We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to explore BKK”
Review of Korbua House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Korbua House
Ranked #161 of 1,345 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel is perfectly based if you want to explore all the temples and grand palace and also the Khaosan road. All in walking distance. The rooms are nice and big and also the bathrooms. The people that commented that rooms smell, well the smell comes from the draining system, and this is the problem in whole Thailand. The personnel is also nice and know english. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spanc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 236 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have read that people complaints about the smell of nearby canal and how hard it is to find the hotel. Just print out the hotel's address in Thai alphabets with its phone number, my driver didn't have any problem to find this hotel because I did so. I think this is a nice and very clean hotel! though no lock on the bathroom is a bit of bother. but the bed was clean, and the staff even lent me ironing equipments without any extra charge fee! There was also no big problem when we decided to upgrade a room. The place is located near to sightseeing place, getting to Grand Palace, Wat Pho very cheap by taxi. the busy Khao San Road is in walking distance, lots of great street food! every morning the alleyway is filled with street vendors. their pork sautee is perfect and only for 50Baht!! Shower has hot and cold, I had a nice view because its window was headed thru the canal. and WiFi is nice, fast enough for me to skype. I'm sure there will be a nicer hotel but I don't regret staying in this place. Good one! Cheers!
P.S. Oh, one thing, this place isn't near any public transportations, but taxi is very cheap, so it didn't matter. because even BTS doesn't go everywhere so taxi is nice. Don't take Tuk-Tuk, they're even more expensive than a taxi.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Very nice little hotel in a small alley, close to the sights (main temples) and restaurants, yet quiet. Great breakfast area overlooking the river. Rooms are clean, nicely decorated yet simple. Friendly staff. Great to travel with family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thierry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very nice hotel. Clean room with A/C and nice furnitures, big bathroom, everyday 2bottles of water are provided. Even if the hotel is close to khaosan, it is very silent at night. One night we tried the restaurant and is good. Friendly staff, we decided to spend one more night there.
Bad things:
Shower drained very slowly.
The hotel is near a river and sometimes bathroom smells bad:ask for a room on a high floor.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiliaCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I don't quite understand how the hotel has so many good reviews. It is right next to an absolutely foul smelling canal, for a new hotel the rooms were in dire condition, there is no sound proofing, the location is awful and it is way behind the standard of everywhere else I stayed.

I had booked for 4 nights but after arrival decided I couldn't stand staying there any longer than one night so left the next morning.

Please avoid because Bangkok has so many incredible hotels that you could stay at for the same price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Staff were really friendly. The reception woman always smiley and chatty. Good food at the restaurant, but the beer bottles expensive! Get yours at the nearby 7-11. The hotel was close to the Khao San and the grand palace. Nice bathroom with a big walk in shower. The room was cleaned every day.

Bad sides: we requested a basic room, but upon booking added a little note that we would appreciate a canal view. The view we got didn't exactly feature the view we wanted. Our booking said we'd also have a balcony, but instead the balcony we got a small room next to our bedroom with the aircon fan unit in, it was extremely loud and the quality of sleep was really poor. We didn't sleep well at all. Every night there were dogs barking outside, they were driving us crazy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Avoid this hotel. It is on a polluted canal - the whole place smells brackash. The rooms are tiny (there isn't even room for luggage & you will have to stand to use a laptop; no chair). and it's noisy; no privacy from neighbor, you can hear everything. The staff are unhelpful and unfriendly; they could care less.

Breakfast was sub-par. Having stayed at other much better and friendlier hotels in Thailand, I can promise you there are much. much better choices, and the ratings, in this case, do not accurately reflect how poor this place is.

The only possible good thing is that it is near Khao San, but then so are dozens of other hotels and I suggest you look at another place. You will be unhappy here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trekker183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#374 of 890 in Bangkok
64 reviews
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#140 of 890 in Bangkok
1,858 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 890 in Bangkok
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#355 of 890 in Bangkok
1,332 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Kachitpan
Baan Kachitpan
#84 of 1,345 in Bangkok
29 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Boutique Inn
Buddy Boutique Inn
#80 of 731 in Bangkok
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Korbua House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korbua House

Address: 239/8-11 Phrasumen Rd. | Taladyod, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 1,345 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $34 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Korbua House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Korbua House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing