We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom
Ranked #130 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great value and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I read some of the views with trepidation about my stay and I have to say that it was one of the more pleasurable HI's I have stayed at. From the moment of arrival to checkout the process was very smooth and without issue. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I recieved an upgrade and used the executive lounge which considering the rate I paid was excellent value in Thai terms. the lounge was well stocked both in the evening with canapés and a 2 hour drinks service here the staff were very attentive and kept my glass full. The food was of a reasonable standard but overall it beats some of the intercontinental club lounges I have used over the years.

The breakfast was well stacked too. Dont expect high end food service but a good standard of food was available during my stay. there are a multitude of hotels in Bangkok and this hotel will not suit all. If you want cheap go elsewhere but if you want reasonably priced with very clear and concise service I suggest you book an executive room with the club lounge facility.

Its a business hotel feel but there were different people in the lounge not just business. I was with my wife on a stopover and didn't feel out of place. I would say rd y=the reviews and then make an educated guess. the reviews are not bad and if you have a problem when you are there ask politely to resolve it.Shouting or getting angry with the Thais i f they don't understand your frustration will not help your cause. ( I witnessed this from some american guy and it was embarrassing for everyone around)
Hope this helps

Room Tip: Book a room with the club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ethixman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    869
    275
    82
    45
See reviews for
364
675
234
483
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We recently stayed at Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom for 3 nights room-only. Pricewise it seemed reasonable for what we needed, but I was mindful of some of the reviews.

On arrival, we were allocated a room in the old wing which was disappointing to say the least. The room was noisy, lighting system defective, shower either really hot or freezing cold, carpet grubby and decor decidedly 1980's. By Holiday Inn standards, it was pretty grim and showing signs of neglect.

I decided to seek an upgrade the following day. After voicing my concerns, I was offered an Executive room in the new wing plus breakfast for the following two days for just a nominal additional amount. It was incredible how different the two rooms were. Our Executive room was lovely, modern and well furnished, and the marble bathroom contained a walk-in shower. It was everything the first room wasn't and made our remaining stay in Bangkok much more pleasurable.

Breakfast was amazing and had a great selection of western and oriental options, with omelettes cooked to order. As you'd expect from a respectable hotel chain, the food generally was of high quality.

Holiday Inn Silom was pretty central and well located to get round town. Sure, there's better located hotels but there's also far worse for probably more money.

Would I stay here again? Possibly. Bangkok has a wealth of choice when it comes to hotels, however, Holiday Inn Silom wasn't necessarily that bad although I'd definitely recommend staying in the new wing. Some parts of the hotel - interior and exterior - look a bit dated and in need of repair or refurbishment. But, in a way, that reflects the city. If you're after a half decent base from which to explore the capital, it does provide the necessary amenities and facilities.

NB. If you need to use wi-fi, pop to Hari's bar as drinks are reasonable, it's a chilled atmosphere and you get one hour's free wi-fi, nibbles and a non-alcoholic cocktail included.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Simon L,

Thank you for taking the time to write to leave a comprehensive review of our property. I am glad that you found our location suitable enough for your needs. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience you experienced with the room accommodations you received. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again should your travels bring you back to Bangkok.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The website says it is only 5 minutes walk to BTS Skytrain station Surasak, in actuality, for an
Asian, it takes more like 10-15 minutes. Therefore, most of the time, you have to take a taxi if
you don't want to walk that far.
Buffet breakfast was good, there were a lot of choices.They do make a good omelet though.
Rooms are clean and bed is comfortable. The housekeeper does not refill tea, after we used up our tea bags, she never refilled them anymore. She refilled our lotion with a used one because
it was half way empty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jardinera77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

the hotel has many bars and restaurants plus Silom Village is only a few min walk. very helpful & friendly staff. used the hotel many times with work and its a good place to use as a base when in Bangkok.
the hotel bars are nice, food is ok for the price but you are better going out. the rooms in the main tower are the ones to stay in, dont book the old tower...
if you want to go all out, book the exc rooms, same room style as normal tower but you get free drinks and food in the lounge.
will be staying again and have also used the hotel for a family stay - pool area is good for kids.
the only negative with the hotel is the breakfast time, too many people trying to sit down at teh same time in limited space...

Room Tip: dont stay in old tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Perfect for getting in and out quickly. Since my work was centered around Silom - the location was apt. Even otherwise, the hotel was located close enough to a bunch of restaurants and bars - also a quick ride away from the popular patpong market area. The one time I chose to dine in - I thoroughly enjoyed an order of Thai red curry and rice - a generous portion that I wiped off myself! Service is polite and staff are open to help. I personally felt that the cleanliness factor could use improvement. Sleep and shower experience was a little above average.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justabeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Mrs.Electric and i have travelled extensively. Most hotels can provide an excellent experience over one or two visits. In our experience there are only three that deliver excellence again and again and again. The Holiday Inn Silom is one of these. (The other two are the Novotel in Wolverhampton, U.K. and the Bali Hyatt in Sanur, Bali.)
We have had an extended stay here this time because I totally ruined Mrs.Electric's VERY special birthday by waking up on 3rd September to find I had had a stroke. This resulted in a three night stay at the B.N.H. hospital in Convent Road (two of which were in intensive care). Rather shocking and unexpected.The B.N.H. is a very competent hospital with excellent doctors,nurses and staff and I thank Dr. Utain and his team for keeping me alive.
My first priority (apart from breathing of course) was to get Mrs.Electric installed in a hotel where she would be comfortable, safe and well looked after in familiar surroundings. The Holiday Inn Silom was the perfect choice. I joined her upon release from hospital on 7th September. And we are still here! So I am typing a review 'Live on site' from the excellent business centre. And we are loving every moment of it. All of our previous visits here have been exceptional. This one is equally as good and we are not surprised.
For my wife's special birthday our room was decorated with balloons,flowers, streamers,banners and a cake.The bar staff organised another cake for her in the evening, and the band sang birthday wishes to her in the traditional way.
The thing that makes this hotel so perfect is it's management and staff.The buildings house a lovely hotel and it actually has a real bar here (Hari's), very important for us as we dislike lobby bars. We love Thailand and love and respect the Thai people (yes even those naughty taxi drivers who try to tell us the meter is broken, although we don't love them as much, the little devils!!!!). But we especially love the management and staff of this hotel. If there is even one bad member of staff here we have not met them.

This hotel is perfect for business travellers and leisure travellers alike. Even airline crews stay here. It is perfectly situated on the bustling Silom Road, and only a short walk from the skytrain. And if you suddenly feel a desire to have a game of pingpong (very different to table tennis in the U.K.) then Patpong is only about a twenty minute walk away.

A little note for guests. The Thais are a very kind and gentle people with a great sense of humour. Be nice to them, be friendly to them, be polite to them and the response you get back will be truly incredible, especially when they realise it is ok to joke with you.

Will we stay here again? Does a chicken have a pecker? Of course we will.They do a very good breakfast too!!

THE THANK YOU LIST
Our sincere and gracious thanks to EVERYONE at this hotel. We cannot name all of you as we cannot remember all names. The names we CAN remember are as follows:

Russarin, Minchayer (who we have met many times on previous visits), and Nami. All of you are excellent at you varied work and very funny too. These three ladies can be found on Priority Club and guest relations.
Thanks to Metta and Prasert on reception. Prasert not only sourced and topped up a local sim card for me, but also recommended a wonderful Thai restaurant behind the hotel.
In the business centre we thank Namthip, Somwang, and Penny. And Penny, may all of your dreams come true.

Thanks to all at the 6th floor pool. Tharnan in particular is a very funny guy, a wonderful chap, and a top pool attendent.

In the Bar we are delighted to thank Somchai (again who we have met many times), Nipaporn,Tanaporn, and Sakul. We are sure that the other chap is nice too but we had no dealings with him.We also thank the band, Natasha, Karen, and the gentleman who also sings and programmes. Sir, we have forgotten your name. But if you insist on sitting behind two ladies with very short skirts, this will happen :)))).

Thanks to the lovely lady who is the Head of housekeeping, Krongphong, And our excellent house keeper Orawan who did a very good job of keeping room 2236 well stocked and clean. Also to Oranuch, how lovely too see you again.

Thanks to all at breakfast, including all the egg guys and girls, and the executive chef from Singapore.

At the Orchid lounge we thank Mintra, Suwannee,Suchin, Supaporn, Anchalee, and their boss, U-rit.

And special thanks to anyone whose names I have missed.You will know who you are.

Our final thanks go to the General Manager, Mr Samir MC, who is professional, kind and is a pleasure to meet and talk to. His command of the good ship Holiday Inn, Silom is excellent. And a very special thanks for that one special treat!

And, Russarin, our conversation that we had will stay with us forever. Woof, woof!

One special serious note to all who read this. I have had my first stroke at 52 and I have never smoked. If you smoke, please stop it. The world is a beautiful place in which to live. If you have a wife or husband, children, friends, family - tell them you love them. Tell them every single day. I hope I am not being too evangelical here.

Once again, a huge thank you to everyone who works at this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Electricwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is an old hotel with refurbished rooms.
Staff provided uneven service levels.
An excellent Indian restaurant.
Nice compact gym and a nice outdoor pool.
Looks like most of the buildings around the hotel are not occupied, so, the range of restaurants and shops within walking distance is limited.
Traffic during weekdays is famously impossible.
Close to the river and to the highway leading to the airport.
Overpriced.

Room Tip: Try to stay when you can get a promotion. Staying over the weekend is more convenient - traffic is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haib18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom
Holiday Inn Bangkok
#108 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Sukhumvit
Holiday Inn Bangkok Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Silom
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Sukhumvit 11
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom

Property: Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom
Address: 981 Silom Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#92 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#112 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#126 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in today at the Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom where comfort and convenience come first. Located on Silom Road near Sathorn area, the heart of one of Bangkok's prime commercial complete with shopping and entertainment locations, restaurants, embassies, commercial buildings and two of Bangkok's leading hospitals, BNH and Saint Louis, also next to the city's jewelry sector with easy access to Suvarnabhumi Airport, just a 45 minutes away. Enter the hotel via the chandelier-lit lobby and book into one of the hotel's 700 rooms, starting with the newly refurbished Deluxe category. Experience our Executive Club Room or Suite to enjoy magnificent city views from our 23rd floor Executive Lounge. All rooms offer high-quality furnishings with "free Wi-Fi access" while hotel facilities include 20-meter pool, tennis court, health club, a complimentary Tuk Tuk shuttle service to skytrain and a handful of dining options. Enjoy the countless other city attractions via "Surasak skytrain" just a 7-minute walk away. Surrounded by shopping and entertainment options: Asiatique at the riverside, Jim Thompson Museum, Siam Paragon, MBK and Central World. Alternatively, take a boat to nearby tourist spots such as the Temple of Dawn, floating market, flower market, Grand Palace and Royal Barge Museum. Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom offers an exhilarating range of activities for an eventful holiday, along with a full array of options for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Silom Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing