We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best breakfast buffet!”
Review of SO Sofitel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SO Sofitel Bangkok
Ranked #14 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best breakfast buffet!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Sofitel So is a great hotel when you're staying a few days in central BKK. My family and I stayed for three nights in December and loved every minute. We stayed in a metal theme room and it was brilliant, well sized, very modern, high floor and an incredibly huge bath! I absolutely recommend the breakfast buffet, the best that I have had yet. My wife and I even took advantage of the baby sitting service and had dinner at Nahm, a very short walk down Sathorn road. My only issue, the pool could have been a bit warmer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natbrown75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest


We are extremely delighted to learn that you had a wonderful and memorable stay, particularly with our beautiful Metal room and breakfast at the Red Oven. Thank you for sharing your feedback and excellent recommendation here on Tripadvisor, it is truly encouraging to our team :-)

We hope you will come back soon, very much looking forward to seeing you again!


Wishing you a great week ahead!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,984
    754
    182
    54
    50
See reviews for
472
1,808
397
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

From the moment I arrived at the Sofitel So Bangkok a smile formed on my face that didn't leave until checkout. The attention to detail in the design of the hotel, the genuine, warm and engaging service and magnificent public spaces make the hotel one to experience.
My large So Comfy Level 28 water element room offered amazing views over Lumpini park from both the bedroom and spacious shower / bath areas, however a few signs of wear and tear to some of the soft furnishings are a worry given the age if the hotel.
Check out the pool deck both in the morning when the sun is in the right position for tanning, and in the afternoon for cocktails after a long day of sightseeing. The fitness centre has a decent range of strength and cardio machines but ducking across the road for a morning run in Lumpini park ensures a true Bangkok experience - on one morning I was stopped in my tracks by a giant monitor lizard slowly closely the path.
The hotels location is a little away from the main sights and do make sure you have the hotels card / details printed for your taxi driver to avoid misunderstanding. Whilst its probably only 10-15 mins to Silom and the skytrain in Bangkok's heat that feels an awful lot longer .
I only wish I had taken the name of the many staff who went out of their way to make my stay memorable to recognise them personally. Looks like i will have to return some time soon after all.

Room Tip: Water element rooms occupy the highest floors of the hotel. Choose Lumpini Park side for an amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Valued guest


It is so fabulous to hear that your stay at Sofitel So Bangkok was wonderful and you had a chance to enjoy the beautiful Lumpini Park across the street
Moreover, it is such a delightful news to hear that our associates did everything they could to make your stay memorable.

Thank you for your feedback and great recommendation here. I have shared it with our team as it is so encouraging!

We hope you will return soon…until then, please keep well! Wishing you a great week!


With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in April and could not fault anything about the hotel. From the time we checked in, the staff were all genuine, lovely people and welcoming in the extreme. From the bellboys, to the check-in staff, to the concierge they were all desperate to ensure our comfort and happiness in their hotel. Unlike our travels throughout the USA, and some in Europe, there was no uncomfortable "lingering around for a tip" after helping you, showing you to the room etc.

Check-in was smooth and efficient and memorable for the warmth of the welcome, and the delightful welcome drink. We were checking in with a couple of friends and the whole process was straight-forward and a pleasure.

The rooms are themed and we started in a "metal" theme which was minimalistic but very comfortable. After 3 nights we asked if it was possible to experience a different theme and they were so accomodating in moving us to an "Earth" theme which was equally impressive.

There are too many good points about this hotel to mention them all, but we would not hesitate to stay here again on a future trip to Bangkok. It is not "right in the middle of it" in terms of location (about a 10-15 minute walk to Silom) but that means that it is quieter than staying in Silom or Sukhumvit. It is just across the road from Lumpini Park and the hotel loans bicycles (free) for those wanting to cycle around that beautiful park.

In summary - a lovely hotel, with amazing staff and facilities. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for sharing your feedback and excellent recommendation about your recent experience at So Bangkok on Tripadvisor.

We cannot explain enough how wonderful it is to know you had a fantastic stay, especially you had the opportunity to stay in a Metal room and then also Earth room! Both are my favourite as they are so totally different and unique!
We're also very happy that the services provided by our associates from the first step of your arrival til departure met your expectation!

Please come back soon as we love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guests!

Wishing you a very fantastic week ahead!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great stay for 3 days. Cant recommend enough , amazing breakfast , great pool looking at Lumpini Park , fantastic staff ,and hysterical manager never seen any one like him , absolutely fabulous.
great room with great view of the city.
They produce incredibly delicious choc cake for my Partner's Birthday
and guess what they have a choc shop ,, how fab
well done christian ;-)

Room Tip: try to choose a room looking at the park . but most suits looking the otherside Take a ride on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detroncj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear valued guest

We cannot descripe enough how much we're so delighted to know that you and your partner had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and recommendation on Tripadvisor and choosing to spend your partner's birthday celebration with us!
Paul our Just Say So Guru is fab and we are very proud of him & his hospitality to make your stay even more special!

Come back soon as we love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regulars.

Have a great weekend!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Couldn't really fault it quirky modern and well laid out. Loved the check in and service. Disappointed that they misplaced our luggage for almost 2 hours at check in and didn't offer an apology. Pool was awesome especially late in evening overlooking Lumphini park and Bangkok skyline. Bed so comfy smart TV a bit complicated but we did order room service and the burger was awesome 9lbeit expensive) and delivered within the timescale specified when ordering. The complimentary bar was a nice touch (soft drinks only) and the turn down service was consistent. Close to sky train and metro which made getting around simple and the walk through the park despite the heat (40 degrees). I have already recommended this hotel to friends and when I return to Bangkok I will definitely return to Sofitel so.

Room Tip: We stayed in the earth room whim was bright and fresh
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQScotlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We cannot thank you enough for a wonderful feedback and recommendation of Sofitel So Bangkok to your friends :-)

We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience caused to you by the delay in luggage delivery. Your patience and understanding are very much appreciated.

We hope to see you in a very near future! Next time when you visit us, please do not hesitate to ask for me as I would like to personally extend apologies and arrange VIP treatments for you.

Have afantastic weekend!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

If you enjoy the new breed of design centred hotels from the uniforms down to the themed room, you will really like SO Bangkok. The Good; rooms are very stylish and fun, the breakfast restaurant and HiSo rooftop bar and restaurant is understated and comfortable, the concierge on the ground floor is friendly and helpful. Needs improvement; the chemist mixing the welcome drink on the executive floor is a little over the top, taxis are difficult to come by (we used the hotel car most of the time), the route up the lifts requiring you to alight and shift over lifts to access the rooms is somewhat inconvenient. Overall a very cool hotel and will definitely return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ThePrincelyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are delighted to know you enjoyed the stay with us overall.
Regarding the welcome drink, we are very proud with our story telling. The idea is to create a total unique experience for the guests.

We understand how having separate lifts zone can be a challenge but a main part of it is security reasons.

Once again, thank you for conveying your feedback, which is valuable to us.
We hope to see you soon.

Have a fantastic weekend!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Amazing hotel.
Extraordinary large rooms, king size beds with Bangkok Lumpini Park view.In the large bath; bath tube,separate shower and private toilet. Only few minutes far from train station. Mini bar includes refreshments free of charge. High quality and selected music everywhere in hotel. Elegant spa service. Aaand breakfast.... Apologize since my English is not enough to explain variety...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest


What a lovely news to hear about your fantastic experience at So Bangkok, thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

I hope you will return soon as we would like to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest.

The weekend is approaching, please enjoy!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 858 in Bangkok
8,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
6,147 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 858 in Bangkok
3,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SO Sofitel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Sofitel Bangkok

Property: SO Sofitel Bangkok
Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SO Sofitel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime central location on the corner of North Sathorn and Rama IV roads, opposite Lumpini Park. SO Sofitel Bangkok offers panoramic views of both the park and the city's skyline. Few steps from Lumpini MRT Subway station and only10-min walk to Saladaeng BTS Skytrain station. Guests can conveniently access shopping & nightlife attractions including Silom, Terminal 21, Central World, Siam Paragon. Don Mueang and Suvarnabhumi International Airport are approximately 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SO Sofitel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing