We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”
Review of SO Sofitel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
SO Sofitel Bangkok
Ranked #15 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This Hotel is breath-taking. Also, not to mention, the warm hospitality, efficient customer service, paying attention to details and high professionalism from the staff at the Sofitel So Bangkok was above and beyond and worth noting.

It was truly a wonderful experience, as every detail (from check-in to check-out) was taken care of by Sofitel staff during my last stay.

I also used the facilities / services such as the So Spa, the infinity pool and experienced dining at the Park Society Restaurant on the top floor with amazing views. Actually, the spa service was one of the best in the world that I have had. All services were excellent and I would not hesitate to recommend the Sofitel So Bangkok in a heartbeat. I can’t wait to go back as it was a truly a memorable experience!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fabulous -- my favorite is the 'earth' element room, very modern and cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, General Manager at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear khun Kim R,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok.

Beforehand, I would like to thank you for your stay with us at SOFITEL So Bangkok. We highly appreciate your time to share your experience with us. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedbacks from our valued guests.

It was a delight to know that our respected teams were able to perform at the high quality Sofitel So standards that we are highly proud of. Your appreciation of them, will shared with the teams especially with So Benjamin; our Park society and Hi-so manager and So Arthur; our So well guru, and ask to compliment their teams for their wonderful performance. I believe that your compliments will serve as a motivator to continously maintain and grow our impeccable standards.

Khun Kim R , I hope that you will visit us again and gives us the opportunity to provide with a pleasurable and memorable stay.

So kind regards,
Yves Mudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,992 - 1,998 of 4,364 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay in Bangkok. Lumpini Park is directly across the street - great place for an early morning or late afternoon walk. The infinity swimming pool on the 10th floor has a fantastic view of the city and the park. Good service in the pool dressing room.

We took day trips to Kao Yai National Park and to Kanchanaburi and found it convenient (as Bangkok traffic goes) to get in and out of the city from here.

We tried 3 of the different room styles during our time here and found all of them to be very comfortable and with up to date wifi and electronics.

Staff was extremely helpful in making reservations at nearby restaurants.

Breakfast is extensive with a good variety of both eastern and western food service. We also enjoyed a good dinner in the breakfast/dining room

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AhabofLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, General Manager at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear khun AhabofLA,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok.

To begin with, I would like to thank you for stay with us at Sofitel So Bangkok. We highly appreciate your comments regarding your experience while your stay with us. It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback from our valued guests.

As you have stated, the hotel was designed to distance our guests from the chaotic part of Bangkok, but not so distant that our guests could not enjoy the charming cosmopolitan part of Bangkok. We are happy to know that you appreciate the location and our services provided to you.

Your supportive comments will be shared with our executive chef Mr. Paul Smart, who will highly appreciate your comments and find higher motivation in his exceptional work.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with our high quality of service and become one our frequent visitors. In addition, in your next visit, I would recommend to try our other unique facilities such as So Spa, Chocolab and Park Society which I believe you and your better half will enjoy immensely.

We hope that you will visit us soon. Have an exceptional week ahead.

So kind regards,
Yves Mudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed in one of sofitel so thematic room which is earth.. When we arrived was quite surprise by the hotel eccentric yet very stylish uniform, turns out it was design by Lacroix.. Another wow factor..
From th beginning, we went to the lobby it was nicely designed with also cool welcome drink that change colors as they stirred the drinks.. Haha what a fun concept.
The earth room is spacious, nicely done and overlook the Lumpini park.. Just perfect.. Even though at that time lots of demonstration happening there. But still we hardly heard any noise from our room.
Went to 'the pool party' and was blown away of how happening the pool party was.. Good crowd indeed.
All comes to conclusion, will definitely stay here again soon!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Edo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, General Manager at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Khun Edo S


Sowasdee krub rom sofitel So Bangkok!

Such a delightful for us to receive excellent feedback and recommendatin about your recent stay at SO Bangkok. Thank you very much!
We are so happy that you loved every bits of your experience here. The uniforms is one of the highlight of our everyday's work becuase our team loves it and very proud to wear such beautiful and unique design outfits.

We're also glad that you had a blast at the pool party, so we hope you will come back to join the next good fun pool party again on this coming 28 June!

Don't stay away too long and please come back soon as we love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest!

Have a wonderful weekend!

So Kind Reards

Yves Mudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Derpson D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Akira Y, General Manager at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed there on February, and honestly Sofitel So has been my place of stay everytime I come to bkk in the last 2 years ... Since for me the location is pretty strategic, easy to get mrt, and most of all, the hotel itself, i feel like home !!! I love every corner of the hotel, and design of every room w/ all those elements, and the uniform of the staffs ... Magnifique !! So refreshing !! U won't see many hotel have the concept of those uniforms by christian lacroix !!! And some more, Mr.Pablo is always being soooo kind to me , he always tries his best to make me feel comfortable , and that time, he upgraded me to suite w/ water element if i'm not mistaken, but trully felt blessed, a room and a hugeee livingroom w/ spectacular view , I can't ask for somemore , thanks Sofitel So, definitely will be back there again and again, never fail me !! Salut !!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Herman_wang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, General Manager at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Khun Herman_wang

Sowasdee krub fro Sofitel SO Bangkok!

We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and felt like home! That is truly an encouraging feedback.
Thank you for takingthe time to share the feedback and excellent recommendation here on Tripadvisor.

On your next visit, we will tempt you with other room elements, which of course Pablo will make sure you have a very lovely room, and many more unique facilities like our So Spa, CHocolab, Park Society and so much more!

Please come back soon. We wish you a wonderful weekend!

So Kind Regards

Yves Mudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

best ever front desk service at So Bangkok Hotel....
breakfast setting was good....but most of the chilled dishes were not kept chilled....such as cheese..cold cuts...salads...etc...

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank J8578ITdavidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, General Manager at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Dear Khun J8578ITdavidl

Thank you for the feedback and excellent recommendation you wrote here on Tripadvisor.

Your kind and encouraging message about our front desk team is so wonderul and has been shared with the team already. This has brought big smiles on their faces!

We are sorry that the cold cuts and cheese were not chilled as you expected. This was addressed to our Executive Chef, Mr. Paul Smart to look into the issue already. Necessary rectification has been conducted to improve this matter you ca rest assured on this regards.

I hope you will allow us to welcome you and better serve you at the restaurant with a more typical high standards that we proud of again soon.

Until we meet again, please keep well and have a lovely weekend!

SO Kind Regards

Yves Mudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at Sofitel So Bangkok from the 31st May to the 6th June.

We had no expectations as to what the service or hotel would be like and we were surprised.

From the moment we checked in until we checked out the staff were absolutely amazing!

We were ushered to our room by a lovely young gentleman ( he was wearing glasses and failed to get his name! )

We were shown all the features in the room ( TV, Bathroom, Curtains, etc )

We stayed at the Metal Room at the 15th Floor and loved every aspect of the room.

It was amazing. The Bed and Pillows were perfect.

They had a complimentary Tuk Tuk that would take us to the nearest MRT or BTS which made it very convenient.

The gentleman at the City Guru desk also helped us every single day we had a query on how to get where. Everyone was absolutely helpful!

We had breakfast at the Red Oven on the last day, not the best but the service made up for it.

There was an ample amount of options for breakfast but there have been better breakfast buffets in Sydney.

Hopefully this review gets posted as my first one didn't make the cut.

Thank you Sofitel So in Bangkok, we are more than happy to come back to Bangkok and stay with you again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear khun Karen C,

Sowasdee Ka from Sofitel So Bangkok.

Initially I would like to thank you for your stay with us at Sofitel So Bangkok. We highly appreciate your kind words and were happy to know that we were able to lift you from your shoes with our service.

I am glad to know that you were happy with the quality of service from our staff. In addition, there are more than 1 park lobby So angels who wear glasses. Nonetheless, your warm regards will shared with our team, which I believe will provide encouragement to our team to perform even better.


If you have any recommendations for us, please feel free to contact me personally as it will help shape us better.I would like to thank you again for your kind words. We hope that you will visit us again and soon.

So kind regards,
Akira Yan-Ubol Petit (Bim)
Director of So Guest's Experience
Sofitel So Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#41 of 887 in Bangkok
6,576 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SO Sofitel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Sofitel Bangkok

Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $177 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SO Sofitel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime central location on the corner of North Sathorn and Rama IV roads, opposite Lumpini Park. SO Sofitel Bangkok offers panoramic views of both the park and the city's skyline. Few steps from Lumpini MRT Subway station and only10-min walk to Saladaeng BTS Skytrain station. Guests can conveniently access shopping & nightlife attractions including Silom, Terminal 21, Central World, Siam Paragon. Don Mueang and Suvarnabhumi International Airport are approximately 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Splitty, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SO Sofitel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing