We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay bad food”
Review of SO Sofitel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SO Sofitel Bangkok
Ranked #14 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good stay bad food”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is good in general terms but the food is bad. Worst among most of the five stars hotel in bkk. The room is nice but tolietries are cheap. Nothing fancy at all. i will recommend this hotel to ppl if you dont need to dine at hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dkmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Khun dkmen

We are very delighted to receive your feedback and hear that your had a lovely stay, however, we are concerned that your dining experience did not meet your expectation.
We will be highly appreciate if you could share some more detail about that so we can make sure appropriate rectification to be conducted.

If you don't mind, please kindly drop a quick email to me via H6835-GM2@sofitel.com and I will get back to you shortly.

Once again, thank you for your time and feedback. We are sorry that your expectation was not met and wish to have the opportunity to make things right to restore your trust and confident.

Have a so great day and I look forward to hearing from you.

So Kind Regards

Akira (Ms.)
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,939
    739
    180
    53
    48
See reviews for
468
1,774
390
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed in this hotel in April, rooms are broken upto elements, metal, water,earth and wood, around four floors each, we stayed in earth on 25th floor, super king bed that could sleep four if desired, we stayed with two kids, got extra bed no issues, staff very helpful and speak wonderful English, went to roof top bar, wonderful view but pricey in my view (340 Bart for singa beer, can get for 34 Bart normally, food without fault and tasty, we had pizza, juice, fish and chips and a cocoanut drink, came to 1860 Bart).free wifi though out with good speed, heaps of outlets found in our room (bit hidden but found), smart tv, fridge in our room could of been colder

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_A_Leaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Khun John_A_Leaver,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

Thank you so much for your feedback and recommendation, which are so encouraging and excellent! We are so delighted that SO Bangkok has become like your second home whenever you visit Bangkok.

We truly hope this will continue and we will do our very best to make you happy and warm!

See you again soon, we love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest!

So Kind Regards,

Akira Y (Ms)
Director of Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This had to be one my best experiences staying in a hotel. The hotel was amazing & grand and offcourse for the tariff we got was a great deal. Having a drink at the rooftop bar was an out of the world experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mukund_dusad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Khun mukund_dusad,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

It is so delightful to know that you had a wonderful experience staying with us recently and particularly with the service provided by our team.

Thank you for sharing the feedback and good recommendation here.

We wish you will return soon as there're so much more to explore here at So Bangkok and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Have a wonderful weekend!

So Kind Regards,

Akira (Ms.)
DIrector of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Not sure where to start ...

Firstly I have been going to Thailand for over 10 years on regular basis and I keep going because the place/people are amazing but 4 nights at this hotel have just blown me away, the staff are out of this world - I just can not praise them enough, they are the most polite and attentive staff i have ever experienced. My partner and myself stayed in a Earth Suite for 3 nights and Water Suite for 1 night and had access to Club Signature, I seriously recommend the upgrade - the Club Signature somehow every time we went only had hand full of guests there, very peaceful on the balcony (25th floor) away from main restaurant with quality breakfast, afternoon snacks (2pm to 4pm) then complementary cocktails (5pm to 7pm). Myself and my partner would easily manage 5 cocktails each, considering they are 350 bht a time this an excellent feature and soon as you have finished they are straight onto you asking if you want another. One night the waitress came to our table with 4 cocktails - 3 for my girlfriend and 1 for me, she miss heard and thought we ordered 3 for her - sitting there with 1400 bht's worth of cocktails (needless to say i helped finish them off). The reason I mention this story is the waitress did not bat an eyelid, she thought we ordered 4 cocktails to ourselves and just went to make them. Any negative reviews on here about the staff blow my mind as every single one was amazing,

Room itself matched the service, simply quality, the bed was soooo comfortable and you could fit 5 people in - the bath 3 people easily - the shower about 8 lol - everything just quality. We had view over Lumpini Park and was on election day with thousands of protesters outside but at no point did we feel unsafe although leaving the hotel that day was off the menu, we used it as an excuse to sit by the pool all day, although the alcohol ban I admit was a pain, I understand the need to restrict alcohol during these tense election times, you can not even buy a Chang at a 7/11 but why it has to affect tourists at a 5 star resort i will never know - but this is not the hotels fault.

So many things to mention, little things like a knock at the door one evening - was a chef with some freshly made chocolate brownies - we had not requested them he was just going around the suites to see if anyone fancied them, such a good touch.

The pool area stunning, few complaints the water is cold on here, its not warm like the pools on the islands and is certainly 'fresh' when you dip your toe in but 100% not cold, think some people need to man up on here. We arrived to sample the SoPool Party, had an amazing day and the music was right up my street - I will say though if you are a normal guest not really into banging house music you will be in for a shock if you have not done your research - last Saturday of every month the pool area is rocking - you have been warned :)

No review would be fair if I did not list the things that went wrong/did not like. Firstly simply the price of a beer at the pool, I like to enjoy the sun and have a few beers on holiday but I believe it was like 250 bht for a small Singha beer that would cost 30 bht in shop, I understand its a 5 star resort but such a hefty price seems over the top. Secondly we had an issue in that when we checked in they asked for about £55 GBP a night deposit as a security against anything you order for room service, we did not realise this and it worked out roughly £170 GBP for 3 nights and as we paid we pre paid debit card the money came straight out of account, if we stayed for like a week that is a lot of money - £300+, we paid cash for everything we ordered so were due the whole amount back, we emailed hotel a bunch of times to find out when we would get money back and admittedly at the time was angry with a lack of response BUT this is when the hotel just excelled. We had a very apologetic email from Pablo (head of hotel possibly ? ) who fully explained the problem was with our pre paid travellers card and if you use a credit card it would have been different story (took 2 weeks to get money back so as handy as the travellers cards are take a credit card) also apologised for lack of response which was our main problem and offered us a free nights stay in a suite as it was important that we were not left with a negative experience, well this worked out well for us as we had not booked our last night in Bangkok so took him up on offer. Nothing was too much trouble - we checked in crazy early at 3am (not supposed to check in until 2pm ) as our bus arrived early and we did not check out till 7pm the next day. We had champagne, more free cocktails/food and my partner had bunch of flowers, I am not mentioning these things to show off I am making the point as soon as they realised their mistake they went overboard on customer service to make sure we left with a positive experience, my thanks to Akira and Paul who just simply do an amazing job.

This is easily the longest review i have ever written as the people at SoSofitel Bangkok deserve 30 minutes of my time for simply doing an outstanding job,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huw_Meats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Khun Huw_Meats,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

Thank you so much for your feedback and recommendation, which are so encouraging and excellent! We are so delighted that SO Bangkok has become like your second home whenever you visit Bangkok.

I, myself, our team including Paul, are very pleased for your kind message. We truly hope this will continue and we will do our very best to make you happy and warm!

See you again soon, we love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest!

Until we meet again, please keep well!

Have a nice weekend!

So Kind Regards,

Akira (Ms.)
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

What an outstanding hotel! we were a group of 12 female women and none of use could fault the hotel. The location and views are superb, facilities fabulous and customer service excellent. Would definitely stay again and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in a water room in a corner facing Lumpini Park. Would definitely recommend as a little la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brodella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Khun brodella,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

What a delightful news to hear that you had a fantastic stay recently with us.
Thank you for taking the time to share with us the feedback and excellent recommendation here.

Please do not be a stranger and stay away to long as we love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Have a wonderful week!

So Kind Regards,

Akira (Ms.)
DIrector of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Having just enjoyed 8 nights at the Sofitel So I feel compelled to share the positive experience. We stayed in a Water-themed Suite with surely the best view of Bangkok overlooking Lumphini Park. The accomodation was exquisite, uniquely styled to the highest standard, impeccably clean with the most comfortable bed including exceptional linen. Total Luxury - unmatched by 5-star hotels I have experienced previously in Bangkok.

There are many highlights of the property itself including surely the best Spa experience in Bangkok. The Hi-So rooftop bar offers an incredible vista over Bangkok and groovy styling without all the tourist crowds you encounter at other more well-known rooftop restaurants/bars in Bangkok. The Club Signature is worth every cent with ala-carte breakfast and excellent coffee and cocktails.

However the most remarkable thing about Sofitel So are the extraordinary staff. The service is the best ever experience at a hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. The Guest Manager, Akira provided a wonderfully warm welcome and sets the example to an amazing team who, after just a few days felt like true friends. Special mention to Paul, Ness, and Ben at the Signature Club - totally refreshing in their approach to guest relations. The professionalism of Greg at the Red Oven and Poolside was notable. And special mention to Chaba and Anna at Sofitel So Spa who provided us with the most relaxing and therapeutic massage - best in Bangkok!!

Will definitely be back and highly recommend this property to all - regardless of travelling for business or pleasure. Commendations to the Hotel Manager.

Room Tip: We loved the Water-theme suite. Once you have settled in the hotel we were informed it may be possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StuartDobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Khun StuartDobson,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

Reading your feedback really makes us smile! We are so happy that you had a wonderful stay with us and did not want to leave.

Not to worry...we hope you will return to us soon as we love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest!

Paul, Ness, Ben, Greg, Chaba, Anna and the team are sending our warmest wishes to you.

Have a wonderful week!

So Kind Regards,

Akira (Ms.)
DIrector of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,043 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SO Sofitel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Sofitel Bangkok

Property: SO Sofitel Bangkok
Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SO Sofitel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime central location on the corner of North Sathorn and Rama IV roads, opposite Lumpini Park. SO Sofitel Bangkok offers panoramic views of both the park and the city's skyline. Few steps from Lumpini MRT Subway station and only10-min walk to Saladaeng BTS Skytrain station. Guests can conveniently access shopping & nightlife attractions including Silom, Terminal 21, Central World, Siam Paragon. Don Mueang and Suvarnabhumi International Airport are approximately 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SO Sofitel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing