We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent happy hour deal and good food”
Review of Zuma

Zuma
Ranked #85 of 10,793 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $73
Cuisines: Bar, Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: ZUMA, located at famous pathumwan/lumpini area in bangkok, brings chef rainer becker's internationally acclaimed style of modern japenese cuisine to Thailand. already renowned in london, hong kong, istanbul, dubai, miami, abu dhabi datca peninsula, new york and rome offers a sophisticated cuisine philosophy of flavorsome, modern Japanese dishes in a fun and vibrant environment inspired by the informal dining style called izakaya. the menu is comprehensive and alluring. dishes are authentic but not traditional with bold, intense flavors and an emphasis on simple presentation acquired through quality ingredients. izakaya style means that dishes are designed to be shared at the table.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent happy hour deal and good food”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is the ideal place for a relaxed evening with friends. We usually book a table in the outside area, close to the DJ booth. Next to some very good cocktails (such as the smoke infused whisky), they have a great happy hour deal. Food is very good (I'm a big fan of the calamari) and if you are a bit careful, prices are quite reasonable. Portions are not big, but the quality of the ingredients is excellent. If you are looking for a "hip" place serving good food and drinks, try Zuma.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    127
    51
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Japanese food but so-so service”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Been heard a lot of the restaurant and always wanted to try until last Bangkok trip. Stylish and well decorated. Love the live kitchen and the busy chefs ambience... somehow i felt they got more staff than guests... We walked in without reservations. We asked for outside table and the hostess put us right behind the only table in the whole restaurant and excused that other tables been reserved which we were not really ok but the hostess insisted. After half of the bottle of wine we asked to be move inside for dinner. And again we have been seated right behind the door and the bar where people walked by.... Then we ordered our dinner with 8 great dishes. The dish that made my night was the sashimi sea bass with truffle sauce. Perfect flavour and hard to forget. Another one that I recommend to order is beef tartar. Great presentation with the big ice bucket and served with crispy seaweed which i found new great combo beef and seaweed...yum! Other dishes were simply delicious like tempuras and bbq ribs. Five stars food all the way... unfortunately the service was a bit too elegant ... we didn't even have a staff to wait our table, just few random staff that we had to call to get service. By the way, I would say this is my best japanese fine dinning so far. We would love to come back, but the service make us think twice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naksuwannasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere. But you can't eat atmosphere. Try their cod instead.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The place was stylish, trendy, hip, cool, slightly pretentious, 'seen and to be seen' place to go to. I was seating outside, with a large group of biz colleagues. The service was overly friendly but it was better than bad service. The food was alright, but thank God for their Cod. Almost as good as Nobu's black cod. The rest of the food we ordered were pretty much, sorry, forgettable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulSidharta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Japanese restaurant”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The architectural setting in this restaurant is fantastic and I think there were three different kitchen areas which looked great as well. The food and service was fantastic and our table of four adult people decided to share lots of different meals - and all the food was awesome....without exception. I would recommend this restaurant to all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_0f_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Japanese delight”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were staying at the St. Regis and so we decided to try Zuma. It was a good choice because of the quality of the food and the atmosphere. There is a bar in the restaurant and music was playing. It can get loud. The service was prompt and the food tasty & fresh.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zuma also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Zuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing