We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfection on the river in Bangkok” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Siam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Siam
Ranked #3 of 823 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfection on the river in Bangkok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed twice at The Siam the last two weeks of March and it was magical. From the moment you arrive and are greeted by the incredibly kind and attentive staff, you know this is no ordinary hotel. The architecture of the building is striking-- think a modern Asian take on the Musee d'Orsay! It is open, light and filled with the extraordinary Thai and Chinese art and artifacts collection of the hotel owners. Walking through the public spaces of the hotel is a joy, each time focusing on different pieces of wonderful art or appreciating the exquisite interior gardens. Being situated on the river is just delightful-- both to sit and enjoy a cool drink while the boats glide by and to hop on the hotel's boat service and avoid the impossible Bangkok traffic.

The rooms are spacious, well designed, comfortable and beautiful-- designed with a modern sensibility. Bathrooms are large and well laid out.

The food is fabulous. Since this was most in our family's first trip to Bangkok, we ventured out to some of the better rated restaurants and ended up finding the food at The Siam better than any we had outside. And sitting on the beautiful terrace and watching the river life pass by is just enchanting.

But, what truly distinguishes The Siam is the service. And, as everywhere, this begins at the top. The General Manager, Jason Friedman, is superb-- he seems to be everywhere, attending to each guest's needs and making sure that his/her experience is nothing short of perfection. He has trained his staff superbly and it shows! Our butler, Ahn, made our stay seamless and stress-free, carefully unpacking and packing our things , making sightseeing and dining plans and even arranging to fix one of our travel bags that had been broken en route! And, the hotel even offered kick boxing lessons in which our teenage sons participated and loved.

Having experienced the oasis that is The Siam, we would never stay anywhere else! Many thanks to Jason and all of the wonderful staff for a completely delightful and wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Any rooms from which you can see the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb0rah1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    49
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
221
30
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed twice at The Siam in the last 10 days and loved it. The room was large and well laid out and the bathroom expansive with a seperate shower and bath. The service was seriously attentive and pretty seemless. The restaurant on the river offered both al fresco and air conditioned dining and was excellent. Its location can be challenging and we used the river rather than roads and taxis. The biggest difference from our previous stays at the Peninsula and Oriental was scale and the absence of crowds in the lobby areas and bar/restaurants which resulted in a much more private experience. We are going back again next week after travelling in Burma and are already looking forward to it.

Room Tip: 308 had a river view but was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelstudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I really wanted to like the Siam after reading a stellar review from a trusted source. Unfortunately, I genuinely disliked my stay and moved to a different hotel.

First, a few things to know about (neither credit nor discredit to the hotel, but important for personal preference):

- Having stayed previously in the Mandarin Oriental / Peninsula area, the Siam is in a totally different neighborhood. In traffic, it was 90+ minutes from the airport to the hotel. (Strangely, the car sent by the hotel had the name Crowne Plaza on its door; apparently they use the same service.) Even the concierge couldn't recommend a restaurant on a Friday night that wasn't more than 60+ minutes away.

- The atrium lobby and corridors to the guest rooms are open-air and not air conditioned. Some may like this; others not. It's a very long outdoor walk from the guest rooms to the restaurant area. In some parts there isn't even overhead covering (what if it rains?).

- A significant investment has been made in a top-notch build-out. I would characterize the decor as somewhat colonial / Golden Age of Travel. There are antiques throughout and decorative objects like old dental chairs, tubas, and black-and-white photographs. Some might really like this; I thought it was a bit over-stuffed.

The main issue I had at the Siam was the over-bearing presence of the staff: friendly but solicitous and borderline obsequious.

A simple breakfast order (at a time when the restaurant only had two other tables seated) was delivered incorrectly two times. Three different staff people became involved (ordering some eggs?), one of whom needed to make a phone call (?) to get things right. By the time the order came, one person had finished before the other could start eating.

The room was spacious and well appointed but generally dark. The wardrobe area (where you need to see to unpack and pack) is in a far corner with one recessed light, such that you can't see what you're doing. There are minimal light fixtures elsewhere in the room.

The air conditioning ran loud all night long and never did cool to the set temperature.

Bottom line - if you don't mind walking through Bangkok weather within the hotel and don't intend to leave the property, the Siam has very nice advantages. If these factors aren't to your liking, however, you might want to consider something else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
36 Thank TransConFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozzano, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very nice hotel, I must say! The room was big enough to accommodate all of us. Receptionists were good, and speak very well in english. The breakfast was excellent, and staff were very kind.. we will recommend this hotel to our friends and families. We would also like to thank all the staff, for the good hospitality and kindness that we've received during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

my partner and I stayed here 6 nights, while travelling through Thailand. About a year ago I had met Jason the General Manager, while he stayed as a guest at our property in Morocco. At the time he was telling about the construction, scale and detail of the premises; what an achievement!

The hotel is beautifully located on the river, the scale is impressive; old buildings mixed with contemporary architecture, the most beautiful antique pieces scattered around the hotel, which shows the love for the Tai history and culture.

The rooms are impressive; the smallest one is already immense with a separate seating area, a dream of a bathroom and the exact selection of amenities. The suite, we stayed the last 4 nights in is heaven, private pool with jet stream, a cool courtyard, private roof terrace to sunbathe, the most luxurious bed and a bathroom you want to move into.

Then about the food: you'll have to taste it all, from the exquisite breakfast menu to the dinner menu. What a beautiful fresh products and you can taste the love it has been created with.

From the chauffeur, to the receptionist (who straight away takes you to the room without any hassle at the desk, brilliant after a long flight!) to the staff in restaurant and housekeeping; all polite, attentive, with a great eye for detail and so, so friendly. Glasses of iced water handed to you without asking, wet, scented hand towels, several times a day, what a delight.

The only problem with staying at The Siam: you don't want to leave so we haven't seen enough of Bangkok but fully relaxed and enjoyed The hotel.

As a frequent traveller a say to you looking for a hotel: go and stay there, as a fellow hotelier I say to all of you at The Siam: Bravo and thank you for a wonderful time

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willemadriaansmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

It might be out of town but what a joy to come back to after the hectic pace of the city. It is absolutely gorgeous! The hotel has totally modern facilities but harks back to the past with wonderful ancient treasures decorating its hallways, corridors and rooms. It has been decorated with meticulous care, for the pleasure of guests. The attention to detail is awesome and the rooms and villas are simply beautiful. The riverside location provides a wonderful setting for poolside drinks and sundowners. The staff are attentive and friendly. We loved our short stay and will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is, quite simply, the best hotel I've ever stayed in, visited or seen. Everything about it is amazing---stunning rooms that are huge and incredibly appointed, phenomenal service, and common areas that must be seen to be believed. I would fly across the world just to stay in this paradise. Oh, and the spa is world class, too. Bangkok is a little overwhelming, but this is a perfect antidote for that chaos. I will forever remember my stay here!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaiguy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#2 of 823 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 stars 1,316 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 823 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 3,541 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siam

Property: The Siam
Address: 3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Dusit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 823 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Siam 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 3 acres of verdant frontage along the city side of the Chao Praya River, The Siam is a private urban luxury resort located in Bangkok's Royal Dusit district. The Siam features 39 of the capital's most spacious suites and pool villas as well as a uniquely historical Thai House, Connie's Cottage. All rooms are outfitted with plush furnishings, super-sized king beds and lofty ceilings. Each suite is individually designed with original turn of the century oriental artwork and antiquities and is catered for by a personal butler. Complimentary WiFi is available property-wide. Guests have an array of superlative amenities at their fingertips: restaurants, cooking school, bar, café, Opium Spa, gym, yoga terrace, Muay Thai boxing ring, beauty salon, library/cinema, infinity pool, gift/antiques gallery, conservatory and traditional Thai houses. The Siam is a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing