We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly homely and lovely experience in crazy Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loog Choob Homestay
Ranked #4 of 643 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly homely and lovely experience in crazy Bangkok”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I booked this guest house after reading the many fabulous reviews on Trip Advisor and it completely exceeded my expectations.
The family that run this wonderful little guest house really go above and beyond to make their guests stay one to remember, they are warm, helpful and vibrant people.
The décor, cleanliness and quality of the interior and exterior is fabulous. This is a real hidden gem in a quieter local neighbourhood of Bangkok, but very close to many great temples and bustling markets.
I will definitely stay here again and be sure to tell all my friends and family to do the same.
Thank you Loog Choob, you have set a very high standard for the rest of my trip in Thailand and I am very grateful.
Holly from Sydney, Australia :)

Room Tip: The suites are worth the extra $$$ and are truly exceptional, even as a solo traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyGal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    31
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
135
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed at Loog Choob for a week in November 2013...it was an absolutely fabulous experience! Not only was the homestay welcoming, it was also quite unique. The architectural design was beautiful...a tranquil and peaceul setting in Bangkok. The family who owns and manages the property are so very kind and helpful...instantly made you feel at home and were very attentive to all our travel needs and requests for help on planning our daily itinerary. Meeting the Loog Choob family and staying in their homestay was a delightful experience and a highlight of our Southeastern Asian trip. Thank you so much for the wonderful memories!

Room Tip: Stayed in Junior Suite - spacious, well appointed, staff and amenities were beyond expectations!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank djj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I spent a New Year Eve at Loog Choob last year. It may not be the biggest or fanciest hotel you can find in Bangkok. But the experience you got was really worth the money you paid. Actually the price is quite lower compared to other boutique hotels in central Bangkok. On the rooftop on ney year eve night, I could see fireworks from all over the city. Although it was not that huge and impressive, I kinda like the calm ad quite atmosphere of the place. I could see fireworks from afar. That's good in a way. Another impressive ting is that they have an elevator. The owner also gave us a map of recommended restaurants when we leave. I can say that it was truly a best hotel I ever visited in my life. If i have a friend coming to town in the future, I'll definitely recommend the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chutchutchut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

When I first entered Loog Choob Homestay, I walked out again and checked the name. It is incredibly creative and fancy architecture. I don't call it homestay. I may say it is boutique hotel. It was once a shady typical building and this family bought the house and his smart brother designed and renovated it into this amazing shape.

You may pay a bit more to stay at Loog Choob Homestay compared to other guest houses or homestays, but I believe it is worth it until the last cent you may pay because this place is simply awesome due to awesome people as well as the awesome architecture. They helped me a lot for my itinerary even at night and again in the following morning. And with a smile away.

What could I say more about this Loog Choob where both people and the place are perfectly nice? Thank you Loog Choob for everything! It was amazing! =)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kukjineee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Loob choob. Highly recommend them!! the family is so wonderful. the house is simply amazing. our room was lovely. Whne I return to Bangkok I will for sure stay there again. When we first got there we wanted to run off to the big weekend market and yong gave us a ride to the mrt and showed us how to get back. Felt like one of the family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ckeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights recently and I came away enamored with everything but the location. The family who run the place are very friendly, speak great English, didn't mind staying up late for our arrival, and had lots of helpful suggestions about food and other points of interest in the area (ask about the duck noodle stall in the market!). They also helped us navigate the terrible traffic and closed streets that accompanied the protests happening while we were there.

The house/hotel itself is very tastefully decorated in a modern, minimalist style. Comfortable bed, plenty of space, modern bathroom, some breakfast items in the common room every morning. The one downside to our stay was the location. First, and this is admittedly a temporary problem, is that the house is very close to Government House, where the protests were happening, and we had to deal with a) bad traffic, and b) the uncertainty of walking past protesters and police in riot gear. This was while the protests were still peaceful, too -- not sure what the situation is now. Second, a more permanent problem: the location is in a no-man's land between the tourist quarter by the water (Khao San, Grand Palace, and surroundings) and the fancy high-rises of the Sukumvhit and Lumphini Park areas. Maybe this is good, if you consider that you're halfway between the two and you want to see both, but if you're going to spend most of your time in one of these areas the home's location is not terribly convenient.

In the scheme of things this was a minor issue, and we had a wonderful time at Loog Choob. Welcoming, helpful, clean, and great value -- I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to someone visiting Bangkok, as long as they're ok hailing taxis.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have stayed here for 5 days and had great chats with Loog Choob's family members. They are open minded to listen whatever we suggested for their rooms or services. Looking forward to visiting Loog Choob and staying at their nearly come true plan in the near future.

Room Tip: Every single room in Loog Choob has it's own character. Go try every one and then you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#17 of 858 in Bangkok
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 643 in Bangkok
521 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#5 of 643 in Bangkok
425 reviews
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,192 in Bangkok
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loog Choob Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loog Choob Homestay

Property: Loog Choob Homestay
Address: 463/5-8 Loog Luang Road | Si Yaek Mahanak, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Dusit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 643 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Loog Choob Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to experience the real lifestyle of Thai people but to stay in a place as comfortable as a luxury hotel in a much cheaper price? LooG Choob is a perfect answer for you. Loog Choob is a unique designed homestay, renovated from shophouses, a common residence for Bangkokian. Our well-furnished facilities definitely make you feel the most relaxed after roaming around the busy Bangkok. It is in a quiet residential area with a view of canal side. Local markets, foodshops, and shophouses are plenty in the neighborhood. Moreover, the major attraction tourist sites are very easily to be reached by walk or taxi. "Feel like a 5 star hotel with lots of family touches." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your Loog Choob Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing