We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay & great people”
Review of SO Sofitel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SO Sofitel Bangkok
Ranked #14 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
villenoy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“pleasant stay & great people”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Was in a Wood theme room, which I like most compared to the earth or Water element rooms. Very pleasant view if you are facing Lumphini park, easy to find location, metro down the hotel, Skytrain at 5mn walking at Silom or using Tuk Tuk service of the hotel. Good location if you want to stay close to Silom, further away from historic center of Bkk. Room was great and very well equipped, with confortable bed, but not exceptional for a Sofitel, Buffet breakfast was very good quality & wide selection. Swiming pool at 10th floor with terrase and view to park, big enough to swim, fitness room next to it a little disappointing because too small and quickly busy. Hotel organise regular events (welcoming party for guests on wed., parties at skybar...), which is nice to meet staff or guests. Staff very professional and attentive, A special thanks to Leila for her energy, consideration & assistance. Very special thanks and congratulations to Sirn, at lobby level, for his useful & precious advises & information provided about the city, his spontaneousness and profesionnalism.

Room Tip: Chose your Room element from photos provided at time of booking, among the 4 themes. Lumphini park v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest’s Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Khun wakey1,
Thank you for your review of Sofitel So Bangkok! I am happy that you enjoyed our Wood rooms, Red Oven breakfast, and Infinity Pool. I will be sure to share your comments with So Laila and So Sern, who will definitely be motivated to keep up the good work!
I am very sorry that our So FIT gym was below your expectations. Your feedback on this has been noted and will be shared with the appropriate managers for further improvement.
During your next stay, be sure to attend our Saturday So Kool pool party on the last Saturday of every month, including promotions on BBQ and So SPA treatments!
With So Courtesy,
Akira Y.
Director of So Guest’s Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,984
    754
    182
    54
    50
See reviews for
472
1,808
397
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

What I miss the most from Bangkok, is this hotel. A wonderful place where everything is carefully thought out, right down to music and fragrances. The staff were really friendly and we felt like royals here. Breakfast was fantastic. The room was very clean and it was cleaned carefully every time. Views from the hotel are spectacular. I would have given five stars, but the following reasons take one star away:

-Swimming pool was located on the shaded side of the building. The sun was shining to the pool only very early in the morning, which was a pity, because the water in the pool was very cold.

-Some of the staff spoke poor English, and sometimes there was a difficulty in understanding each other.

-Location of the hotel was a bit boring. Really only Lumpini Park to see there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saharaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest’s Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Khun Saharaer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sofitel So Bangkok! How great to hear that you enjoyed our service, Red Oven breakfast, and guest rooms.
However, I am sorry that you were let down by a few aspects of your stay. I will be sure to share the communication issues with the appropriate managers, to improve necessary English of the staff. As for the swimming pool, you can warm up on our Solarium Oasis Lawn on the other side of the building, made especially for peaceful sunbathing. As for the location, we aim for easy access to all parts of Bangkok with the subway and skytrain just minutes away, and the Silom night life district just around the corner!
For your next stay, I hope you can try one of our innovative So SPA treatments for ultimate relaxation!
With So Courtesy,
Akira Y.
Director of So Guest’s Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

quite impressive superbly designed luxury hotel.
One enters in an oasis of soft music , beatifully dressed friendly personnel, eclectic furniture and a wonderful view on Lumpini park and a city skyline.
Different styles of rooms are offered , but the wooden pannelled rooms are the cosiest ones.
Impressive dining room with a gigantic red stove in the middle.
The smimming poll has the same views and is a joy to relax in.
Only minus is the food . One would expect more original quality food.

Room Tip: wooden panneled park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelP6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest’s Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Khun MichelP6666,
Thank you for taking the time to review Sofitel So Bangkok! I am glad you enjoyed our Park Lobby, Wood rooms, Red Oven, and Infinity Pool!
However, I am very sorry to hear that the food was below your expectations. I will be sure to share your comment with our chef and food & beverage manager so that we can improve in the future.
For you next stay, be sure to try our Cocoa Rush Hour at Chocolab, where you can find many delicious treats!
See you again soon!
With So Courtesy,
Akira Y.
Director of So Guest’s Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have to say this is one of the most amazing hotels I have ever stayed in.

From the very first moment with the welcome and spectacular drinks to the last moment when we (with a tear in our eye - almost) left the hotel it was a wonderful place to stay.

From out outset the staff were helpful and we were welcomed to the hotel by Paul.

Our room was on the 23rd floor and looked out over Lumphini Park. The room itself is large and comes very beautifully appointed as you;d expect from a hotel designed by Christian Lacroix.

The infinity pool was beautiful.

We visited the ChocoLab, Red Oven Restaurant and the rooftop bar. (I think the bar should be mentioned/promoted more as you almost forget it's there and it offers a lovely view over Bangkok)

Overall I couldn't have been happier that we booked this hotel.

My only point for small improvement would be:

1. The pool closes too early (10pm) so after a day of sightseeing you can't go in for a dip.

Room Tip: I would expect that all rooms are good but our Lumphini View one was quiet and had that lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest’s Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Khun Michael W,
Thank you for your great review of Sofitel So Bangkok! I am so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay with us.
I will definitely note your suggestions for our HI-SO bar and Infinity Pool, and suggest them to each department.
During your next visit, do not forget to try our So SPA treatments, which are sure to relax you after your day of sightseeing!
With So Courtesy,
Akira Y.
Director of So Guest’s Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Booked this hotel 8 months ago for a room with 2 double beds as their was 3 of us travelling, also booked hotel limo from airport to hotel 6 weeks before arriving.
Landed at airport and no limo took a little while to find hotel rep but she soon sorted out transport,
arrive at hotel and room type not available so they did an upgrade and took us to the room only to find someone else in it, back down to reception where Paul the Guru appeared and placed us in a wonderfull room on level 22 and threw in free airport transfers and breakfast for what we had been through.
After this things just got better with a coctail and canape evening the next night for all guests to meet with the customer relations people where we had the good fortune of meeting Layla who gave us great advice on what to do and where to go in Bangkok. The following day Paul appeared again and introduced us to Ken the tour operator who is the best person to see for any parts of the city you want to travel to in safety and without being ripped off.
Restaurant was great for breakfast and dinner with food to suit anyone.
Was our first trip to Bangkok and the hotel made it memorable, will definately stay again.

Room Tip: Upper floor with park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron1954Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest’s Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Khun Ron1954Sydney,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Sofitel So Bangkok! I am very sorry about the rocky start, but I’m so happy that we were able to recover and provide you with a much more positive and memorable experience.
We also very much enjoy our So Guest Meet So Team Lobby Parties, and I will be sure to share your comments with So Laila, So Paul, and So Ken. It will be a big motivation to them!
On your next visit, be sure to check out our rooftop restaurant Park Society, with views of the night skyline!
With So Courtesy,
Akira Y.
Director of So Guest’s Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

One more trip at the Sofitel So Bangkok and i must admit despite some hick up, i would recommend this hotel to both business and leisure. I have spent 8 nights for this last stay and planning another 10 nights by year end.
Great Service from the concierge guru to the check in team, red oven, club signature and hi so bar on the roof top.
The pool view is certainly one of the best you can get in Bangkok. Food at the Park Society is amazing again with the view, together with an attentive and professional service.
For some of you who want to enjoy the morning sun, you can always enjoy the sun deck on the back side from 8 am till 5 pm, all this in complete privacy.
Can't wait to be back !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanHHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest’s Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Khun StephanHHongKong,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Sofitel So Bangkok! I’m glad you enjoyed all of our facilities as well as our services, and I’m so happy you would recommend us for both business and pleasure!
I hope that on your next stay you will be able to try one of our innovative spa treatments, such as our Serenity of Five Elements massage or our So Rejuvenating Facial.
See you again soon!
With So Courtesy,
Akira Y.
Director of So Guest’s Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 858 in Bangkok
8,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
6,147 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 858 in Bangkok
3,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SO Sofitel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Sofitel Bangkok

Property: SO Sofitel Bangkok
Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SO Sofitel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime central location on the corner of North Sathorn and Rama IV roads, opposite Lumpini Park. SO Sofitel Bangkok offers panoramic views of both the park and the city's skyline. Few steps from Lumpini MRT Subway station and only10-min walk to Saladaeng BTS Skytrain station. Guests can conveniently access shopping & nightlife attractions including Silom, Terminal 21, Central World, Siam Paragon. Don Mueang and Suvarnabhumi International Airport are approximately 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SO Sofitel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing