We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Bangkok Day Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveler rating
522
48
12
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
48
12
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elephant camp tiger temple floating restaurant elephant tour floating market river kwai once in a lifetime private tour reclining seats riding elephants an amazing experience change of clothes picked up from our hotel big cats mini van great photos thai lunch
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Bonjour à tous, nous avons choisi l’excursion
Extraordinary Elephant Day Trip (Code:1506)
C’est très très cher mais à la fin de la journée on a tout de même bien compris pourquoi !
Mis à part le déjeuner en buffet très moyen le reste vallait vraiment le coup
Voici le planning :
Tour Programme:

Departs: 07:00
07:00 Pick up from Hotel
Please wait in the lobby of the hotel. Remember to take a change of clothes because you'll get wet bathing the elephants.

08:30 Floating Market Damnoen Saduak
The Floating Market is just a short detour on the way to Kanchanaburi and allows you the opportunity of taking a boat through the canal system. Please keep your hands inside the boat as there are many boats and we don't want you to jam your fingers. More...

09:30 Depart for Kanchanaburi Province

11:15 Bridge over the River Kwai
First stop in Kanchanaburi will be at the Bridge over the River Kwai. You can take a walk across the bridge but take care as there are no safety barriers. The local English-speaking guide will join you here. More...

12:00 Lunch in Local Thai Restaurant
We'll stop for lunch in a local Thai restaurant before heading out to the elephant camp.

13:30 Elephant Ride Bareback!
Elephants are much loved in Thailand and riding one is a unique experience. You'll sit on the elephant's neck! More...

14:00 Bathe Elephants in River Kwai
After the ride, you'll be able to carry on to the river where you can bathe the elephants. Be prepared to get wet and you will get some great experience and will never forgets with the elephant!!! More...

14:30 Depart for Bangkok
All good things must come to an end, so it's time to head back to the city.

18:00 Arrive back at Hotel
You can expect to be back at your hotel in Bangkok around 6:00 pm depending on the traffic.

Thank Nathalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is one Day tour you must experience. "Countryside canal Experience", from boarding local train to country side, to canal cruising, local lunch, visiting a family, what an experience. You will appreciate your life more after this tour. Definitely one of the tours you have to do.

Thank Collette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had a day trip to ride and swim with an elephant, and visit the bridge over the river Kwai. An amazing chance to interact with an animal that I haven't before! The buffet lunch was great too.

1  Thank ronrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took the 1506 Extraordinary Elephant Day Trip which went to the Floating market, Bridge on the River Kwai and the Elephant Camp. Our day started with a convenient pickup by an air-conditioned coach where snacks and drinks were provided while we travel by the friendly driver. Make sure to bring cash and do your shopping at the floating market as we proved they are cheaper than the prices in most Bangkok markets but be prepared to bargain most of the times (sometimes more than 50% of the asking price). Buy tropical fruits and Thai snacks there to last the rest of the road trip. We picked up our guide (Na) on the way to the Bridge of the River Kwai and she was very knowledgeable and friendly. She is an excellent photographer and took great pictures of our trip using our own smart phones and camera. The timing of our trip coincided with a holiday so the Bridge was pretty crowded but we had a chance to cross it halfway and decided to proceed to the buffet at the adjacent Floating Market. Food was great but you have to buy the drinks. Lastly, the Elephant Experience, riding it bareback (you could request a basket with a seatbelt if you are not comfortable) and bathing with them at the river was the best experience of all. The pics and reviews on their site best tells them all. We were exhausted but nevertheless very much satisfied. We were driven back to our hotel after a long but relaxing (we took a long nap) 4-hour drive enough for us to be well rested to get us ready for more evening activities. The fee (though pricey) was all worth it for this once in a lifetime experience and the excellent service we have received with Bangkok Day Tours.

2  Thank dodjiedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

There are MANY tours on the company's website, so I'll provide the title and code. We took the Tiger Cub @ Wildlife Sanctuary & Elephant Ride Day Trip (Code:1508)

A friend and I took this tour this week and had an absolute blast. It was definitely the highlight of our trip.

There is alot of driving involved, and they do ask you up front if you have any evening plans. Bangkok traffic can be quite overwhelming - taking as long as 45 minutes sometimes to go less than 3 km. So my advice to you would be to leave your evening open if you choose to take this tour. We did arrive back at our hotel as planned around 4:30 PM, but I wouldn't want to ruin an evening by getting stuck in traffic.

Our tour guide has 3 names, but of course I only remember the English name "Eight". Eight took good care of us, not to mention playing photographer as well as tour guide throughout our adventures.

The first stop is the Bridge over the river Kwai. This is a short stop filled with history. You may want to see the old movie and learned about the history before going there.

On the way to the elephant camp, Eight explained to us how to ride the elephant and the commands that they use. On this tour, you will ride the elephant bareback with a trainer sitting behind you. You'll straddle the elephant near their neck and put your palms on the top of their heads. Then it's your job to 'rock and roll' with the elephant's stride. Eight's advice to us was to stay relaxed, and he was absolutely right!

In addition to riding the elephant, they will have you hold them, "kiss" them, sit on a "bench" made of two elephant trunks, and be lifted up onto their heads (using their trunks) in a move that they call "Superman". It was quite humorous!

The stop for lunch was great too! They brought out multiple dishes and rice - one vegetable dish, two different chicken dishes, and a plate of fresh pineapple. YUMMY! One note: while lunch is included, drinks are not, so bring some cash to the restaurant (a Coke Zero was only 60 THB - they did offer beer, but I don't remember the cost)

At our next stop, there were three felines that we could choose from: a leopard, black panther, or a tiger. We chose Moana, the largest of the three. She is currently about 6 1/2 months old. After removing our shoes and washing our hands, we sat in the tiger pen with our backs against the fence. The trainer brought Moana over to us by moving her bottle, and Moana climbed on our laps. She's a beautiful tiger! We also got the opportunity to pet her while she was playing with a stick and paper.

*** Tripadvisor didn't share the entire review with me when I got a message about my error in including a URL to the tour, so I've had to add this part back in. I'll make it brief.

1. The driver will pull over on the way to the bridge where you will pay the balance on the tour and pick up some snacks. (We brought our own though.) I didn't want to tip before doing anything for the day.
2. So if you want to tip, especially on the individual stops, make sure to keep that separate and with you on the stops.
3. At the lunch stop, drinks are an extra cost (60 THB for a soda - they had beer but I do not remember the cost).
4. At the bridge stop, the toilet is 5 THB. The toilets at the lunch stop and the Safari are free.

2  Thank LasBrisasGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

I booked this trip for my boyfriends birthday and it was by far the best day we had in Bangkok. Our driver Joe and tour guide "pacman" were the best!

1  Thank ccsparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

Tour: 1506 Extraordinary Elephant Day Trip
This experience was one of the highlights of our trip!!
We were picked up early by Joe in a nice new very comfortable van, Joe had plenty of waters and snacks for us to start the trip.
Our first stop was the Floating Market Damnoen Saduak - unbelievable, beautiful, quirky and amazing!!
Next The Bridge over River Kwai - we walked the bridge and listened/read some history and took some photos, it is very pretty there. (Next time I want to ride the railway)
It was then off to lunch - the local food was fantastic, the freshness and taste was something I have never experienced before and the girls that served it were really lovely.
After lunch was the main event - Riding the Elephants bareback and bathing the Elephants in the river Kwai. The elephants were playful and we ended up soaking wet spraying each other with the water in the trunks - It is a day we will never forget!!
The experience is a MUST DO - I Highly Recommend it for your bucket list - You will NEVER forget it!!

3  Thank BlondOne65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

We did two tours in September 2018 (1506 - Damnoen Saduak floating marker, bridge over Kwai river and elephant bathing and 1514 - Erewan waterfalls and elephant bathing). Both were simply amazing. The ride for 4 people in a huge Toyota Hiace was comofrtable. Our guide was simply amazing, made tons of great photos and was very knowledgeable and fun. The trips start somewhat early but it's a plus, since e.g. in Erewan we were literally the first tourists and could bathe in waterfalls on our known. But the highlight was elephant riding and bathing, which was simply amazing. Great tours.

2  Thank kochamkinie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

This was by far the best part of our trip I absolutely loved it and the elephants were so fun in the water. I would recommend you definitely do the bathe it’s like playing with them. We did bare back riding which took a while to get comfortable but well worth it. Thanks to 8 our guide he took all the pics which allowed us to enjoy the experience. He was great. The cub feeding was so special we actually ended up feeding three the leopards and tiger. The tiger was a bit moody with my husband but the leopards were amazing and more of a baby. Truly amazing experience.

Tips wear clothes over bathing suit you will get tossed in the water and

Tip well.

2  Thank Trisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

My 21 yr old daughter and I did the all day trip that included the floating market, bridge over the River Kwai, leopard feeding and elephant rides. One of our most fun days ever. Joe picked us up at our hotel at 7:00 in a luxury van and our day began. He was entertaining and talked to us about the area all the way to the floating market. After an hour or so there we drove to the bridge and picked up Na, another guide. She also was very fun and provided a great educational and history listen throughout the day. Feeding the leopard was fun but nothing could top the elephants. We had so much fun riding and swimming with them in the river while Joe and Na took hundreds of pictures. The day was more WOW than we could have imagined and again, a day we will never forget. Thank you Joe and Na. Kristy and Emily.

3  Thank Kristy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews