We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top tips for visiting Soi Cowboy”
Review of Soi Cowboy

Soi Cowboy
Ranked #71 of 552 things to do in Bangkok
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
224 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,417 helpful votes
“Top tips for visiting Soi Cowboy”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Tip 1: Do not give any eye contact to anyone when you are about to enter the street. There are taxi drivers, tuk tuk drivers and hotel guys touting business. Just ignore them!

Tip 2: there is no sign of no photo taking signboard therefore it is fine to use a camera and take a few snapshots of the bar girls. However please use it at your own risk and i would suggest you not to use it if you enter the bar.

Tip 3: As a female tourist, i entered the street with my partner and everyone thought that i am one of the girls working in one of the bars. Therefore i am going to give you a very special tip. Dress as touristy as you can. I was wearing a short black dress and everyone asked me if i am 'one of them'. I was not offended but i felt that if its for other female tourists, they would have been really offended.

Tip 4: female tourists can enter the bar too, we chose the last bar on the left side of the street. Something that starts with letter 'B'. As soon as you enter the bar, you can see young thai girls standing on a platform in the middle of the bar. I feel bad for these girls because they looked like they really don't want to be there but were forced to work in the industry in any case.

Tip 5: beer in the bar cost about 150 baht (£6) for a bottle. We didn't want to buy a drink but the bartender kept pushing us about buying drinks so we bought one and left after finishing our drinks.

Tip 6: some bars have happy hours for 70 baht a drink between 7.30pm to 9.30pm. Be there early if you want some cheap drinks.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelQueenie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    345
    214
    60
    56
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Go there for a dose of Thai sleaze”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Well, went there with a couple of friends. Beer is reasonably priced. Safer place to visit if you would like to check out the sleazy side of bangkok without really having to participate in it. Touts are not that pushy, have a drink and enjoy the gogo bars.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pocky_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman Governorate, Jordan
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun to be had!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Soi Cowboy is a neon strip that runs between Sukhumvit soi 21 and 23. I have been to soi Cowboy a few times (I live in bangkok) and I tend to take some of my family and friends who are visiting either here or to Patpong if they are interested in seeing this side of life in Bangkok. I find Nana Plaza quite dirty and overbearing, so my preference in this neighbourhood is definitely soi Cowboy for this type of entertainment. I generally begin at the soi 23 end as there are some quite good "normal" type bars along 23 that serve good food as well (there only seems to be one thing on the menu along cowboy). After entering cowboy, I like to go into Bacarra (1st bar on the left after entering from 23). After that, it is a lottery, although Susie Wong's (about half way down on the left) is interesting to say the least! There are acouple of bars at the 21 end that are more drinking establishments as opposed to go-go bars, although the girls are ever present no matter where you are on this strip. There are some funny little bars to the left of cowboy as you head up 21 towards the major intersection with Sukhumvit road and you can sit there and enjoy one last mong thong (Thai whiskey) before heading home (or somewhere else...). Good fun if you don't fall for the trap of believing you are actually the best looking bloke in the bar/world/universe...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank R0hanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Colourful”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Having lived here so long often these places become dull. But being that i do not go week in week out sometimes a trip to cowboy can still be fun. Certainly i would recommend it over nana and patpong if this is your bag.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank stbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUA HIN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top attraction for MEN”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Such a Eye opener for out of town Friends no such clubs in AUSTRALIA Had a great night with My 2 sons from AUST.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soi Cowboy also viewed

 

Been to Soi Cowboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing