We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rudest hotel staff I've ever encountered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Princess Suvarnabhumi Airport Residence
Ranked #692 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rudest hotel staff I've ever encountered”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I's 1.5 day stay ended in a shouting match in the lobby because they insisted we needed to pay for a triple room after a friend that lives in Bangkok came to meet us for coffee at the hotel before we left for the airport to catch our flight. She spent maybe 10 minutes maximum in our room.

They eventually backed down, but not before both of the "ladies" behind the front desk had properly screamed at us at the top of their lungs. While the manager made insulting personal comments about us in Thai assuming that we couldn't understand her.

I have travelled all of the world and have stayed in every class of hotel, but I have never in my life witnessed such appalling behaviour.

This is after they flatly refused to help us find a taxi and insisted that we use their private transport service which would have cost us 5x the amount of the taxi fare to the airport.

And to top it off their internet was almost unusably slow and the water barely warm.

The only nice thing about our stay were the funny cleaning ladies.

There are MUCH better airport hotels for the same price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank bxfresh220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    33
    22
    10
    25
See reviews for
15
25
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I checked in here yesterday as I fly back to the UK tonight. This new and modern hotel is ideal in a lovely position overlooking the river. There is a good sized swimming pool and the rooms are modern and very large. Pricewise an incredible deal at 450 baht (£9). There is a traditional Thai restaurant on the banks of the river serving excellent food. Also the hotel is in easy walking distance of a Tesco Express and a Big C Mini. Check in with Khun Nong the friendly young lady on reception was quick and efficient. I reckon I was in my room within five minutes of entering the hotel. Very impressed and would certainly consider staying here again should the need arise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herbalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackenzie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We landed in Bangkok and were convinced by a taxi this was a better place. We were new and easily tricked. The walk in price was $60 and the stay was horrible there was banging outside the door and at one point someone was leaning against our door pushing on it. Beds felt like box springs. Then when we went to leave the front desk negotiated us a taxi for a great deal 800baht for a 20min drive. Learned our lesson our first night in Bangkok . I would recommend keeping away from here

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Wince88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed one night, was what we expected, large room, two large beds, clean, basic and good value for what we paid, £16.00 per room. Would be nice if reception staff actually smiled and acknowledged you when checking you in and out!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gasan2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was picked up without issue, but the ride to the hotel took an hour for some reason. I read reviews about a 15 minute ride, but experienced no such thing. This was a real pain considering i was picked up around 1am. it's also worth noting that its an expensive, 1 hour ride to the heart of Bangkok. Pass on this one.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daestrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
390 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We booked via Agoda £15.04 as required a 24hr stop-off in Bangkok en-route to Ko Samui. Arrived 0825 via taxi cost 200B, a 14 minute ride. Check-in was 11.00 but Bond at reception got us a room (5th floor 520) at 08.55 - what a star!! Room was large, clean, bedding fine - hot shower and free water x 2. Overlooked river. It was very quiet and pleasant. Beds hard as usual - but all good. We ate dinner t their restaurant - again good, reasonably priced food (rice and noodles). Service was great and location opposite temple on the river was perfect.We also had breakfast there - buffet 160B - juice, coffee/tea plus buffet rice, veggies plus toast etc. again all good! We also got the free transfer to the airport included as promised by return. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 5th floor appears quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed one night on the 1st November 2013 thought I'd stay near the airport and save a few quid just before inmate way for home back to my lovely country the UK. Firstly they charged me 2500 baht for one night which I thought was expensive for a 2 star hotel. Staff at reception not helpful really rude and it really don't help when no one speaks anything else other than Thai. I had a double room on the fifth floor it was good to see an operational lift. They do have wi fi but it's like non operational from your room. Stains on the beddings, no face towels, tv with all channels in Thai except one. Breakfast was appalling, few fruits some white bread jam and rice and two curries. Noisy surroundings and to top it up airport transfers are free but now and then the driver disappears to see his girlfriend although u book a time for it. The only English speaking staff I met had the audacity to tell me well u need to go to airport only two hour why you go now sit. I would not recommend this hotel as it is really diagusting, my wife was not impressed and it made her whole trip sour because unfortunately we had to spend one night at this dump. I would recommend for budget stay to go to Mareeya Boutique a minute away from this place closer to hotel cheaper to stay and much much more comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MO4RMIG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
4.2 mi away
Airy Resort
Airy Resort
#422 of 858 in Bangkok
322 reviews
1.1 mi away
Silver Gold Garden Suvarnabhumi Airport Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
#363 of 858 in Bangkok
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Suphan Lake Hometel
Suphan Lake Hometel
#430 of 858 in Bangkok
102 reviews
5.4 mi away
Siam Place Airport Hotel
Siam Place Airport Hotel
#537 of 858 in Bangkok
230 reviews
1.5 mi away
Great Residence Hotel
Great Residence Hotel
#657 of 858 in Bangkok
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Suvarnabhumi Airport Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Suvarnabhumi Airport Residence

Property: Princess Suvarnabhumi Airport Residence
Address: 594/18 Onnut-Lat Krabang Rd | Tapyao, Bangkok 10520, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #692 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Suvarnabhumi Airport Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princess Suvarnabhumi Airport Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing