We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom
Ranked #134 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2007

Fine location, old rooms, but fantastic beds. Great breakfast.
Water was dripping from the ceiling in the bathroom. Hotel needs a renovation.
Wouldn't mind to stay again though.

  • Liked — Free Wi-Fi and the beds...
  • Disliked — Old rooms.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AllanDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    861
    272
    82
    45
See reviews for
363
670
229
478
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2007

Stayed at the Holiday Inn for 3 nights 2 adults 2 children (interconnecting rooms) in the older part of the hotel.
Breakfast was fantastic and rooms are clean but not 5 star.
Good base for shopping in Bangkok and you must try Maria's restaurant around the corner.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Rooms a bit smelly
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank keza84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn, Silom for 4 nights at the beginning of our honeymoon. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It is immaculate, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble.

Breakfast buffet was fantastic, so much choice and all food was of a high quality. The service in both bars was also outstanding. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Patpong with its night market and copious amounts of bars etc is just down the road, cost us 40p in a taxi!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrs_Steffries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2007

The Holiday Inn Silom is a typical Holiday Inn Hotel - 4 stars, decent service and a clean room. Breakfast is good but I was disappointed because the food was pretty much the same everyday. Security was good but not in your face. The hotel will allow you to bring guests to your room but if they arrive after 10.00 p.m. there is supposedly a 1000 baht charge. The hotel is just 5 minutes walking distance to a Skytrain station, which helps you avoid the notorious Bangkok traffic jams.

The Holiday Inn Silom hotel is relatively close to the new international airport and the cab fare will cost you around 300 baht. If you are coming from the airport to the hotel go the top floor of the airport (departures section) and catch a metered cab from there……it is far cheaper (around 300 baht) than if you hail a cab at the arrivals section of the airport (600 to 900 baht). In Bangkok, as a general rule, insist that the taxi driver turn on the meter. If he insists on a fixed charge, step out and hail another cab that would only be too keen to accommodate.

The hotel is within 15 minutes walking distance (or a 5 min skytrain ride) to the infamous Patpong nightlife area. The other nightlife areas are Nana and Soi Cowboy that are both accessible by Skytrain as well. Soi Cowboy is by far the best and you should check out the “LongGun” bar on Soi Cowboy for the famous Bangkok show that begins at 9.00 pm everyday – there is no extra charge for what you see and a beer will cost you a mere 120 baht – about the same as any other bar on Soi Cowboy.

When commuting in Bangkok, avoid the tuk-tuks as the taxis are cheaper and more comfortable. Also note that it doesn’t make sense to pay a premium for hotels close to the skytrain because you can always stay in a cheaper hotel and take a cab to the nearest skytrain for no more than a couple of dollars.

As for getting the best price for this hotel (I paid $85 a night), I researched the net for weeks and found that the generally lowest price for hotels in Bangkok to be at asiarooms.com, from which I made my hotel reservation. If you are booking at short notice, I would also suggest wotif.com that seemed to offer good last minute deals.

Overall, I am sure you won't be disappointed with this hotel as you know what to expect when you stay at a Holiday Inn Hotel. However, for more or less the same money I think you will find much better value in hotels such as the Davis Bangkok, and Majestic Grande.

  • Liked — Location (close to skytrain and in the relative center of the City), cleanliness
  • Disliked — relatively expensive
  • Tips/Secrets — no point in paying a substantial premium for hotels close to the skytrain, as taxis are cheap
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank DravidDesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2007

Will never stay here again,Traveling with a family of seven takes great organisation, accomadation very dated below 3 star sandard. We were given two rooms not conected after pleading for them on the same floor, with enough beds to sleep 4 did they want our other 3 children to sleep on the floor? We were moved three times befor we had beds for seven with no appologie, only to discover we had towels for two. The rooms were not seviced the 3 days we stayed there thus no clean towel.
We also stayed at the Holiday Inn Phuket fantistic cannot wait to return.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — managment
  • Tips/Secrets — stay somewhere else
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThaiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Silom from Jan 4th to 7th. Although we got an excellent deal through Priceline, I would have gladly paid the internet rates through the hotel website.

The front desk staff were very friendly and professional. The check in process went flawlessly.

We were first given a room on the 16th floor. The rooms are are nicely kept and fairly modern (in comparison to other hotels that I stayed at during my time in Thailand). The only issue I had with my first room was that it was connected to another guest room. The guests in that room were very drunk and very loud at night, and the adjoining door didn't provide much sound insulation, so we requested a room change the day after. We were immediately given a new room. Our 2nd room looked very much like the one on the website... very yellow. Our first room was more regular looking, not so yellow.

The hotel is located on Silom Road, in the jewelery district. There are several places to eat and shop nearby, and the skytrain is a few blocks away. Tuk-tuks and taxis (touted and metered) are fairly easy to find. The area isn't as 'glamorous' as Siam Square or Sukhumvit Road, but still very tourist oriented.

Overall, I found this hotel to be excellent quality for the amount paid. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the facilities are of a high-standard. I would come back to this hotel again.

Note: I would warn first time travelers that there are a LOT of jewelery touts in this area. Strangers will strike up a conversation with you to find out whether you are looking for gems or jewelery and will try to direct you to particular shops where they will get a cut on the sales. Since they are so friendly and welcoming, it's difficult to distinguish genuinely friendly locals from the scammers. But you can usually get tipped-off once the stranger calls a tuk-tuk for you or when the stranger tries to prevent you from even looking at the local shops. However, if you clearly express that you're not looking for gems, then they will likely leave you alone.

  • Liked — Good quality at great value. Very professional staff.
  • Tips/Secrets — I suggest using a meter taxi to get this hotel from the Suvarnabhumi Airport (about 250 baht). If you feel like splurging on a meal, go to the Blue Elephant.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vancouver_Roary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2007

Stayed at the H I Silom for a few days before heading for the beach for xmas. Was impressed by it. Great lobby, friendly staff, rooms and ensuites were large (we were in the tower overlooking the pool). Rooms had everything that you needed and great air conditioning. Especially remember the comfortable beds. Didnt really use many of the facilities, but did use the business centre which was efficient but a little pricey for internet usage. Had breakfast on one day which was ok but nothing to write home about. It was much cheaper to eat out in the local restaurants. The hotel position was excellent and we have lost count how many times we have wandered up and down silom road just people watching. Bangkok (despite the recent bombs) felt like one of the safest places we have ever been. We did all the usual tourist sights but one of the sights most tourists dont see is the walk from the railway station to the grand palace, the local sights, smells and culture will stay with me. Also enjoyed using the water taxis on the river to get from a to b. Will definately visit again and wouldnt hesitate to stay at this hotel again.
Si and Steve

  • Liked — Location, Quality, close to tube and sky train
  • Disliked — Nothing really to dislike
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SiandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom
Holiday Inn Bangkok
#105 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Sukhumvit
Holiday Inn Bangkok Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Sathorn
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Sukhumvit
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Sukhumvit 11
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom

Property: Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom
Address: 981 Silom Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#93 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#113 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#127 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in today at the Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom where comfort and convenience come first. Located on Silom Road near Sathorn area, the heart of one of Bangkok's prime commercial complete with shopping and entertainment locations, restaurants, embassies, commercial buildings and two of Bangkok's leading hospitals, BNH and Saint Louis, also next to the city's jewelry sector with easy access to Suvarnabhumi Airport, just a 45 minutes away. Enter the hotel via the chandelier-lit lobby and book into one of the hotel's 700 rooms, starting with the newly refurbished Deluxe category. Experience our Executive Club Room or Suite to enjoy magnificent city views from our 23rd floor Executive Lounge. All rooms offer high-quality furnishings with "free Wi-Fi access" while hotel facilities include 20-meter pool, tennis court, health club, a complimentary Tuk Tuk shuttle service to skytrain and a handful of dining options. Enjoy the countless other city attractions via "Surasak skytrain" just a 7-minute walk away. Surrounded by shopping and entertainment options: Asiatique at the riverside, Jim Thompson Museum, Siam Paragon, MBK and Central World. Alternatively, take a boat to nearby tourist spots such as the Temple of Dawn, floating market, flower market, Grand Palace and Royal Barge Museum. Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom offers an exhilarating range of activities for an eventful holiday, along with a full array of options for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Silom Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing