We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“new charming hotel in bangkok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SO Sofitel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SO Sofitel Bangkok
Ranked #17 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Roma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“new charming hotel in bangkok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nights in this new hotel last August, in one of the metal suite. Everything was perfect, the rooms were unbelivably charming and the prices were fair. Just one thing missing, the location... it is quite central, but you still need 4 wheels to hang around in the centre. But I guess it would not be very easy to move a entire building for this reason... Excellent otherwise, worth the price!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ilmioaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear valuable guest


We are delighted that your recent stay with us was amazing. Thank you for sharing us your feedback.
We hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Have a fantastic week ahead!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,821
    714
    176
    52
    48
See reviews for
454
1,702
372
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hotel was great!! Staff was very friendly. Room themes are original. (Elements theme) The view from the pool was awesome and quiet. The rooms were very clean and beds were comfortable as heck!! I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank icon2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear valuable guest


We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, especially the So bed & services provided.
Thank you for your feedback and great recommendation.

We hope you will return soon!


With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have to say everything about this hotel is class, from the rooms, the bar, the pool, the restaurants and especially the staff in their mega cool outfits. The breakfast was the best I have ever had and I just loved the ambience. I really do hope I make it back to this hotel in the near future 10/10

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear valuable guest


Your feedback here on Tripadvisor is awesome! Thank you for recommending us.

We are super happy that your stay was fantastic. Please come back soon as we would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest.

Have a great week ahead!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hotel designed by Christian Lacroix. It is like Alice in Wonderland. Surprising yet beautiful. They have several restaurants as well, all best-in-class and worth checking out. Great view from rooftop bar: not too high but features Lumpini park.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Polina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear valuable guest


We are so grateful for your wonderful feedback and recommendation here on Tripadvisor...thank you so much!

It is very delightful to us that you had a fantastic stay at So BKK, and especially admired our concept and hotel's stories. So please come back soon as there's still more surprises to tempt you :-)

Have a great week ahead!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Visited Sofitel So Bangkok last November and it was amazing to say the least.

From the whimsical yet classy staff uniforms to the insanely cool Red Oven restaurants this place is the best.

The rooms are spacious, clean and modern. I did stay on the top floor and the view from the bathroom / shower is awesome! The place is funky without feeling like you're in a themed hotel.

The pool looks over the park opposite and the skybar takes you away from it all below. You'd never know there were the busy streets of Bangkok below. This hotel is refined and 5 star.

The food is amazing and the staff so friendly. No easy access to BTS sky train but you can get a tuk tuk or taxi or even walk the distance to the nearest station. The Metro train station is not far too.

I will definitely be back... this hotel rocks!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smc0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear valuable guest

We cannot be happier when learn that you had an amazing experience at SO BKK, thank you for sharing your feedback and recommendation here on Tripadvisor about us!

We really hope you will return soon as it will be absolutely amazing to welcome you back once again!

Have a fantastic week ahead!


With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Thai gracious with modern twist combine with french perfection equal wow experience

This hotel really know how to make wow impression.

From an Enchanting welcome to great modern design. Everything about this hotel are unique.

Stayed. At the wood element. Room as requested. Great TV with user friendly and well thought content.

One thing could be improved; the lighting of the room. Some area are very dark.

Service Perfect all staff are gracious, friendly, eager to help. Great management team who deliver.

Definitely recommended for something different for Bangkok Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reggy168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and recommendation. We are very happy to know that you had a fantastic stay with us, especially with the services provided by our ambassadors and the Wood element room!

Please come back soon as we like to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest.
Until we meet again, please take care and have a lovely week ahead!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here the first two nights of a two week holiday in Thailand. Just off a long flight the reception at this hotel was fantastic - we were offered a welcome drink and the staff brought our bags up to our suites and gave us a tour of the room... Apple TV , rain shower the 3 rooms we got were all amazing. The pool was the best pool I have been in for a long time - infinity looking out at Bangkok and a lovely park - they roof bar and restaurant was classy with a DJ and nice mood. The locations was great and staff were all really friendly - I would suggest staying here if you are spending anytime in Bangkok - drinks were reasonably priced and bar food was delicious and priced well. I did not eat a the restaurant or get breakfast. All in all an amazing stay and will stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the blue rooms - they were nice however I don't think you can go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

What a fantastic comment and recommendation! Thank you so much for sharing your experience at So Bangkok here on Tripadvisor. It is so encouraging!

We are so happy to know that you love
d the Earht room element...next time you come, we'll tempt you with other elements and our So Spa treatments. You're going to love it!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,919 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,777 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SO Sofitel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Sofitel Bangkok

Property: SO Sofitel Bangkok
Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SO Sofitel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime central location on the corner of North Sathorn and Rama IV roads, opposite Lumpini Park. SO Sofitel Bangkok offers panoramic views of both the park and the city's skyline. Few steps from Lumpini MRT Subway station and only10-min walk to Saladaeng BTS Skytrain station. Guests can conveniently access shopping & nightlife attractions including Silom, Terminal 21, Central World, Siam Paragon. Don Mueang and Suvarnabhumi International Airport are approximately 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your SO Sofitel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing