We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast, efficient, clean and cheap”
Review of Airport Rail Link

Airport Rail Link
Ranked #2 of 68 Transportation in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Altos, California
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fast, efficient, clean and cheap”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

What's not to like? A taxi trip to my hotel took over an hour and cost 400 baht with the airport surcharge and tolls. The airport sky train was about 60 baht and took around 45 minutes.

There were demonstrations and riots during my Bangkok stay. Demonstrators closed roads and interchanges which make traffic even worse that it typically is in Bangkok. The sky train helped you by pass all of that congestion.

Is it easy? Well sorta. I'm not intuitive about mass transit. Several people had to help me on my journey but they did. Just look confused and someone is bound to help you. If not pull out a map and lint to where you want to go and even if they don't speak English they will help you or find someone who can. That's been my experience throughout Thailand.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,971
    2,873
    847
    198
    125
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fast and cheap”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

From 06.00-24.00 the Airport Rail Link is a great way to get from Suvarnabhumi to Phaya Thai, for only 45 baht.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrArCtiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“fast way to get into city or the airport”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Its a good way to travel between Bangkok city and the internationa aiport, especially if you have no luggage. You will save a lot of time as Bangkok traffic is always bad. I used it for both ways and saved a lot of time

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawson E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“works perfectly”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

the service is cheap and simply great. please be prepared for long walks if you need to connect to the metro or sky train

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SilviaMaria_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
1,302 reviews
792 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,044 helpful votes
“Time and Money savier.....”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

One of the best way to travel to and from airport. We used Rail Link service to travel from Makkasen to the airport and it’s an awesome service 15minutes and you inside the airport terminal. Whereas taxi would have taken roughly around 45min-60min depending on traffic.
The stations are clean and signboards are decent enough for one to make its way. Though it seems like it’s not fully operational.
Ticket wending machines are user friendly. The token are dispensed for the fare purchased. Frequency is excellent. Time displayed for the next arrival train is accurate.

We made the right decision not to travel by Taxi and opted for Airport Rail. Its inexpensive, save a lot of money and a lot of time!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nins_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Airport Rail Link also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Airport Rail Link? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing