We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So”
Review of SO Sofitel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
SO Sofitel Bangkok
Ranked #14 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel So Bangkok in late March 2013 as part of an Internet package. This package as it turned out was a VERY good deal and excellent value for money. Upon arriving at the Sofitel SO we were greeted enthusiastically and directed to the 9th floor where reception is located. We were immediately treated to a welcome drink, then Paul introduced himself and lead us through the check in process seated around very comfy chairs and a coffee table. Paul then personally took us to our room explained (quickly) how things worked then left us to settle in.

We were allocated room 2009, wood element that suited us perfectly. Everything you need to is your room. The hotel prides itself on being paperless (although that is not strictly true), however menus, hotel services etc are available via your large screen TV and Apple computer. There is a mini bar which is complimentary however no alcohol, just juices and nuts bars. The decor is stunning and the rooms are beautifully designed, however in my opinion I believe in the bathroom they have forfeited function for design. I indulged in a big bath on our second night and it was just plain uncomfortable. The stainless steel plug did not sit flush and as it is located in the middle of the bath one was forced to sit still to prevent serious injury to ones derrière. The shower gel, shampoo and conditioner are all in very nice ceramic pump bottles however they are located just out of reach on a beautifully designed little table. There was nowhere to place them closer or on the bath so reaching for them whilst trying to prevent injury was a challenge and a little dangerous. The shower was also very slippery and the second set of beautiful ceramic bottles were located on little recessed glass shelves that moved alarmingly every time you used the pump. The bed and pillows however were heaven and one of the most comfortable I have ever laid my body upon.

The hotel itself is stunning and the staff are very attentive and friendly. It is centrally located and within walking distance to Patpong, railway station etc. We ate at the Red Oven every morning for breakfast and you would be hard pressed finding a more tasty buffet selection. Fabulous pastries, Asian and western dishes are on offer, as well as good coffee just the way you like it. The pool area is fantastic and they provide a fabulous changing area where you can deodorise, powder, comb, fluff whatever, all is provided.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Sofitel So for business or leisure. Sit back, soak up the atmosphere, the decor and the service. I give Sofitel So a 4 out of 5 simply because I love design, however I do not believe that function and comfort should ever be sacrificed.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank QueenslandTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear So Guest

We are so delighted that overall you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for sharing your feedback and recommendation so lovely here on Tripadvisor.
We do totally agree with you that design & practically should be equally important, and therefore, we have shared your comment to our project team and Director of Engineer, Mr. Prabda so that they will find appropriate measures to improve what went below your expectation, you can rest assured on that.

We hope you would give us the opportunity to welcome you back and better serve you in a near future.

Wishing you were here to celebrate Thai 'SongKran' New Year and water blessing ceremony with us!
Have a so lovely weekend!

With So Courtesy

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,642 - 2,648 of 4,454 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Love this hotel from the moment I see their pictures gallery!

Room
1. Room with the Park View is definitely a MUST.
2. Stayed in Metal and Earth (Corner) room with Park View. Earth room is bigger and funkier. If you are a minimalist and like one color scheme, Metal is your choice (I prefer the bed in Metal room - firmer).
3. Choose the Elements Package where you can swap room if you wanted to (just give you an option, we stayed in two different room instead of 4, as the package allows you to change room every day for 4 days)
4. Free Minibar - nice
5. Wi Fi Access seems a bit slow but I'm not here for business, so that is fine.
6. In Room Coffee Machine - How cool is that! I love coffee and this is a very nice touch!

Location
1. Not very far from Patpong and BTS, 15 mins walk but if you hate the heat and humidity, take a cab to anywhere you want to go although the staff will tell you to walk as it is not very far. Yes, traffic jam is really bad, but not as bad at night ... depending where you are going or if you have an appointment.
2. Cab fare to Patpong would be around 40 baht by meter or 100 baht without meter, to Siam Paragon probably around 60-80 baht and took about 30 mins (during traffic jam - could end up the same if you take BTS for two person).

Services
1. Can't complain at all with the price you pay - superb! They are all nice people and friendly staffs,

Park Society
1. The package came with free dinner package. Did not have much expectation but it turned out to be an amazing dinner! Super Quality! the lobster pate is delicious, thumb up for the Chef!

Red Oven Breakfast
1. Variety of Choices (Asian and Western) and good services!

Red Oven Buffet Dinner
1. Variety of Choices, but do not understand why drink (e.g. juice, coffee) is NOT included in the price as per Breakfast!

Spa
1. Very nice - tried their Sport Massage - so good until Zzzzzzz

Swimming Pool, Gym, Sauna
1. Good view from the pool and the water is so warm and good to swim in
2. Gym equipment is sufficient
3. Sauna is clean and very nice

Limo Pick Up from Hotel
1. If you or your partner is a first timer, spoil yourself and your partner with it!
2. Price are 4x higher than the taxi but you will be welcomed by the sweet hotel representatives and some nice refreshment in a BMW limo.

Upgrade to Club Signature
1. Yes! If definitely worth it. With breakfast included, and 1000 baht massage voucher, free cocktail from 5 to 7 daily.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank mrWongWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear So Guest

I have to say that your feedback is exceptionally insightful & fantastic! Thank you for writing such a wonderful recommendation about us!

We're super super glad that you have fallen in love with So Bangkok ever since you saw our photo gallery. We're so delighted to have you staying with us too & sad you had to leave.
Please come back soon as we love to see you as our regular guest!

Wishing you were here to celebrate Thai 'SongKran' New Year and water blessing ceremony with us!
Have a so lovely weekend!

With So Courtesy

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel offers a unique experience and fantastic views. The resturants are also a total experience. I think that the hotel offers such an incredible experiential stay that often the details are overlooked. Our bathroom leaked. The shower was not as clean as I would have expected for a five star hotel and the blinds were wearing with one broken. There was external road noise that kept us awake. It takes a huge team effort to keep such a hotel operational at such a 'star level' and I appreciated the time we stayed but I think a little TLC in the rooms would help. Overall the stay was impecible and I woudl recommend this hotel as a great experience.

Room Tip: Choose your 'theme' room for a little extra treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outhere_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear So Guest

We're glad to hear that overall you had a lovely stay at SO Bangkok, however, we're so sorry to hear that there were some shortcomings with your experience in the room. This has been shared with Director of Engineer, Mr. Prabda to rectify the matters urgently.

We hope you would give us the opportunity to welcome you back and better serve you with a more typical and high standards that we're proud of.

Wishing you were here to celebrate Thai 'SongKran' New Year and water blessing ceremony with us!
Have a so lovely weekend!

With So Courtesy

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here with friends on a recent 5 day R&R trip. We stayed in one of the suites on the water element floors.

Good:
Really contemporary fit-out, very cutting edge, we loved it
fabulous infinity pool
Funky staff uniforms
Massive room
Free mini bar (non alcohol)
Amazing Spa
Really friendly warm staff
Great breakfast buffet at "the oven" level 7
Sensational level 29 roof bar.

Average (there really wasn't any bad)
Club level staff were very friendly but..... unnecessarily complicated protracted check in, just give me the keys and let me go to my room !
Drinks in club lounge - staff have no bar service training, takes 30 minutes to get a beer
Food in club lounge - pretty ordinary and finishes at 7 pm on the knocker ! the chef was lining up chomping at the bit at 6:55 to clean it all up
Staff at pool bar were lovely, but you literally had to walk to the pool bar to get a drink, table service was poor at best
its really hard to get a cab at night, peak hour virtually closes the road in front of the hotel

in summary apart from a few minor service issues (which really arent that big a deal) you'll love this hotel, but if you like olde worlde and wood paneled style (think shangri-la) give it a miss.

Room Tip: go for a high floor suite / club level, its worth the few extra dollars. Also if you are planning a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blairegourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear So Guest

Your feedback is truly constructive and we are so thankful for that! All the points you have raised, we have carefully noted, and therefore, head of service teams of concerned departments have been involved to improve those service areas. The training manager has also been involved to arrange appropriate trainings for all ambassadors.

However, we thank you for an excellent recommendation on Tripadvisor here. It is so wonderful to know that you had an enjoyable stay!
We hope to see you again and to have the opportunity to better serve you with a more typical and high standards that we are proud of.

Wishing you were here to celebrate Thai 'SongKran' New Year and water blessing ceremony with us!
Have a so lovely weekend!

With So Courtesy

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel as part of our trip to Thailand. Loved the hotel, our room was great, beds were so comfortable and the view across to the park was breathtaking. We dined upstairs on the first night and I can honestly say it was the best meal we had all trip. Staff were amazing and helpful. I visited the spa twice and would highly recommend

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear So Guest

When will we get the pleasure to welcome you back again? We have missed you already & hope to see you soon...as we love to have you as our regular guest!

Thank you for a wonderful feedback & recommendation! We're so happy that your stay was magnificent & our ambassadors were helpful & made you feel at home.

Wishing you were here to celebrate Thai 'SongKran' New Year and water blessing ceremony with us!
Have a so lovely weekend!

With So Courtesy

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at this new luxury hotel during the Saint Valentin weekend ! Whoa... the interior design is super, truly unique and avant-garde ! Room decoration from the Wood element is So beautiful, special mention for the good isolation system! This luxury hotel offers top gym installation and a huge and magnifique pool with skyview on the Lumpini park. Thank you to the staff for their very professional services, and a special warmly thanks to the Duty Manager during our stay ( Mr E. Panngam ) for his professionalism. From Belgium... We will come back to this hotel for our next stay in Bangkok !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrusselsDNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear So Guest

It was a great honor to have you spending special occasion such a Valentine's day at So Bangkok and we're even more delighted to hear that you had an absolutely amazing experience with us. Thank you for your feedback & wonderful recommendation.

Your encouraging feedback has been shared with the team and Mr. Cretallaz our General Manager. It is valuable and help us drive our ambassadors to consistency in delivering excellent services.

Also wishing you were here to celebrate Thai 'SongKran' New Year and water blessing ceremony with us!

Have a lovely weekend!

WIth So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is absolutely amazing one of the best we have stayed in. The rooms WOW service & everything else just fabulous. Not the best location but the hotel makes up for that. We had club floor and just so great has outside balcony so can sit outside, which not many other hotels have. The rooms are themed, water, earth, wood, and metal they are simply amazing .
Towels, bed linen, bathroom products all top quality . Bed turndown service every night with bottled water beside your bed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Helenbrock5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear So Guest

Your recommendation and feedback here on Tripadvisor is truly amazing and encouraging. Thank you so much!
We're so happy that your stay with us was totally enjoyable. We hope to see you back soon as we'd like to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest.

Wishing you were here to celebrate Thai 'SongKran' New Year and water blessing ceremony with us!

Have a lovely weekend!

WIth So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#37 of 891 in Bangkok
6,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 891 in Bangkok
8,639 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 891 in Bangkok
4,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SO Sofitel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Sofitel Bangkok

Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $177 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SO Sofitel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime central location on the corner of North Sathorn and Rama IV roads, opposite Lumpini Park. SO Sofitel Bangkok offers panoramic views of both the park and the city's skyline. Few steps from Lumpini MRT Subway station and only10-min walk to Saladaeng BTS Skytrain station. Guests can conveniently access shopping & nightlife attractions including Silom, Terminal 21, Central World, Siam Paragon. Don Mueang and Suvarnabhumi International Airport are approximately 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SO Sofitel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing