We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SO Sofitel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SO Sofitel Bangkok
Ranked #17 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Modern hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Buffet breakfast, especially the cheese selection is worth selling a small part of your soul for. The gym and pool facilities were wonderful, although using a computer to surf the web whilst running on a treadmill is less of a good idea than it seems. Finally, if you like glass stay on the 15th floor.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Csmei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Guest Director at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Khun Csmei,

I would like to thank to you for writing lovely feedback according to your experiences staying in our hotel, and it even makes So team very happy to hear you love our products served at restaurant as well as the our guest room. Moreover, we would highly appreciate if you could give us another opportunity to welcome you back as our regular guest.

We are looking forward to your next visit at Sofitel So Bangkok hotel

Wishing you wonderful week ahead!

With So Courtesy,


Pablo Barruti
So Guest Director
Email: H6835-RD@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,821
    714
    176
    52
    48
See reviews for
454
1,702
372
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We booked the Sofitel So for our one night in Bangkok not really expecting much other than a reasonably good, standard central city hotel.

But instead this place is good fun! Loads of quirky design features and artworks, and staff that seem to genuinely be proud of what they do and where they work. Good check in process with a completely over the top guest relations 'guru' who had us laughing and interacting right from the start.

And don't think that the hotel is all image and not much substance. We had the best sleep of our entire Thailand trip with a well appointed room, good soundproofing and amazing views right out over the city. The breakfast buffet was excellent and substantial, all set in a great restaurant. We also enjoyed the roof top bar in the evening with yummy nibbles and cocktails.

We'll definitely be back here for our next Thailand trip and will stay for longer next time. Worked well for a couple but could see it also being a good base for a group trip with friends.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view from our room higher up in the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

What a lovely feedback you wrote us here on Tripadvisor, anyway I am highly appreciated for your taking your time writing such adorable feedback about your stay in our hotel as well as your trust and will for returning here on your next visit to Bangkok. Therefore, I have shared your words with all our associates, they were all would like to express their appreciated to you as well as willing for your next visit here.

It is such a pleasure to hear that you love the atmosphere and design, the heart-catching view from the hotel as well as products provided in our dining outlet, your encouraging feedback would be likely a tool for us to maintain great hospitality culture among So team.

Wishing you wonderful week ahead!

With So Courtesy,

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Rooms are tastefully designed combining the five elements of Water-Earth-Wood-Metal and Fire. All the staff dressed in uniform specially designed by French couturier and design legend Christian Lacroix seems very motivated and proud of their jobs, which obviously reflect on their very friendly and attentive service. Fabulous spread of high quality food with a contemporary twist offered at very good price in their Red Oven restaurant is highly recommended. Bangkok nightlife rises to new heights of style in the moonlit cabanas of HISO rooftop bar and cocktail bar Mixio located on 9th floor overlooking Lumphini Park where you can have a ‘So good time’ with the liquid world of molecular mixology. Nice hotel with quality offerings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RanjithChandrasiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

A warmest regards from SO Bangkok! We cannot thank you enough for such a fantastic feedback about your experience during your recent stay with us. It is so nice to receive a very “Happy” message from you…this has put a big smile on all of our faces! Thank you very much.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in a very near future as we love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest.

Weekend is approaching, wishing you a very enjoyable time!

With So Courtesy,

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoy our stay throughout. Our room was on the 21st floor which is the Earth Element floor, wallpapers along the corridor including our room is dark blue in colour which make the place very dim. However, when we stepped into our room, we were impressed with the spacious room area and the open concept bathroom and we were even more surprised to learn that all the drink and snack in the mini bar are for our consumption at no additional cost (which not much hotel offer that). The infinity pool is gorgeous and is a great place to relax after a long tiring shopping day. The breakfast spread at Red Oven was great. Though the hotel is not located around the busy shopping belt but it is within walking distance (about 5 mins) to the Lumpini MRT station. With the friendly service, nice facilities and peaceful environment, we will definitely go back again to try out the other 3 Element (Water, Wood & Metal) room. Looking forward to my next Bangkok trip.

Room Tip: If you prefer a brighter room, you may want to ask for room on the Metal Element Floor as I understa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty-fong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Khun Patty-fong


Sowasdee ka from So Bangkok!
We are very delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us. Thank you for sharing such a great feedback and recommendation on Tripadvisor.

Next time when you visit us again, there are so many other services and facilities that we will tempt you; our So Spa, other room elements, the chocolab and so many more!

We truly wish to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest, so please come back soon!

Wishing you a fantastic weekend!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a definitely a first grade hotel - for both the hardwares and softwares. They offer a number of fine touches which makes them different and in return meets the unexpressed needs of the customers. I am one who got impressed!

The design is chic and classy, based on 5 different themes and with rooms offering 4 different themes - earth, water, wood and metal, customers are able to try new themes in their next visit. How smart! I had a spacious So Studio Earth Room at the corner, which commands an excellent city view. The curvy room layout is interesting, and the bathroom is rather sexy with a full height glass window for the wc and a partial city view when you are in the bathtub. Bed is soft and comfortable, illy coffee machine with expresso capsules and complimentary mini bar are thoughtful and the high tech amenities (e.g. apple tv, able to serve the net using the wireless keyboard, automated window blinds, etc.) are great to use.

The customer service is top notch and one gets personalised service from the moment you enter the hotel lobby. What make things great is the consistency of excellent customer service throughout the hotel - from the bell boy, club lounge, housekeeping, etc.

Do get an upgrade to the club room. The club lounge is again tastefully designed and the food is tasty. And again, the staff at the club lounge serve me SO well!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the club room. Studio room or any corner room will be awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

What a pleasant feedback and recommendation here on Tripadvisor, we are more than happy to learnt that our guest rooms, facilities and all high-tech devices were really favoring you throughout the stay. It is also very nice to hear that our associates had done their best to make your stay memorable!
Thank you very much for taking the time to convey your feedback. We will be really pleased to welcome you back here again at Sofitel So Bangkok hotel as a regular guest.

Weekend is approaching, wishing you a very enjoyable time!

Warmest Regards,

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the place very nice. They allowed us an early check-in at 7.30am and late check out of 3pm for no extra charge. The room was spacious and tasteful, my only comment would be that the curtains didn't black the light completely and after a long flight this would have been preferable. Not much privacy in bathroom with frosted glass in toilet and a door open at the bottom and top. The hotel facilities are excellent, the infinity pool gorgeous and the breakfasts are amazing. Room service was also tasty and the staff were very helpful when my husband lost his wallet. Is nice with the park across the road although the sky-train is a bit of a hike away in the heat of about 15 min walk. This is also where the Patpong night market is which is a lot of fun to visit and we went home both nights in a tuk tuk for a couple of hundred baht.

Room Tip: We were in a Wood element room with breathtaking views over Lumpini park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meganTGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear valued guest


We are very happy to learn that you had a wonderful experience while staying at Sofitel So Bangkok. Your feedback is truly encouraging to our team.
Thank you for sharing your feedback and good recommendation on Tripadvisor.

I do sincerely apologize that you were not shown the awning during room orientation. We do provide curtain and awning in every rooms to ensure the sun light cannot disturb our guests when close them.

Next time when you come, we wish to tempt you with our spa treatments as they are very relaxing and reasonable.

Truely hope to have the chance to welcome you back in a very near future.

Have a great week ahead!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've booked a So Studio room on the 22nd floor it was truly awesome. Not only the room itself is great cuz we get to see the Bangkok skyline, but also we have access to the club signature room where we enjoy our special breakfast in the morning and drinks in the afternoon every single day. The hotel does a good job on their service, almost every one treated us like upper class ppl. And we were also very generous about the tip, which we realize they're hard-earned to these ppl. Enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Changhaonicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest


What a fantastic news to hear that your recent stay at So Bangkok was magnificent and you were happy with facilities and services provided by our associates.
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback and excellent recommendation here on Tripadvisor, it is truly encoraging!

We hope you will return soon as we love to have the opportunity of seeing you as our regular guest.

Wishing you a wonderful week!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,919 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,777 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SO Sofitel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Sofitel Bangkok

Property: SO Sofitel Bangkok
Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SO Sofitel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime central location on the corner of North Sathorn and Rama IV roads, opposite Lumpini Park. SO Sofitel Bangkok offers panoramic views of both the park and the city's skyline. Few steps from Lumpini MRT Subway station and only10-min walk to Saladaeng BTS Skytrain station. Guests can conveniently access shopping & nightlife attractions including Silom, Terminal 21, Central World, Siam Paragon. Don Mueang and Suvarnabhumi International Airport are approximately 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your SO Sofitel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing