a free upgrade, 4 o'clock check out and complimentary access to the club lounge incl of day long snacks and evening cocktails. The hotel is in the Siam area and close to most of the malls like Central World, Big C, Platinum, Pratunum, Indra Market, Siam Paragon etc. There is an Indian restaurant(Bawarchi) in the basement of this hotel complex. A Must visit.

Room Tip: Suite rooms are very spacious and neatly done. Try hummus in the room service menu if you like Leban...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prashdolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM I, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to our property.

We are extremely delighted to see that you enjoyed and happy with our facilities and services, especially at our beautiful Club InterContinental. It is most rewarding to learn that our facilities and service are appreciated by our guests. We will do our best to keep up the standard to always meet with our guest's expectations.

Once again, thank you very much for your observations and fine compliments. We look forward to the privilege and pleasure of serving you again at InterContinental Bangkok.

Kind Regards,

Umavadee Chongphituck
Lobby Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
434 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is one place where you won't leave unimpressed., they excell at their level of service and amenities. The lounge offered comfortable seating and live music, 'great place to sit with company, though not particulary great for mingling. If your interests include physical fitness as mine do you will love the gym on the top floor, personal trainers were there to make sure I had a great workout whenever I was there. Although my par ticular room did not have HBO there were so many other perks that I did not miss it. ..I almost forgot, I had to go to the business center and was greeted by a young lady with "how may I help you", I could not help (jokinly) telling her that I did not know that "they" gave me a personal secretary. The young woman nearly did everything for me in printing out an itinerary and was extremely friendly and efficient.

Only a few members of the staff did not speak english and there were just a couple frustrating moments when they did not understand me, but it's really my fault for not knowing a little more of their language.

Noise? almost none, I only heard children making noise in the hallway once over five days.

The pricetag may be a little prohibitive however they are a member of ICG and Priority Club points may be applied, this can reduce the cost significantly!

Room Tip: Use your Priority Club points. Let the hotel recommend a taxi for you, the hotel taxis are professi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IHG_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM I, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comments on this review. We are delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stayed with us especially during your time at Balcony Lounge, in the Gym and at Business Center.

However, with regard to your feedback about the English skills of some of our staffs, be ensured that we are already brief the departments concerned to immediately work on this issue.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind observations and feedback as it will help us to improve our facilities and service to achieve the highest level of service excellence. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome and serve you again at InterContinental Bangkok.

Warm regards from Bangkok,

Umavadee Chongphituck
Lobby Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel is right in the middle of the shopping district in bangkok. Right across from Centre World Plaza and a short walk from other malls. Lots of dining options, rooms huge with huge flat screen tv's, super comfortable beds and plush big bathrooms. Its a true 5* with all the service matching. Loved our stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank River0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM I, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with InterContinental Bangkok.

We are glad that you like our location and overall comfortable service. We will strive to ensure each and every guest’s stay is enjoyable.

Thank you once again and we hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Chutima Tatiyarattanaporn
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was on a business trip and had meetings to attend at the Intercontinental Bangkok.
I was very impressed with the professional way that 'Julia' Assistant Club Manager and her team at the Club Intercontinental.
Traveling on business is sometimes challenging due to time schedules and meetings at the same time getting things done.
What was more than welcoming is how Julia and her team made me feel at home away from home and I would like to compliment the management of this hotel in all departments and also to observe the attention to service and seeing that the Food & Beverage Director being present in most of the dining areas making sure that the food and service was at it's best.
I congratulate the executive management of this hotel because the service and attention to detail from all staff is a reflection of the management.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danilo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM I, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing InterContinental as your "home" on your previous visit to Bangkok.

Please allow me to express my sincere appreciation on your kind patronage to our hotel as well as your beautiful comment and very detailed feedback on our facilities, hotel restaurant and Club InterContinental on 37th floor and overall service delivered to you by our great people.

I am pretty much delighted to know that we have succeeded in creating a memorable experience for you to have a wonderful time in Bangkok as well as a great stay experience with InterContinental.

I would also like to personally thank you for your gentle recognition on our team members especailly for Ms. Julia our Assistant Club InterContinental Manager. We all send our very best regards and appreciation to you for the recognition.

Once again, thank you for your kind observations and recommendation on the review. We look forward to the privilege and pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at a "Great Hotel Guests Love"... InterContinental Bangkok!

Warm regards,
Chutima Tatiyarattanaporn
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

If you have something to do near the central world area in Bangkok, this hotel is one that suits you. Close to malls and restaurants really gives you peace of mind on what to eat. The hotel its self is quiet old. A mere standard 5 stars or i prefer to call 4 stars +.Nothing exceptional other than its location.Stayed for 2 nights during weekdays.No complain.

Room Tip: Room with Central World view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taufik_sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM I, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to our property.

Once again, thank you very much for your observations and fine compliments. We look forward to the privilege and pleasure of serving you again at InterContinental Bangkok.

Warm regards,
Chutima Tatiyarattanaporn
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

For the last few years IHG and especially Intercontinental has being going downhill big time. I WAS a long time very loyal customer globally with IHG properties. The real kicker was 4 weeks ago I started a 9 week RTW business trip. 14 to 16 weeks ago started booking stays at IHG. Had a few problems and contacted customer services at priority club. Very very poor response when they did respond and the response totally dismissive. Immediately cancelled all bookings except for Intercontinental Bangkok as my previous stays were great and had prepaid this stay. Checked in and things went downhill from there. No upgrade as before to club lounge access - had to pay(platinum ambassador). Went to lounge and asked for a glass of wine as I had been travelling from Australia all day. I was refused as the happy hour had ended 15 minutes earlier and the attitude and response of staff was shocking as I had never experienced at this hotel! Would walk out and go somewhere else if not prepaid. IHG has lost my custom forever and now will go to SPG, Hyatt and Marriott! They have status match me at their highest loyalty program level so no more IHG and on this trip they will have lost over 50 nights stays globally!

Room Tip: Don't waste your money here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scot-TexGDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Scot-TexGDB,

Thank you for being an Ambassador member and we appreciate you sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the shortcomings you have experience during your stay and regret you received service which was less than satisfactory. I would like to discuss your experience in further details. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional information regarding your stay.

I look forward to being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The St. Regis Bangkok
#13 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Property: InterContinental Bangkok
Address: 973 Phloen Chit road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's largest hotels, InterContinental Bangkok offers a refreshing take on modern luxury, providing guests with a unique cosmopolitan escape. With a BTS station on its doorstep, the hotel offers convenient travel to the city's major business district, while exciting shopping destinations and dining options are within easy walking distance. For a new level of luxury, experience the bespoke services of our exclusive 37th-floor Club InterContinental, while enjoying breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing