We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Standard Hotel in Bangkok - Holiday Inn Silom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom
Ranked #128 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed two nights for a business trip and it's the poorest hotel in the past ten years I experienced in Bangkok.

The check in time is extremely long as the front desk spent 30mins to handle my 10 people room. No other staff will help this poor lady nor she will ask for help as well. I have presented her my Priority Card but she rejected as she claimed that I booked from the agency. But, it is accepted in Pattaya Holiday Inn one day afterwards.

Beside the poor service, the location is inconvenient also. You cannot get MTR nor BTS nearby except taxi.

For the room, it is quite spacious but the hardware is a bit old already. The shower is weak and no shower curtain which makes the bath room wet. The buffet breakfast served is without surprise and only the waitresses are still polite w/ smiles.

I'll never stay in this hotel any more!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidkcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,119 of 2,382 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had an executive club floor room for 4 nights. We were 'upgraded' to a corner room ( not sure if they are bigger) It was very quiet, but we were 2 friends with one child, so the king bed wasn't really an upgrade, in hindsight should have rejected the upgrade to stick with the 2 beds. (a rollaway of good quality was provided, but this took all the spare room away)
The executive lounge was great, good breakfast, nice evening snacks and good drinks and the service could not be faulted.
It is a shame that the outside terrace on the lounge is for smokers, this meant we could not enjoy it.
The bathroom was huge, bath and seperate double shower- and everything was of good quality.
Lobby area of hotel is also nice, but we preferred the club floor lounge. The Irish bar offers reasonable priced drinks, but will charge you afterwards if you play pool (it appeared free, but the charge was low and good value) There wasn't really an atmosphere to speak of, only us and maybe 4-5 people in the large bar.
We struggled to get any service in Haris bar, although there appeared to be waiter service we sat for a while, then had to go to the bar, same for 2nd drink. The singers were good, and it was a nice atmosphere.
Not too far to walk to the state tower for the sky bar, or for Sepan Taksin for the boats. Very convenient for Airport/highway access.
The pool area looks and feels very old, not in keeping with the lobby or club floors at all. Functional, but would prefer a no-smoking area to be available.
We asked for a meter taxi to get to victory monument- clearly the hotel staff told him we were heading to Hua Hin, as he initially refused to put the meter on, and wanted to negotiate a price to hua hin. Only when I started to get out at the lights did he magically fix the 'broken' meter, and then dropped the price to Hua hin from 2600 to 1800 ( which we accepted) Be prepared to stand firm on the meter, the 'broken' story gets very tiring if you are in BKK any length of time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location not too far from Surasak BTS station. Surrounding nothing to see or shop. Hotel needs to be refurbish. Bathroom especially. TV connection no good. Pictures not clear. Housekeeping service is good. Hotel lobby is clean and smells nice too. Bellboy are good too. Front desk might be a little under staff during the morning check out time.

Room Tip: Overall acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ong1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It must be 30 years since I stayed in a Holiday Inn, and I was pleasantly surprised to discover that the brand has moved up-market since my previous experience at a rather run-down Holilday Inn in up-state New York. I chose the hotel because of its location. This was partly because I wished to be close to the Jewellery Trade Centre and partly for convenience for travel to and from the airport (since the Holiday Inn is close to the entrance ramp for the expressway system). It is less convenient for the Skytrain, a five minute tuktuk ride from Surasak station (easy walking distance if you want to do that in the heat of the day). The spacious lobby was bright and pleasant, and the reception staff were efficient and welcoming. The assistant manager offered me an upgrade to a superior room (including free internet) at a nominal extra charge, and accepting this was a good decision. The room, in the main tower, was comfortable. It included a good sized writing desk and a comfortable sofa at the window, in addition to bathrobes and other amenities. The kingsize bed was comfortable and there was a choice of soft or hard pillows. The main restaurant in the hotel operates on a buffet basis and was always crowded at breakfast times. However, there are several good restaurants close by. I have already booked here again for a couple of nights at the start of my next trip to Bangkok. If staying for a longer period, I would probably choose a hotel closer to the Skytrain, but for a short visit I found the Holiday Inn convenient, comfortable, and very good value for money.

Room Tip: I found it worth paying a little extra for a superior room in the main tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanuk6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The rooms were clean and comfortable. Good spead of food, especally for breakfast and dinner. Enjoyed the variety of different cuisines!!!!!! Especailly on a holiday, one like to eat and just chill, dont bother about your waist line.

Room Tip: Higher the floors, better the view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superduper123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have been using this hotel club section for several years and as a Gold Card
Holder of IC Hotels group, one would expect some preferential treatment at a hotel in
reciprocation for loyalty to the group.
The problem started on our first night when constant noise from the service area next
to our room 2433 kept us awake most of the night. We checked the next morning and
found that abutting our bedroom wall were two service lifts and a working area. The
xx33 room is the same throughout the hotel tower layout. The passenger lifts are at
the end of the corridor so the hotel cannot be unaware that rooms ending 33 are
potentially noisy.
The next morning we addressed our complaint with the lady duty manager. The two
questions raised were:
1. The hotel knows of course which are the potentially noisy rooms next to lift
wells or service areas. (see our identical problem with the Holiday Inn Hong Kong in
April 2011).
2. Why allocate loyalty members in particular or anyone to these rooms in a non
capacity situation when better rooms are empty.
The duty manager of course apologised for the problem and made an immediate
arrangement to move us to a suite. However she also admitted that there was work
being carried out by Otis on the lifts, which response of course seriously begs the
question of why then were we allocated that room in the first place. No explanation
was given but we were upgraded to a suite 12 floors below, which while spacious no
longer provided the easy access to the lounge floor. The next morning on waking up
and entering the suite lounge area the sight of water dripping from the air conditioner
to the carpet indicated that maintenance was also due on the suite, and that it was not
the upgrade intended.
On check out I made the comment to the assistant duty manager, Khun Chingchai,
that I had paid the required rate for 2 nights in a club room and that on neither night
had a room been provided that could be considered value for money or acceptable.
He did attempt to explain that we were on the xx33 side of the corridor because it
provided a view of the river. However he could not explain why we were given the
worst room on the floor especially as they knew there was liftwork in progress that
obviously could affect the noise in the bedroom of 2433 and other rooms ending 33. As compensation he offered a guaranteed suite upgrade with no leaks, if we return.

On check-in we also received a note from the manager Mr Cosithdul regarding
suitable attire and footwear in the lounge. Appropriate attire was apparently
boardshorts and thongs on the part of some sub continent visitors, the same whom at
1:00 in the lounge had a loud meeting involving $20 million finance with Hyundai on
a project in India audible throughout the lounge. That meeting ought to have been
held in a private room, (which the hotel offers club guests free for an hour). One does not expect the young ladies to have the presence to request such a meeting of several males to be
moved, but managerial help ought to have been sought by them to move the group to
a more private area and leave the lounge for those who would like a little peace and
quiet.
Another problem was the main dining area where at breakfast leaving the table
unattended to get food or drink resulted in the table being cleared whilst you are
away, then on returning you have to replenish the things that you had previously
arranged. We even experienced our table about to be taken by another couple as we
temporarily left it. There has to be a better way to control this problem, a simple
"occupied" flag could be offered to guests as they enter the restaurant which hopefully
they would return on leaving or lay down on the table to indicate they had finished
would solve the problem in most cases and certainly assist your restaurant staff

All our problems were reported through the IC Hotels which has led to direct contact from the Room Division Manager who assures us that our points are being addressed and that we can receive a two nights free stay if we decide to return and give them another chance. Notably the offer is not for the Executive Club which maybe an oversight as that would be the only basis we would return.

We hope that the hotel can get back to the standards we have enjoyed over many years.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank anndenMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel is very nice with friendly ppl really all specially concierge very friendly helpful and room service ,food is yummy special when have prono ;) thanks I went when it's full house but they upgrade me and offer me welcome drink till my room was ready
I love to stay there

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sherif A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom
Silom
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Holiday Inn Bangkok Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Holiday Inn Bangkok
#115 of 891 in Bangkok
1,460 reviews
ibis Bangkok Riverside
#177 of 891 in Bangkok
2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom

Address: 981 Silom Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#92 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#111 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#126 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $62 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom 4*
Number of rooms: 684
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in today at the Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom where comfort and convenience come first. Located on Silom Road near Sathorn area, the heart of one of Bangkok's prime commercial complete with shopping and entertainment locations, restaurants, embassies, commercial buildings and two of Bangkok's leading hospitals, BNH and Saint Louis, also next to the city's jewelry sector with easy access to Suvarnabhumi Airport, just a 45 minutes away. Enter the hotel via the chandelier-lit lobby and book into one of the hotel's 700 rooms, starting with the newly refurbished Deluxe category. Experience our Executive Club Room or Suite to enjoy magnificent city views from our 23rd floor Executive Lounge. All rooms offer high-quality furnishings with "free Wi-Fi access" while hotel facilities include 20-meter pool, tennis court, health club, a complimentary Tuk Tuk shuttle service to skytrain and a handful of dining options. Enjoy the countless other city attractions via "Surasak skytrain" just a 7-minute walk away. Surrounded by shopping and entertainment options: Asiatique at the riverside, Jim Thompson Museum, Siam Paragon, MBK and Central World. Alternatively, take a boat to nearby tourist spots such as the Temple of Dawn, floating market, flower market, Grand Palace and Royal Barge Museum. Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom offers an exhilarating range of activities for an eventful holiday, along with a full array of options for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Silom Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing