We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Okura Prestige Bangkok
Ranked #6 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
BEIJING
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not as good as we expected”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Have booked a Premium Club room for 2nights in The Okura Prestige. We are frequent visitors to Bangkok as always have had vacations in Phuket and other seaside holiday, on the ways back we usually stay 2-3days in BKK for relax and shopping and dinning etc. This is the first time we stay in the Okura, with the great experience in other hotel club level rooms, we chose to stay at the club room as well. But it was not as we had expected or in other words, not quite satisfactory.
Room is ok, for its spacious, nice view on the 33rd floor, good facilities, free minibar drinks and cleanliness. But the service was not good as for the 4-5star level.
1.There has been a bad sewage smell always around in the lobby, corridors and even if rooms.
2.Staff not very friendly, attentive, housing keeping staff did not want to do the evening room due to it was time for his shift. Club lounge staff told us need proper dressing code for tea refreshment and cocktail but when we were there found many guests wearing short pants, slippers without any staff to regulate.
3.Buffet breakfast is ok but be aware it would be very full during 8-9am rush hours, you may need to queue there for a few minutes.
The positive point is the spa, very good skilled staff! However, a bit pricy and when we finished the massage and signed the bills and comments, the staff left us to accompany another guest for introduction tour for a very long time, we have to bring the bill and comment books to look after her.
As it is a Japanese based hotel but there was very few or nil Japanese guests but a lot of Hong Kong guests.
Location is good and convenient for BTS and shopping around.
Overall it is about 3-4star level but definitely not 5star.
Not quite likely to return here for stay in Bangkok due there is a lot better options.

Room Tip: Club level is better for city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JOHNSONLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your lengthy and very kind review. Guest feedback is the most important feedback we receive, thus we appreciate each word and have shared your comments with our team. We pride ourselves on our exceptional service and cuisine and are surprised you did not experience that completely; it’s helpful for us to know this because it pushes us to do more: we want to ensure that every guest visit is seamless and fantastic. It’s our utmost priority, and one we’ll work diligently to improve upon and achieve. We hope you’ll give us another chance to create a memorable visit.
Respectfully yours
Samir Wildemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,132
    369
    72
    28
    26
See reviews for
418
962
202
498
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful japanese experience in a thai city. Everything about this hotel is good. Rooms are nicely done. Very clean. Rooms are well colored and designed. Amazing view. Friendly staff & helpful. Only area of improvements are concierge knowledge of good restsurants & speed of service of help desk (bell boy)on ground floor (main entrance on the road level) as they took more than 20 minutes to come to take our bags.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review of our Bangkok Hotel. We’re delighted that you liked the modern design of our rooms and especially the great view we offer from every single floor! I do however regret to read that our Concierge and Bell service were not up to their usual high standards and we will certainly be looking into this area. Thank you so much for letting us know. We hope to welcome you back again soon
Yours Sincerely
Samir Wildemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were a bunch of friends visiting Bangkok recently, and decided to stay at The Okura. Surprisingly, this hotel didn't even feel like you are in Bangkok. My room had a modern feel yet it was simplicity at its finest. The best part of this hotel was the pool located on the 25th floor. Lots of us were not even swimming, we were just taking pictures inside the pool. This is truly an amazing design and an amazing hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review and we understand your comments regarding the setting of our pool, it is truly amazing and it was equally impressive seeing it being built during construction times in 2011. We hope to being able to welcome you back to The Okura Prestige Bangkok for another memorable experience.
Yours sincerely
Samir Wildemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I brought my family and stayed at the Okura from June 23 to June 25. It wasn't a great start as I had to wait for quite a bit with my young toddler in tow while the hotel searched for my reservation. Apparently there was some issues backend and the system wasn't updated with my details. I thought the service could have been better if the service officers were more attentive and perhaps brought out some drinks or directed us to a place where we can sit and wait especially since we just got off from a flight.

The general condition of the hotel was good, considering it was rather new. We liked the cleanliness of the room, housekeeping service and the service staff at the swimming pool. We did not quite like the executive club lounge as it was rather snooty with its strict dress code. I have no issue with dress codes if the place warranted it but the ambience and the drinks and food provided were rather average. Plus the staff could have been more tactful in conveying the issue with dress codes.

We had breakfast at the main restaurant for both days and the food was ok. On one of the days however, we saw one of the chefs cooking the egg dishes in the kitchen actually sneezed into the food without any attempt to cover his mouth. I think a definite area for improvement here would be for the hotel to require all food handlers to wear a mask!

Overall the entire experience was pleasant but there are still rooms for improvement. The last note I would like to give would be that I hope the level of service provided by consistently good. On Sunday and Tuesday, the service staff was rather attentive but on Monday, which had fewer people, the service quality and attentiveness definitely has room for improvement.

I would still stay in this hotel again if I visit BKK as it has a direct covered walkway to a BTS station only 2 stops away from the main shopping district, but I would hope that the areas for improvement which I mentioned are addressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geognut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Okura Prestige Bangkok and for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
On behalf of the team, we apologize sincerely for not always meeting your expectations during your stay. We greatly appreciate your additional feedback about our club lounge and our dress code during dinner times which we have taken steps to address. Obviously there were areas where we were not perfect but we can assure you that I and all our 380 associates are working daily on service improvements and your input is of great value to us.
We are very happy to read that we will have the opportunity again in the future to welcome you and your family back to The Okura Prestige Bangkok and we hope to exceed your expectations then.
With my very best regards
Samir Wildemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

a very comfortable place, as soon as you walk outside on the right side are the stairs to the metro which was really helpful and fun, instead of taking a taxi or a tuk tuk opt for the mtero, its faster, no traffic jams and faulty meters, if you decide on staying back then you can laze around the pool or the gym or the spa, amazing breakfast which me and my daughter thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: always opt for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SobiaSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our luxury Bangkok Hotel located in the heart of this bustling city. All mayor shopping centres are easily accessible with our direct access to the sky train system (BTS) and we are delighted that you were able to benefit from this convenience. Bangkok’s renowned Chatuchak or J.J. Weekend market with its over 5000 stalls is also directly accessible with the train from our hotel. We are delighted that you and your daughter enjoyed our Up&Above restaurant, with it’s fabulous breakfast buffet spread including Executive Chef Thomas Jacobi’s popular croissants and fresh pancakes. We hope to see you again soon at The Okura Prestige!
Samir Wildemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

As referred by previous reviewers on Tripadvisor, I can really say that all the good reviews on Okura Prestige Hotel in Bangkok are true! It has Japanese hospitality at its best up to the most minute details. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
There is a good reason why Thailand is known as the ‘Land of Smiles’ and it is a real pleasure to being able to share true Thai Hospitality here at The Okura Prestige in Bangkok. The willingness and friendliness of our employees to show the true meaning of hospitality is something unique to Thailand and being able to share this with you at our boutique hotel is indeed a real pleasure and we are really pleased to read that the ‘Thai smile’ makes visitors repeat their travel time and time again. It would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back to our Hotel, where we combine Okura's rich service culture with genuine Thai Hospitality.
Samir Wildemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a lovely corner room, with a view of the beautiful Lumpini Park, looks like Asia version of Central Park.

Best in-room Thai food I have ever tried. My boyfriend and I love the satay and the tom yum soup. Best breakfast buffet, with the most variety of food (and juice) i have ever seen!

Facility-wise, we love the infinity pool and the up and above bar. Both offer a unique view of Bangkok city. The only downside of the hotel is that the executive lounge would not allow guests with shorts. It sounds a bit to uptight and Mandarin Oriental in HK (where not as hot) would not have such practice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0travellerg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for speaking so highly of The Okura Prestige Bangkok. It is wonderful to hear that your experience with the staff, your stay, and of course the food was exceptional and we have shared your comments with the Thai Kitchen team which has made them especially proud. We do apologise if you felt that our dress code during cocktail hours in The Okura Club Lounge has been a little too strickt and as we have had two recent comments we are in the process of revising this. We look forward to welcoming you again to the hotel and our restaurants!
Samir Wildemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 861 in Bangkok
4,349 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 861 in Bangkok
8,187 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 861 in Bangkok
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Okura Prestige Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Okura Prestige Bangkok

Property: The Okura Prestige Bangkok
Address: 57 Wireless Road, Park Ventures Ecoplex | Lumpini, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Okura Prestige Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Okura Prestige Bangkok combines Japan’s rich service culture and attention to detail with Thailand’s world-famous standards of hospitality. This new luxury hotel, with 240 rooms and suites, is located in the award-winning Park Ventures Ecoplex building at the heart of the city’s Central Business District. The hotel offers direct access to the city’s BTS skytrain network at Phloen Chit station and sits close to major shopping malls, embassies and commercial districts. Every room and suite offers impressive views across the dynamic Bangkok skyline through triple-glazed tinted panoramic windows that insulate against both heat and noise. The rooms combine comfort and luxury with the very latest technological developments designed to impress business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Okura Prestige Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing