We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay at Loog Choob Homestay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loog Choob Homestay
Ranked #6 of 652 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay at Loog Choob Homestay”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My fiancee & I stayed at the Loog Choob during May '13 as part of our 3 week trip around SE Asia.

We flew into Bangkok, so spent 1 night at the Loog Choob before heading up to Chiang Mai on the train. We organised to have our train tickets delivered to the Loog Choob, which were presented to us upon arrival as expected - a good start!

We then spent 3 weeks travelling around SE Asia before returning to the Loog Choob for 2 nights before flying back to the UK.

The rooms were perfect - comfy bed, but most importantly excellent air conditioning!

The owners spoke perfect English, and were more than happy to recommend local places to eat, call a taxi, recommend places to visit etc.

As other people have mentioned, grab a beer from the fridge downstairs and pop onto the roof for a birds eye view of Bangkok.

When I come back to Bangkok, I'll be coming back to the Loog Choob!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    31
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
136
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
anglesea, australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We only stayed here one night but were very, very impressed. The rooms are great, so clean and very modern. This is a terrific alternative to a hotel. Bangkok hotels are often crowded and noisy. Loog Choob is quiet and relaxing. The bonus is the the family that own the Homestay. They are so very helpful. As an example my adult son arrived in Bangkok late evening after a long flight from Germany. The young owner accompanied him to a nearby restaurant. Go up onto the rooftop for an evening drink. Whenever we visit Bangkok Loog Choob will be our number one choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gEOff54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Loog Choob has an interesting story behind its name that brother and sister Yut or Sukanya can share, but in short, the words in Thai reflect the concept of renewal and re-purposing of a building owned by their mother on the designs and concepts created by their architect brother. Situated in a mostly residential area away from the maddening crowd of mainstreet touristville, the Loog Choob is a boutique small hotel that offers quality, well appointed rooms with common areas and kitchen services nestled in several places and a roof top lounge with a pleasant view. The A/C common lounge has comfy couch, tables and a wide selection of DVDs, books... and the nice touch of a piano and a guitar.

At 1700THB for a twin/double room, it's a reasonable price and not more than a short taxi ride to downtown or the Grand Palace. The Nan Leong market is nearby offering up all types of local wares and food options. As we clocked in at 6.30 am straight from overnight flight from Melbourne, Yut's recommendation for breakfast became our morning ritual (if three mornings is a ritual!) Starting any day with the the most delicate steamed buns with awesome filing options and good quality dim sum is my idea of a good start. Evening meal options in the local area is a-plenty if you like to eat on the street, a tad thin on the ground if you are after a wide range of restaurants - it is residential area after all. Get in a taxi and head to the river or downtown if that's your thing.

Yut's performance as a concierge was flawless. The Loog Choob's pre-prepared sheets for all the main attractions with directions and information written in Thai for taxi drivers made life simple, but Yut hand wrote information for lesser known venues and even tracked down a tailor for me that I used 15 years ago.

Such service was reflected from the initial booking contact and the subsequent email update before we left when changes to room availability and options were provided. Btw, this is a cash only reality for payment.

We are in our early 50s (what? how did that happen?!) and shall return to the Loog Choob when we next visit BKK... if the secret stays between us and others who have stayed at the Loog and there might be a room still available!

Room Tip: Every room appears to be well appointed and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hyphen3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

,We stayed at Loog Choob for 3 days in early December at the start of our 6 weeks travel in South East Asia and then one night in Janury on our return. Our first stay was a perfect start to our journey, very comfortable, peaceful, friendly and the latter was like coming home before we return home. We agree with all positive comments written by other reviewers. Yut, Su and the family were always very friendly and sincerely happy to help. It was always ver clean. Su lent us one of their laptops which was very useful for our searches for the next step of our journey. We are vegetarian and we sometimes found it difficult to find vegetarian food. Yut very kindly brought us vegetarian dumplings on our last day as we had a very early flight. His uncle was very helpful to arrange a vegetarian restaurant.

We also loved the design and decor of the building. It is modern, stylish, very comfortable. Everthing is thoughtfully designed.

We would recommend Loog Choob to anyone who will visit Bangkok and if we go to Bangkok again, it will definitely be our choice.

Yut and the family, thank you for being such fantastic hosts...
Esin - Ahmet

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Esin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Loog Choop was a fantastic place to stay for our three days in Bangkok. The guesthouse is amazingly well designed, clean, the rooms are well set out, everything has been thoughtfully designed with the guest in mind. The family who staff the guest house assisted us with everything we needed. The rooftop is a fantastic bonus for sunset drinks. We tried many of the restaurants and street food recommended by the owners which were excellent. Highly recommended for travellers who like to stay in guesthouse accommodation and experience the real Bangkok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaunagh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This place is simply excellent. Exceptionally clean, very modern, very comfortable and the place feels like home for a couple of days.

Don't be out off by lack of breakfast provided because you can get small boxes of cereal at the 7 Eleven or delicious fresh fruit from the market close by. There are bowls and spoons at the homestay for you to use.

The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful, taking lots of time to recommend places to go and how to get there. Without even being asked, the owner wrote instructions for us to get the bus to our next destination with Thai translation in case we had to ask for help.

You will not find better in Bangkok, so don't bother considering anywhere else :-)

If you are sensitive to noise, I advise you take ear plugs as it is a city, and there is noise from early morning.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurablue6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed for one night, but loved the place. Very clean and modern rooms, lovely owners who went out of their way to help us order dinner and get a taxi. Not particularly central for most of the tourist attractions, but provides a good chance to visit some local restaurants and sights. The rooftop is beautiful.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanryan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#18 of 863 in Bangkok
1,693 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 863 in Bangkok
1,505 reviews
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 652 in Bangkok
532 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#4 of 652 in Bangkok
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loog Choob Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loog Choob Homestay

Property: Loog Choob Homestay
Address: 463/5-8 Loog Luang Road | Si Yaek Mahanak, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Dusit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 652 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Loog Choob Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to experience the real lifestyle of Thai people but to stay in a place as comfortable as a luxury hotel in a much cheaper price? LooG Choob is a perfect answer for you. Loog Choob is a unique designed homestay, renovated from shophouses, a common residence for Bangkokian. Our well-furnished facilities definitely make you feel the most relaxed after roaming around the busy Bangkok. It is in a quiet residential area with a view of canal side. Local markets, foodshops, and shophouses are plenty in the neighborhood. Moreover, the major attraction tourist sites are very easily to be reached by walk or taxi. "Feel like a 5 star hotel with lots of family touches." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Loog Choob Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing