We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair price, fair service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
Ranked #32 of 1,194 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fair price, fair service”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

It seemed AC was not fully provided. One of electrical points, which was above my bed, were not tight and I told everything about it but still got not any better. Staffs was really nice, friendly and helpful. On the other hand they seemed they are always aware about all the expenses which would be from guests and it made me.. OOW. :(

Room Tip: Cabined room would be recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eunhackjang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    107
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
1
27
179
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Staff v friendly and helpful with advice of what to see and do and how to get there.

Dorm (I think mine was the basic 16 bed dorm) was clean with lockers with each bed. Bed comfortable enough. AC worked well in the dorm. Wash area also clean and modern.

Looks like it's been renovated recently as it's all in pretty good condition.

Location perfect, just off Khaosan Rd which is 'backpacker central' and is where it's all happening.

A free computer in reception useful for internet access. Think there was wifi as well but didn't use it.

Seems only down side is it's slightly more expensive than the average, but for me worth it.

Room Tip: Check location on streetview before you go as you might walk straight past it. Also make sure you pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Staff v friendly and helpful with advice on what to do and see

Dorms (I stayed in the basic 16 bed dorm, I think) are clean and the beds comfortable. Each bed has adjoining locker. Dorms have good airconditioning.

Wash facilities are also clean and modern.

Location perfect. Just off Khaosan Rd which is backpacker central and where it's all happening. A perfect base from which to explore the rest of the city.

Free computer in reception area useful for internet access.

Feels like the whole place was quite recently renovated as the whole place is in good condition.

I think it's more expensive than average, but for me was worth it.

Room Tip: Make sure you look up the location on google street view as you might walk straight past it. Directi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack2945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Friendly staff, free good wi-fi, free basic breakfast, heavily airconditioned rooms, and fine facilities mark this hostel as a great place to stay. Beds are a bit hard but I slept very well. I suppose it is fairly expensive for what is common in Thailand, at 450ish Baht per night, but it lacks nothing compared to twice as expensive hostels in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kees M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hostel is amazing. The location is great- right next to Khao San Road but far enough away so that you are able to sleep. The staff are INCREDIBLE. Honestly, Cen and Evan make you feel right at home and are more than willing to answer any and all questions (thank you guys!). I stayed in one of the capsule cabin beds and I can't recommend it enough. I found that when traveling solo you often had to choose between staying in a hotel and getting a good nights rest or not sleeping so well but meeting people in a hostel. With the capsule beds, no need to choose! You can get a good nights rest and meet people. It's the best, I stayed here twice, and I highly recommend you do too.

Room Tip: Definitely choose one of the capsule cabin beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler22343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naree S, General Manager at Suneta Hostel Khaosan, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and glad to know that you love our hostel and staffs.

Please come back to Suneta once you return to BKK, we are looking forward to seeing you :)

Any helps you may need please feel free to contact us.

Be well.

Naree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed as a couple in the mixed bed dorm, A/C worked amazingly. Loved the beds with the sliding doors giving you privacy and keeping It dark/quiet which dorms can sometimes lack. Staff were lovely and the reception was open 24 hours. Were hoping to stay again when we return to Bangkok for our flight to Vietnam, would totally recommend.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Olivia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naree S, General Manager at Suneta Hostel Khaosan, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Olivia,

Thank you for your feedback we appreciated it, we always improve or correct ourselves best from guests with direct experiences here.

Hope to service you again at Suneta Hostel Khaosan!

Thanks again and safe trip.

Best regards,

Naree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This wasn't my first choice of hostel in Bangkok, but was available for booking a couple of days before we wanted to stay.
Arrived early in the morning and felt welcome to stay in the common area before check-in. When I realised I had had items stolen from my bag on the overnight bus, the man at reception was very unhelpful in directing me to the police or offering local advice (which was useless anyhow!).

We stayed in a female dorm, which had 6 beds squeezed in and NO windows. So no way of escape if there's a fire as the room was at the end of a corridor.

Would book more in advance next time and get a hostel elsewhere. Was convenient to the river and Khaosan road. Excellent coconut smoothies at a stall outside too :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naree S, General Manager at Suneta Hostel Khaosan, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and sorry for the disappoint and for what happened to you we totally understand your point how do you feel, please let us explain this:

Firstly, we never want not to help the guest, actually we really are willing to help every possibility ways we can but we believe that when you check in on that day the person who works in night shift still work until the early morning and honestly he cannot understand English very well then communication error happens and this is our fault ( we keep training him now :) )


For the dorm we have the detector to detect the smoke and of course if there is a fire then this detector will alarm loudly :) we also have the fire exist with 20 steps from the lady dorm and fire extinguisher installed to the wall :)

We really do not want you to feel bad or unhappy, once again so sorry for what happened.

Your voice is always important for us.

Best regards,

Naree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
NapPark Hostel @ Khao San
#23 of 1,194 in Bangkok
699 reviews
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,194 in Bangkok
985 reviews
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,194 in Bangkok
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Here Hostel
Here Hostel
#16 of 1,194 in Bangkok
200 reviews
Banglamphu
Back Home Backpackers
Back Home Backpackers
#45 of 1,194 in Bangkok
222 reviews
Banglamphu
The Oasis Hostel
The Oasis Hostel
#20 of 1,194 in Bangkok
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suneta Hostel Khaosan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suneta Hostel Khaosan

Property: Suneta Hostel Khaosan
Address: 209-211 Kraisi Road, | Banglampoo, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 1,194 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suneta Hostel Khaosan 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the center of historic Bangkok, the old time style hostel that brings you back to the atmosphere of old town Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Suneta Hostel Khaosan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing