We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
travelinhobo_10
Yuma, Arizona

Good deal for the price

Review of De Talak Hostel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 2, 2012
This is one of the few cheap hostels in Bangkok (200 baht). I've been here a few nights now and it is pretty quiet both during the day and at night. But it depends on the guests, as the first night I was here, some door kept banging shut and then at 2am a woman checked out of the room and half an hour later someone else checked in! There are a few dogs in the immediate neighborhood, but they only seem to bark when given a reason to, though it does happen in the middle of the night. Rooms are spacious, not filled with as many beds as possible (at least not the women's dorm). And yes, these beds are hard, but I've been able to sleep on them. Clean enough I suppose. Wi-fi is very good. Be warned that the kitchen area only contains a microwave, full fridge and toaster oven - no stove. So you can't cook. The only real complaints I have are with the t.p. and the woman who seems to control the desk 24/7. She's a hard person, not real friendly, rather on the rude side. And if you check in for several nights while they're busy on a particular night, you'll probably be told to move to a different room. Lord knows why.
Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Traveled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
1.6 miles from De Talak Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.1 miles from De Talak Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.0 miles from De Talak Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
2.9 miles from De Talak Hostel
Free parking
Pool
2.8 miles from De Talak Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.0 miles from De Talak Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.1 miles from De Talak Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
2.7 miles from De Talak Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
1.4 miles from De Talak Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Bangkok
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
49
63
18
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
49
63
18
3
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 135 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

even the bed is not as comfort as the 1 in your home, but the surroundings is good. the terrace outside the hostel is just good enough to have an 'international' talk with others.
free coffee, free wi-fi, and if you are lucky, they will cook local foods for free, too.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohd_yiyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed in three different guesthouses and hostels at or close (~ 5-10 min. walk) to kao san and I still got the feeling that everything is about the infamous backpacker mekka.

The De Talak Hostel offers a friendly and relaxing alternative to backpackers with a limited budget (200 THB for 1 Night in 6er-Dorm). The manager and the staff are speaking pretty good english and are happy to help you out with getting around, organizing tours/activities.

They have a really cosy living room/relax area/computers to use in the second floor. A kitchen/laundry room on the ground floor and some nice tips for alternative things to todo in Bangkok. On saturdays they invite guests for a small thai cooking course (admission free).

If you have already been to kao san and banglamphu this offers a nice alternative to avoid the crowds. Right now my favourite low budget place in Bangkok.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregoryIgelmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My friends and i -3girls- stayed here for 3 nights at 6 dorm bed. Its little bit hard to find at night and in middle of neighbourhood. I try to ring bell but no one answer but thanks god one of guest saw us standing in front door. Check in smooth, room quite nice, bed bit hard but its ok. No reading light and i have to share socket with my friend since i didnt get any. Wifi fast, 3 computers, lounge area with tv and movies, books. Kitchen with microwave, hot water, drinking water, fridge, tea-coffee all day.. Alot of food corner and near to local market.
You got my recomended and will stay here again. Thank you de talak.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Very nice staff, very friendly owner. Feels like a family. Complimentary Ice-cream (very nice). Clean facility and room. Good AC. Goo TV. Very nice relaxed lounge on second floor. Nice and complimentary Wi-FI internet. KITCHEN!!! So you can cook! Tesco and Big C 15 min walk. LRt - 10 min walk. Nice location. Good value for Bangkok for 500 bath per night for private room for 2.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DmitryP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed in the dorm room and it was a nice experience, people were friendly and the room had AC and a balcony. And also free WIFI was available. Each room had shower and a toilet, everything was clean and no insects or other problems what so ever. The hostel wasn't in the center of Bangkok but im sure that noone really wants to stay in the center due the lack of fresh air and terrible streetnoise. The neighbourhood was quiet and streets were full foodplaces organised by local people. Although the place wasn't so easy to find I recommend taking a metro and then take a tuk tuk or taxi to avoid difficulties getting there because the weather is hot and the bags aren't usually light.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElRudolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews