We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hostel! just go there :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Siam Journey Guesthouse
Ranked #71 of 1,192 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Passau, Germany
2 reviews
“excellent hostel! just go there :)”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

been there in march for a couple of nights with my girlfriend. great accommodation! everythings clean and in mint condition! the people working there are also really nice and helpful when you come up with questions or asking for advice. if i ever will come back to bangkok, this is the place to be on a backpackers budget! :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
11
65
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I didn't actually get to stay here but I couldn't be happier with the customer service offered by this hostel. Not only do you get an email from their staff immediately after booking, but they even have a video with directions on how to get there from the train station. Great people, great service. I have heard nothing but amazing things about this hostel!

They are right next to the airport link so perfect for budget travelers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrysann_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed here for three nights. I stayed in both the four bed dorm and the 10 bed dorm. I'd go with the 10, there is more overall space. The 4 bed had a lower ceiling and is farther from the bathroom, which is on the first floor. The lockers are outside the room and are a good size for valuables but not for your packs. There is little space to put your packs in either dorm but that's pretty par for SE Asia hostels. My biggest complaint about this place is the directions, they are just wrong and outdated. I used hostel world to book and they are wrong on the website. The hostel will send you a pdf with a map and "directions" but you can't read the map, and there are no walking directions on it. They are more for if you take a taxi. The address is not listed in English on this sheet either, only is Thai. I fully intend to write up accurate directions and email them to them. I think they would save themselves a lot of trouble if they put up accurate directions. Guests arrived frazzled and angry and that can easily be avoided. They say call if you get lost but to be honest, someone is not always there to pick up the phone.
The neighborhood is cool and the BTS (skytrain) is very close and convenient. It's a very socia place and someone is always doing something that you can join in. The pictures on this site and on hostelworld are a little outdated. They look like they were taken when they first opened and didn't have anything on the walls. It seems most of their internet items need to be updated.
This is a good place if you are trying to get a different perspective from the normal backpacker scene in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Go for the 10 bed dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ihavethewanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here just before leaving Thailand after a few months traveling. Was in a great location for the airport link(so ideal for coming to or going from Bangkok, it was a 5 min walk from Phaya Thai station) and the MBK shopping center. The staff were excellent, they went out of their way to look up anything I asked about and steered me right on where to go in Bangkok, how much it would cost to get there and everything in between. Found the atmosphere very friendly and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TommyMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful, the location is great. The rooms are rather small, but very clean. It's a great place to meet new people, or to find out more about Bangkok by receiving or sharing helpful tips.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paknampran
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have to admit that the room was clean and not expensive. But since it was my fourth time in a hostel in Bangkok I know what to expect. And this one was nothing special. Neither the location nor the bed or the service was outstanding.
But honestly it wasn't bad and I don't wan't to harm them with an insincere review. That is why I rated it 4*.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Der-Bonvivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The staff was great, very helpful and friendly. They make the hostel environment just perfect to meet new people and make you feel like at home. They take you to real thai restaurants and resolve all your doubts. The room and baths were really clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuillermoSoler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
#30 of 1,192 in Bangkok
353 reviews
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,192 in Bangkok
702 reviews
Boxpackers Hostel
#8 of 1,192 in Bangkok
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,192 in Bangkok
979 reviews
In a Box Hostel
#94 of 1,192 in Bangkok
85 reviews
Banglamphu
Back Home Backpackers
Back Home Backpackers
#43 of 1,192 in Bangkok
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam Journey Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Journey Guesthouse

Property: Siam Journey Guesthouse
Address: 164/68 Soi Nom Chit | Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 1,192 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Siam Journey Guesthouse 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Siam Journey Guesthouse! Located in a real Thai neighbourhood with amazing street food and a unique atmosphere, Siam Journey hopes to show you a different side to Bangkok than the other more touristy areas in the city. We have 10 bed dorm, 8 bed dorm and 4 bed dorm in a small guesthouse in Bangkok. Your room will have A/C, secured lockers and towels included. We also have free hi-speed wireless internet to make planning your onward trip that bit easier. Our focus is on quality over quantity! We are a small guesthouse so there is a more personal atmosphere where guests and staff get to know each other more than they would in larger places. Our first floor has 2 common areas where you can relax, make new friends and have a great time with us and the other guests. We have card-games (Poker, Uno, Monopoly), and movie nights weekly! We also have a rooftop area for our guests. We would like to make you feel as comfortable staying with us as you would feel in your own home. The guesthouse is located in central Bangkok. It's just a 5 minutes walk from the Airport Rail Link (SRT) and the BTS Sky Train. Easy access to Siam, MBK, Victory monument, pubs and restaurants. Since we are located in central Bangkok, exploring the city and it's numerous attractions is very convenient from Siam Journey. We have well traveled staff who are ready to answer your questions and help you in any way possible. We can give you advice about places to go in Bangkok, how to get there and how to get to the next place on your trip. We take guests out a lot for drinks, food, live music and parties, so there is always something to do here! Come join us in our journey through Siam and all its amazing and wonderful places! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Siam Journey Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing