We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome views, very nice menu, just oozes "class"”

L'Appart - Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Ranked #39 of 10,793 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $55
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: L'Appart, Rooftop Bar and Restaurant, invites diners for the finest French-inspired food in Bangkok. At the 32nd floor Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, the talented chef introduces you to classic and contemporary French cuisine, all served in elegant surroundings. The enticing menu is a culmination of the chef's inspiration, creative flair, and the influence of years spent working alongside Michelin star chefs. Explore a contemporary approach to cuisine that skillfully marries local flavours with classic French cooking techniques for a truly memorable dining experience in Bangkok.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Awesome views, very nice menu, just oozes "class"”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A well chosed spot for three friends who are spread out all over the world to get together with their spouses and catch up. The concept of a private dining room within the restaurant proper is very nice, I dont mean it was a banquet room it was a small very private dining room for about 8 people.

The menu was extensive and all beautifully prepared, the mixed drinks and the wine selections available were supperb. The portions were on the small side but no one went away hungry. The food presentation was as one would expect for a restaurant of this type, artistic.

After dinner we had drinks on the patio overlooking all of Bangkok, sights, sounds and a wonderful breeze made our first night outing in Thailand memorable and special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJPSanRamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at L'Appart - Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 30, 2016
Dear CJPSanRamon,
We are sorry for the delay.
Thank you for your comment, we appreciate your shared your experience with us.
I hope you had the chance to experience another magnifique moment since your last review.
We invite you to join us again to discover our new feature.
Best regards,
William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    98
    26
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great View, Great Service”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

L'Appart was a great choice for a lovely dinner with a view. My wife wanted the go to sirocco but then we found we had our own rooftop restaurant. Food and view were excellent , breeze was refreshing and coolish. I found the staff attentive and the head waiter wandered the tables checking on everyone's experience.

For the food quality, the price was very reasonable - highly recommend the goats cheese ravioli and tuna entree, dark chocolate souffle was also a highlight. My wife who does not drink alcohol was impressed that the soft drink was also presented in a carafe.

The only negative would be the smokers outside around the tables but given the local attitudes to smoking that's hardly the venues fault . perhaps a separate smokers area?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrStaypuft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at L'Appart - Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 30, 2016
Dear MrStaypuft,
We are sorry for the delay.
Thank you for your comment, we appreciate your shared your experience with us.
I hope you had the chance to experience another magnifique moment since your last review.
We invite you to join us again to discover our new feature.
Best regards,
William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food but bad service”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nice view from the 32nd floor over the city, with original decoration and pleasant atmosphere. Pricy but that was known when I selected the venue. Regrettably the service is below standard. Firstly, I ordered a glass of sparkling wine from Australia, only to be told that it was not available and the waiter proposed Prosecco from Italy instead. For dinner, I wanted to order a bottle of red wine, and incredibly the next 2 bottles of my choice were not available. The Maitre d’ suggested a special bottle which turned out to be rather unimpressive and definitely overpriced for such an ordinary wine. In that respect, the Sheraton Grande across the road offers an impressive selection of top wines at more reasonable prices, combined with excellent food. The cooking at L’appart was very good and the dishes well presented and enjoyable. We were lucky to watch a live singing performance of several very talented opera vocalists, this we enjoyed tremendously. It was similar to the recitals at Hotel Muse at Langsuan. In conclusion, service ought to be drastically improved and availability of items on the menu should be assured (or deleted from the menu). To have the misfortune of having 3 choices rejected is deplorable at a restaurant in that category.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank reneneefth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Manager at L'Appart - Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear reneneefth,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at L'Appart restaurant and bar.
We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our restaurant. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.
We regret that you were not happy with the service recieved in L'Appart and with the unavailability of the items in the drink menu; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Manasnarth BOONYONG (Ms)
Guest Experience & Quality Manager
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Chic and modern French restaurant”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

L’Appart is a modern and charming French restaurant atop the brand-new Sofitel Sukhumvit Bangkok hotel. Not comparable to the top floor of Banyan Tree and the State Tower, but you can enjoy great service in a relaxing atmosphere. Spacious balcony with good view of the down town Bangkok, a bit windy at the night but you would feel refreshing. We had 12 course french dinner which the menu was tailored made for us by the head chef. Not classical french dishes, but great Thai fusion food, We enjoyed that last night in Bangkok very much with the great food and great view there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cocolofted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William J, General Manager at L'Appart - Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, August 30, 2016
Dear Cocolofted,
We are sorry for the delay.
Thank you for your comment, we appreciate your shared your experience with us.
I hope you had the chance to experience another magnifique moment since your last review.
We invite you to join us again to discover our new feature.
Best regards,
William Haandrikman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Awesome decoration, great food, poor service”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have tried this very good restaurant, my wife and I. The decor is awesome, they managed to re-create the interior of a Parisian style apartment and I must say the results is very pleasing. You can choose the seat inside or enjoy the outside terrace with a stunning view on Bangkok. The restaurant provides a kind of lounge atmosphere between the dining place and the terrace which create different pleasant environments. The food was really good, a bit pricey but very good. The service on the other hand does not match the level of this fine dining place. The restaurant manager had very little interaction with us, nobody asked us how our dinner went and despite ordering the wine at the beginning, we had to ask twice before getting it served. A bit of more smiling and welcoming feeling would have made our night just great, too bad. But honestly, putting the service aside, if you would like to spend a romantic night or a good moment among friends, I would certainly recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SamAtlantis_Bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian S, Manager at L'Appart - Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear SamAtlantis_Bkk,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback following your recent visit at L'Appart restaurant and bar.
We were very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the service recieved in L'Appart. We regret letting you down on this occasion.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Manasnarth BOONYONG (Ms)
Guest Experience & Quality Manager
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Appart - Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit also viewed

 

Been to L'Appart - Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing