We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dissapointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akbar Restaurant

Akbar Restaurant
Ranked #1,135 of 10,627 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $6 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: One of the oldest Indian/Pakistani restaurant in Thailand since 1979. Tandoori, Curry, Vegetarian, Non-Veg, Halal food
Candy Land
Level Contributor
195 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

reading the reviews I had high hopes for a good meal. guess it depends on what you order. we heard the table next to ours raving to the owner about their good meal. sadly we didn't enjoy so much. sagwanna paneer and rogan josh were not good picks. the rogan josh was boring and watery as the palak paneer just not holding much flavor. both were spicy, so you should order mild if you dont like the extra kick. was a bit much for me but manageable. the chicken tika was our best dish so again its probably what you order here.

I brought a first timer to Indian cuisine last night. not a good start. the garlic naan was fine and with 3 small Singha beers the total was high for Thailand at 1100+. dont think I will return as Bangkok got so much better choices for Indian cuisine. on the side they bring a nice big bowl of mukwas to enjoy after your meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kai_khem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    27
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had the Tandoori set at 400 baht and 2 cocktails at 150 baht a piece. Food was excellent and the restaurant was quiet and comfortable. The service was okay - very 'reserved' rather than enthusiastic. The 10% service charge was lost in the fine print somewhere and I'm getting a little tired of the restaurants that aren't upfront about this.
Overall though a good place and recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzylimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Idaho
Level Contributor
207 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“nondescript food, price higher than better Indian food in India”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had come from India, and would next go to Nepal. Indian food is better in both of those nations. Probably Thailand has other, better, Indian restaurants, and you might ask why I wasn't eating Thai food in Thailand, anyway. Good point--someone else chose the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KeithHruza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

if you want to try indian food or nan bread u can go the resturant and eat there or u can order and have delivery to ur hotel ;)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the best indian food in bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

the best indian food is available only in akbar restaurent located opposite grace discotheque & hotel.the quality of the food is the best & prices are very less according the quality.indians should not miss this restaurent.
vijay vejrani

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hotellinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbar Restaurant also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Akbar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing