We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SO Sofitel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SO Sofitel Bangkok
Ranked #17 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Amazing hotel.
Extraordinary large rooms, king size beds with Bangkok Lumpini Park view.In the large bath; bath tube,separate shower and private toilet. Only few minutes far from train station. Mini bar includes refreshments free of charge. High quality and selected music everywhere in hotel. Elegant spa service. Aaand breakfast.... Apologize since my English is not enough to explain variety...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest


What a lovely news to hear about your fantastic experience at So Bangkok, thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

I hope you will return soon as we would like to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest.

The weekend is approaching, please enjoy!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,833
    716
    177
    52
    48
See reviews for
455
1,711
373
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, SA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We actually were booked at So Sofitel Bangkok for our first two nights stay as part of a deal booked through Scoopon Travels, so to we very very shocked at how amazing the hotel actually was. I had sent an email to So Sofitel directly to confirm our booking a week in advance of our trip to mitigate any risk of not having our booking found when we arrived (we saw that a few reviewers in the past have had some problems in relation to Scoopon bookings at other hotels so we wanted to play it safe) and in my email I subtely mentioned that my husband and I were celebrating our honeymoon. So Sofitel responsed with 24 hours confirming our reservation and saying they will make our honeymoon extra special - and they So delivered!!!!
We arrived very late to Bangkok and could not wait to arrive in our hotel, we used the airport taxi service, but since the hotel is relatively new the taxi driver took an extra few minutes and U-turns to fine the hotel, the fare was 350 baht (inclusive of airport fee and tolls). we were greeted by a very friendly and brightly dressed concierge and taken to the lifts straightaway and our bags swiftly taken up by a different lift. we were meet by a very warm and approached hotel attendant who checked us in and take to our room and the whole time chatted to us about things offered by the hotel and things we could do around the city as well as detailed information about the Songkran festival that was taking place at the moment in Thailand to celebrate the new year.
She then gave us a tour of our wonderful room and all its facilities. I was so taken aback by the wonder Honey-moon swans on our king size bed with rose petals and a special gift box of luxury chocolates.
The room itself was breathtaking with a giant bath tub and separate rain shower and separate private toilet. Ample storage space and a state of the art television with cabel tv, internet access and room service ordering.
I really do not have words to describe how wonderful our stay was at So Sofitel and regret that we only had two night here :'(
We will definitely be going back.
The location of the hotel was ideal, 5 minutes walk to the Overground train and also very close to major shopping malls.
Disclaimer - Complimentary mini bar does not include any alcohol beverages but ample mixers for any beverages you may order from room services. Also includes delicious honey coated peanut snacks which are to die for - tried to find them in the mall stores in Bangkok and could not locate.

Room Tip: The Earth element i think is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASHMAN8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest


We really appreciate your feedback and recommendation about your experience at So Bangkok in depth, thank you so much.
What an absolute honor to have you spending your special occassion honeymoon celebration here with us! We are extremely delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay and our ambassadors did everything they could to make it at your most enjoyable!

We hope you will return soon as we love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back and seeing you as our regular guests!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Sofitel So is located at the corner of Lumpini Park with breathtaking views of the Bangkok skyline. The view is close to Manhattan hotel overlooking Central Park. As a design hotel, there are lovely details and one must visit the signature club on the 25th floor. There is a nice feel to the hotel and there are 2 good food outlets of which we tried the Park Society which is on the top floor and is a fine dining restaurant with a good wine list and one should have a drink in the open air lounge before or after dinner. We stayed in one of the suites which had separate living and bedrooms. The toilet was a wee small in relation to the rest of the room but the room was well appointed with an apple tv, writing kit and a suitably stocked fridge with complementary drinks and snacks. We enjoyed our stay and fully recommend the Sofitel So.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EYCLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback and recommendation with us.
It is absolutely fantastic to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here at SO Bangkok.

We hope you will return soon as we would like to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest.

Have a wonderful week ahead!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We arrived at 1am and were greeted like long-lost friends. We had booked a Club room so that we'd be able to use the special club lounge for breakfast, afternoon teas and evening drinks and canapés. When the hostess in the lounge discovered I am vegetarian, she sent word down to the chef who made special treats for me. This happened each time we went there in the evening.
Our room was Earth element which reminded us of a hobbit house - a little bit dark in the middle, but we had enormous windows overlooking Lumpini Park, with the most enormous bed I've ever slept in, plus huge shower and bath.
We arrived for the last day of Song Kran, so we knew we'd get soaked, and weren't disappointed. It's a 10 minute walk to Silom, Patpong Market and Sala Daeng skytrain station. From there it's a couple of stops to Central Market.
Staff all spoke excellent English and couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest


What a great pleasure to have you staying with us during Thai New Year 'Song Kran" festival! It is one of the most unique and memorable time of each year in Thailand!

We are very happy that you had a wonderful stay with us, especially with the services and helpfulness of our ambassadors. I have shared your comment to the team as it is so encouraging!

Have a so lovely week ahead!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

stayed there for our first two nights in Thailand.

went there from Suvarnabhumi airport via Express Train to Makkasan station and then via Metro to Lumphini station. from there it's just a short walk across the main street.

June ist by far the hottest time of the year in Bangkok (and nothern Thailand) so be prepared. The air is bad but not as bad as expected and in contrast to the local people we can leave after just a few days...

Reception is in the 6st floor and very spacious with bar and DJ in the evening. It's great and gives you a safe feeling when you know, that the floors with the rooms are only accesible with room cards and from the 6th floor via lift/elevator.

Staff very nice and warm-hearted.

Take a stroll in the evening in the Lumpini park! nice lake, monitor lizards in the canal/stream and live music!

Hotel rooms spacious, brand-new and with 4 different theme designs. we stayed in "metal" which was all white. Great bathroom with rainforest-shower and transparent glass to the sleeping room. only downturn was the sink which was a oblique plate in a marble basin, just needless and surely difficult to clean. nice welcome presents, very nice view although we didn't have the view over Lumpini park. a variety of complimentary drinks and snacks !!! we expected free water but not that everything was for free. excellent accessories kits in the bathroom, we even got a small tiger balm !!!
no balcony so smokers have to go outside.
street noise apparant even in the 15th floor.
bed was one of the best we ever slept in! would give the bed a 8 out of 10.

breakfast buffet not included, so we paid around USD 25.- extra per person. was worth it !!!

10min. to skytrain station
3min. to Metro
3min. to Lumpini park

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_from_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us with details.
We are happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay and enjoyed the room and facilities.

Yes...Lumpini park is absolutely amazing and serene. We're delighted you had a chance to visit.

We hope we will get a chance to welcome you back soon. Until then, please keep well & have a lovely week ahead!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nights in this new hotel last August, in one of the metal suite. Everything was perfect, the rooms were unbelivably charming and the prices were fair. Just one thing missing, the location... it is quite central, but you still need 4 wheels to hang around in the centre. But I guess it would not be very easy to move a entire building for this reason... Excellent otherwise, worth the price!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ilmioaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear valuable guest


We are delighted that your recent stay with us was amazing. Thank you for sharing us your feedback.
We hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Have a fantastic week ahead!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hotel was great!! Staff was very friendly. Room themes are original. (Elements theme) The view from the pool was awesome and quiet. The rooms were very clean and beds were comfortable as heck!! I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank icon2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear valuable guest


We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, especially the So bed & services provided.
Thank you for your feedback and great recommendation.

We hope you will return soon!


With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,936 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,136 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SO Sofitel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Sofitel Bangkok

Property: SO Sofitel Bangkok
Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SO Sofitel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime central location on the corner of North Sathorn and Rama IV roads, opposite Lumpini Park. SO Sofitel Bangkok offers panoramic views of both the park and the city's skyline. Few steps from Lumpini MRT Subway station and only10-min walk to Saladaeng BTS Skytrain station. Guests can conveniently access shopping & nightlife attractions including Silom, Terminal 21, Central World, Siam Paragon. Don Mueang and Suvarnabhumi International Airport are approximately 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your SO Sofitel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing