We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent balance of sophistication and style”
Review of SO Sofitel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SO Sofitel Bangkok
Ranked #16 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent balance of sophistication and style”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed at Sofitel So for 6 nights over the New Years period and it was absolutely amazing. We had access to the Club Signature which made it extra special. We requested a Wood Element room which was more our style. Exactly as shown in photos. The room was very large and comfortable. We had an amazing view of Lumphini Park. Bed was very comfortable and no issue with external noise. Bathrooms very nice. Would have preferred soaps and shampoos to be from a high end brand, rather than filled in pump bottles. But this is a very minor observation. Also, the lights in the bathroom was wired incorrectly so that you couldn't actually turn on certain lights without others being on.

The staff were super friendly and very professional. Loved the uniforms on both the men and women! The Club Signature made for an extra special experience. Breakfast in the Club was superb. Made to order. We did try the breakfast buffet on the lower floor once, but it didn't compare to breakfast at the Club Signature. Standard buffet breakfast. We had been spoilt at the Club Signature so never went back! Afternoon tea also provided, which we only tried once and evening cocktails, which we experienced most nights before heading out to dinner. Just a very nice touch.

Having Club Signature access also meant 2 items of clothes laundered everyday and discount to the Spa which we used. The Spa was beautiful and very relaxing.

There is a chocolate lab downstairs which made the entrance smell like chocolate every time you walk pass! Divine!

In terms of location, the walk to the BTS was about 10mins - so not super close. It is next to Lumphini MRT, which we used a few times, but not as convenient as using the BTS.

I've stayed at the W before in Bangkok and I found the W tried a little too hard to be stylish, whereas Sofitel So had the right balance of sophistication and style.

Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Khun Stan Y,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us.
It is always a pleasure to hear that you had a fantastic stay and will recommend our hotel.

Please come back soon as we love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest
and we still have so much more for you to explore here at So Bangkok!

Have a great weekend & we send you our warmest wish from the city of angels!

So Kind Regards,

Akira (Ms.)
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,067
    772
    186
    55
    52
See reviews for
486
1,847
415
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay at the hotel, having stayed just after it opened in 2012. It was my partner's first time at the So in Bangkok. He absolutely loved it which is good as this means we can stay again in the future. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the breakfasts great value and the pool is well looked after offering a great view of Lumpini park. We had the earth room, I preferred the water room from my last visit, however the earth room offers its own charm and we loved the sound system in the bathroom and the door to make the bedroom a 'cave'. Complimentary mini bar was included. Overall it is such a different hotel it is worth staying at. It is close to BTS, we found the location perfect. Thank you for another fantastic stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Victorianew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Khun Victorianew


Sowasdee ka from Sofitel SO Bangkok!

We are very happy to hear that you had chosen to return to us and brought your parents too.
Thank you for sharing the feedback and wonderful recommendation about your great experience of your recent stay here.

Next time try other room elements and explore other facilities like So Spa, chocolab and Park Society as I'm sure you will be amazed again!

We wish you a lovely week ahead!

So Kind Regards

Akira (Ms.)
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Just sitting in the Club Lounge waiting for our limo on our late night flight back to Australia and thought what a great time to let each and everyone of you know of the unparalleled service that you will receive here. Make sure you opt for a So Club room at a minimum and enjoy the benefits of the Club Lounge and the fantastic staff. From my initial booking online and contact made to me from Emy Baumgartner (Assistant Club Signature Manager), the level of service needs mentioning. It is truly some of the best we have ever encountered. It really is hard to find bad service in Bangkok, but this is the benchmark. The whole team here is great. A good vibe, very chic, fantastic value when compared to other properties in and around Bangkok and is made better when they actually recognise your status level within Sofitel, when others need reminding.
We only have one regret and that is we should have stayed here in the first place.

Ps. We tried twice getting into the spa and could not be accommodated, so if you are wanting to visit I would suggest you do so well in advance.

Room Tip: Water themes are on the top floors if you want a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollywood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear KhunHollywood1973


Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

We are very happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and Emy was helpful and made your stay even more memorable.

Next time when you return, we will introduce you to our So Spa, Chocolab and Park Society...and not to forget other room elements for you to explore!

We love to have the plesure of seeing you as our regular guest, so please come back soon!


Wishing you a wonderful weekend!

So Kind Regards

Akira (Ms.)
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I enjoyed my brief stay here very much and will certainly return to stay longer in the future. It is beneficial to a Accor Club member/Advantage Plus etc. The check in process on the upper level is quality. I chose a Water room. Distant view of Chao Praya river and the city. Mattress could be better. The bathroom great with a wonderful bath and shower combo. Good size room. Very quiet for sleeping. I enjoyed the Exec lounge facilities for drinks and breakfast. Good quality assortment of eat and drink. The layout is one where you can see the floor below you, call it open plan but it was nice. Special mention to Amy, Mika, Linda and Bea. They made my stay warm and welcoming. Upper level open air bar and pool worth a mention. Go to the Spa! After whatever made your bones ache you will feel better. I would stay here again and for longer.

Room Tip: Go with the Element you like best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Khun Michael E


Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us.
It is always delightful to hear that you had a fantastic stay and will return to stay with us again.

Please come back soon as we love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest
and we still have so much more for you to explore here at So Bangkok!

Wishing you a wonderful week ahead & we send you warmest wish from the city of angels!

So Kind Regards

Akira (Ms.)
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Luxury hotel in middle of Sathorn district, next to Si Lom and across from Lumpini Park. Everything in this hotel is high quality. But my favorites:

- Infinity pool on 10th floor is an amazing experience (especially sunset/dusk). Only recommendation is to warm the water a bit...
- The Spa experience was sensational... 2hrs of scrub and massage was unforgetable
- The service was impeccable-the staff were attentive in very nice and professional and non-overbearing way.

Frankly I could go on... Instead just go and experience it for yourself.

Only caution is that you will need a taxi to go most places, but this is not a problem on Bangkok and the Hotel staff will arrange everything, so go and soak it up !

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Otis27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, DIrector of So Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Khun Otis 27


What a fantastic review you wrote here! Thank you so much for such a great recommendation!
We are so happy that your experience recently at SO Bangkok was just amazing, esepcially at our spa, infinity pool and etc.

It's brought us with pride also to hear that our teams did their best to make your stay enjoyable.

We wish you a very great day and hope you will come back soon as we love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest!

So Kind Regards

Akira
DIrector of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The check in experience was superb, since the moment you arrive to the hotel you have every employee greeting you and guide you thru the property or if you have any questions they are always so helpful. Location is also good.
As I mentioned before the check in experience is great. Views of the room are to die for. The amenities, the bed and quality of the room very nice. Food is really delicious. I recommend all their restaurants, There are all great! The hotel decoration are very funky and cool.
I will come back to this hotel in a heartbeat to stay overnight or to enjoy any of their great restaurant choices or events.

Room Tip: All rooms are well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, DIrector of So Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Khun Dario M


It is always great to receive such a wonderful feedback and recommendation. Thank you very much for that. We are glad that every single experience you had was memorable!

As there're so many other more things to explore here at SO Bangkok, we hope we will get to welcome you back in a near future.

We wish you a very great day and hope you will come back soon as we love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest!

So Kind Regards

Akira
DIrector of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 866 in Bangkok
8,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#29 of 866 in Bangkok
6,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SO Sofitel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Sofitel Bangkok

Property: SO Sofitel Bangkok
Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SO Sofitel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime central location on the corner of North Sathorn and Rama IV roads, opposite Lumpini Park. SO Sofitel Bangkok offers panoramic views of both the park and the city's skyline. Few steps from Lumpini MRT Subway station and only10-min walk to Saladaeng BTS Skytrain station. Guests can conveniently access shopping & nightlife attractions including Silom, Terminal 21, Central World, Siam Paragon. Don Mueang and Suvarnabhumi International Airport are approximately 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SO Sofitel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing