We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Experience in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loog Choob Homestay
Ranked #6 of 650 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience in Bangkok”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed 4 nights, one night too long, in Bangkok before heading to the islands. What made our stay was Loog Choob Homestay. It was an oasis, beautiful, peaceful and the staff so warm and accommodating. We had a junior suite and it was luxurious!
We will definitely go back to Thailand, but will only stay in Bangkok for a few nights and it will definitely be at Loog Choob!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j7jhanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    31
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
136
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Had a great time, lovely place and helpful friendly staff, went to the duck noodle café and enjoyed it very much, we also walked from Loog Choob to the Grand Palace through back streets was brilliant! We did have a little trouble with getting a cab back from Asiatique the attendance helped find us one eventually, but were warned about this and would happily stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zipsterval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

A lot has been written about Loog Choob so it is hard to add too much that is new. We spent two wonderful nights in the family suite at the end of a four month long round the world trip. Loog Choob was a lovely haven of peace, quiet and relaxation - just the tonic for a tired family from Australia on our way home. In fact, it was like a home away from home and my wife was tempted to stay on longer simply because it was so special. Loog Choob is a small, family run homestay in a reasonably quiet part of Bangkok, not far from the old city. It has been stylishly and lovingly restored and its architectural and interior design are very contemporary but exceptionally comfortable. Furthermore, there is a generosity of spirit displayed by its owners that puts a smile on your face. They provide water, snacks and are a wealth of information, never seeming to tire of questions that must test their patience. Stay at Loog Choob!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed in Loog Choob just before New Year2013/14 with our three children and another family. We could not have asked for more from our hosts Nippon and Yongyut. The rooms were impeccably presented and the common areas were an absolute winner for families.

The hosts were extremely helpful in every way, making restaurant reservations for us, giving us directions and advice, coralling taxis and tuk tuks at the right price.

We liked the fact that this was not on a glitzy strip, we were in the middle of real Bangkok and offered an absolute oasis of welcome and calm.

We plan to use Loog Choob again and will recommend it to anyone looking for value, five star comforts and that bit of warmth and reality you just cant get in a more mainstream accommodation.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for the family suite and/or junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnomob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I loved Loog Choob for its architecture, the friendliness and courtesy of our hosts, and its authentically Thai surroundings.

The hotel, designed by the owner's nephew, is one of the most beautiful and functional spaces I've stayed in. You will want to spend as much time as you can there to absorb the restfulness!

The hotel is self-service and you are largely left to your own devices. However it is well stocked with anything you might need and Yongyuk, the owner, and his (other) nephew, will respond to any request with the utmost helpfulness.

What's more, you are within a few minutes' walk of one of Bangkok's oldest food markets and an awesome fruit market - perfect for breakfast and those random mango cravings! When you check in you get a map of the food market with all the best stalls pencilled in.

The hotel is on a (relatively) quiet canal-side street between Lang Luang and Nakhon Sawan roads. As you go up in the hotel's quirky elevator you might see some Thai kids playing racket ball in the back alley. At the markets you'll be surrounded by Thais doing their grocery shopping and eating lunch. Khao San road it ain't!

Two recommendations. The location is central but it can be tricky to describe to taxi drivers. Mentioning Nakhon Sawan road or Mahanak (the area) usually did the trick for us.

We stayed in two rooms - a basic twin and the rather more lavish family suite. I actually preferred the twin room for its more efficient design and because it has an enclosed balcony that keeps out early morning street noise and the Mosquitos - I'm a light sleeper. (If a mosquito does get in the rooms come with electric swatters.) On the flipside, the family suite has an exceptionally beautiful outdoor patio - those mangos just taste better there!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felix D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I booked this guest house after reading the many fabulous reviews on Trip Advisor and it completely exceeded my expectations.
The family that run this wonderful little guest house really go above and beyond to make their guests stay one to remember, they are warm, helpful and vibrant people.
The décor, cleanliness and quality of the interior and exterior is fabulous. This is a real hidden gem in a quieter local neighbourhood of Bangkok, but very close to many great temples and bustling markets.
I will definitely stay here again and be sure to tell all my friends and family to do the same.
Thank you Loog Choob, you have set a very high standard for the rest of my trip in Thailand and I am very grateful.
Holly from Sydney, Australia :)

Room Tip: The suites are worth the extra $$$ and are truly exceptional, even as a solo traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyGal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed at Loog Choob for a week in November 2013...it was an absolutely fabulous experience! Not only was the homestay welcoming, it was also quite unique. The architectural design was beautiful...a tranquil and peaceul setting in Bangkok. The family who owns and manages the property are so very kind and helpful...instantly made you feel at home and were very attentive to all our travel needs and requests for help on planning our daily itinerary. Meeting the Loog Choob family and staying in their homestay was a delightful experience and a highlight of our Southeastern Asian trip. Thank you so much for the wonderful memories!

Room Tip: Stayed in Junior Suite - spacious, well appointed, staff and amenities were beyond expectations!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank djj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#17 of 862 in Bangkok
1,691 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 862 in Bangkok
1,505 reviews
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 650 in Bangkok
529 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#4 of 650 in Bangkok
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loog Choob Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loog Choob Homestay

Property: Loog Choob Homestay
Address: 463/5-8 Loog Luang Road | Si Yaek Mahanak, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Dusit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 650 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Loog Choob Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to experience the real lifestyle of Thai people but to stay in a place as comfortable as a luxury hotel in a much cheaper price? LooG Choob is a perfect answer for you. Loog Choob is a unique designed homestay, renovated from shophouses, a common residence for Bangkokian. Our well-furnished facilities definitely make you feel the most relaxed after roaming around the busy Bangkok. It is in a quiet residential area with a view of canal side. Local markets, foodshops, and shophouses are plenty in the neighborhood. Moreover, the major attraction tourist sites are very easily to be reached by walk or taxi. "Feel like a 5 star hotel with lots of family touches." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Loog Choob Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing