We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class. Must be nearly six star.”
Review of SO Sofitel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SO Sofitel Bangkok
Ranked #14 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A touch of class. Must be nearly six star.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Best hotel we have ever stayed at. The staff are to be complimented on their attention to detail.
From their immaculate uniforms to their happy smiley greetings they make you feel welcome at every turn. The rooms are not huge but very well appointed from the big screen TV/Computer to the free mini bar(not including alcohol). The breakfasts are amazing with everything you could imagine. Not quite as relaxed as some places but if you are looking for something a little difference, quirky and special this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 17th floor and had great views over the city and park. Also great views at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear So Guest

It is so fabulous to hear that you had a great stay with us, particular enjoying the services provided by our ambassadors. We are so proud to learn this!
Thank you so much for your feedback and great recommendation of our hotel on Tripadvisor!

We wish to welcome you back in a near furture & have the pleasure to have you as our regular guest.

Until we meet agaain, please keep well 7 have a lovely week!

With So Courtesy

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,019
    760
    183
    54
    51
See reviews for
476
1,824
404
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Metro Manila
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I loved the hotel's design aesthetic. It was an ambitious stab at global, which can easily go wrong in the hands of lesser artists, but at So Bangkok, it works. The room deserves coveting. We stayed at the Metal element, which was white on white with punctuations of gray. It was heaven. Everything was a click or a button press away - the bedroom and bathroom drapes, the room service menu, the web, you name it. There was a flat-screen TV with Apple TV amd Bluetooth-connected keyboard, which allowed us to use the flat-screen for watching TV, streaming movies, surfing online, etc. The hotel was a five-minute walk to Lumphini station, which means that you have easy access to the MRT and Skytrain to go Chatuchak, Asiatique, or anywhere in Bangkok. For more on Sofitel So Bangkok, I wrote a review and posted photos on my blog - www.travelswithgusto.com.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siwanderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear So Guest

Wow!!! What an amazing feedback and recommendation you wrote here, particularly kind comments on yur blog...this is fab! We truly appreciate that!
Most importantly, we are so delighted to know that your stay with us was fantastic and you found our design concept and overal experience were wonderful!

We hope to see you back soon aswe would love to have the pleasure to have you as our regular guest.

Until we meet again, please take care & have a lovely weekend!

With So Courtesy

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Overall it was a good new hotel to stay at and generally service was good. We stayed two nights in So Comfy rooms in two themes, Earth and Wood. The layout of the Wood room gave much more practical space, although this may be more a function of position on the floorplate and the internal support columns.
Room make up if staying more than one night was very late. On one occasion it was after 5pm only after contacting the "Solution Centre" to complain, despite having left the "Make up My room" sign on since 7.30am. I think the "Solution Centre" needs more of an "Implementation Team".
The pool and fitness area was an enjoyable place to relax and look over the traffic below.
While nice and new now, the poor room furniture finishes will soon become a maintanence issue. Already the door seals around the shower doors were falling off and particularly the garish Earth wallpaper was beginning to peel.
Breakfasts in the "Red Oven" were pleasant and adequate but the hot foods were often "tired" from having been out for a while.

Room Tip: So Comfy rooms are those overlooking Limpini Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ochlophobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear So Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your previous stay at So Bangkok.
We carefully note each point you have raised and shared with concerned departments to immediately rectify the matters, particular with the delay in turn down service. Please accpet our sincere apologies on that.

However, we are happy to hear that overall you're happy with your stay. We truly wish you would return to us in a very near future so that we can better serve you with a more typical and high standards that we are rpoud of.

Once again, thank you for your feedback which is really valuable to us and kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience you had experienced.

With So Courtesy

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and the service was excellent and attentive with two young children.
The Food exquisite and the chef very attentive to the children taste ans prepared special menu.
The uniform of the staff is the better I have seen. And quite nice design of the bathroom and rooms as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear So Guest

It's so delightful to hear that you and you family had a wonderful time here with us! Thank you for recommending us a good score and sharing your feedback.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcoming you back so soon & have you as our regulars!

Take care and have a so lovely week!

With So Courtesy

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

the room in spa suit is terrible dark.
we request to change another room, got no any call from front desk staff response while she said she'd respond by any results.
the water can't flow down in shower room & no one came to help after making 3 calls
what a nightmare experience in the so

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gennychen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear So Guest

Our Gener Manager, Mr. Gilles Cretallaz and management team had carefully read each point you have raised with concerns. We would like to express our deepest apologies for the inconvenience and frustration you had experienced, which is atypical and far from what we are proud of.
We truly hope you would give us the opportunity to servce you better with a more typical and high standards that we believe in, therefore, we would like to ask for your permission to contact you persoanlly for further discussion. Please kindly drop me a quick email to H6835-HR2@sofitel.com so that I will personally contact you and to extend apologies.

We profoundly apreciate your time to convey the feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to make the amence.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

With So Courtesy

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne Island, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. Beautiful decor, extremely helpful staff with good English. Rooftop bar was amazing with stunning views of the city skyline and beautiful tasting cocktails. The adjoining restaurant has excellent food and very attentive service. My only criticism was the food was not very hot when served. A hot plate would have made a significant improvement. It was expensive meal but this was to be expected at this location.
Breakfast buffet was probably the best I have seen at any hotel and provided a great start to the day.
A word of warning is that Tuk Tuk drivers were mostly not aware of its location even after showing them the address in English. A card with relevant information in Thai and English was available at reception.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanL4680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear So Guest

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to hear that overall you had a wonderful time with us. The point you raised regarding hot plates has been shared with Wine & Dine team to find approrpiate measure.

We wish you a lovely week and hope to welcome you back so soon!

With So Courtesy

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My room choice of Water element theme was done in white, which I find very relaxing and soothing. Upon checking in, we were led to the 9th floor lobby where we were given an interesting welcome drink. The room was equipped with our very own illy espresso machine and COMPLIMENTARY bar drinks and snacks which was replenished daily. The bathroom was spacious, with a separate shower area and a huge tub. Had a great view of the park across the hotel and Silom area was a quick 10 minute walk away. The bathroom and windows of the room had automatic curtains which you control at the flick of a switch. The best part was the Sky Society rooftop bar on the 29th floor where you can have a martini while enjoying a great view of Bangkok, which I visited every night.

Room Tip: Check the website for your preferred room theme prior to arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear So Guest

It is amazing to know that you had a wonderful experience since the beginning of your arrival, the unique magical welcome drink, minibar & room amenities like the espresso machine...to your departure. It is such an encouraging feedback...thank you so much!

We wish you a lovely week and hope to see you soon as we would like to have the pleasure of welcoming you back as our regulars!

With So Courtesy

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 862 in Bangkok
8,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#29 of 862 in Bangkok
6,208 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SO Sofitel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Sofitel Bangkok

Property: SO Sofitel Bangkok
Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SO Sofitel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime central location on the corner of North Sathorn and Rama IV roads, opposite Lumpini Park. SO Sofitel Bangkok offers panoramic views of both the park and the city's skyline. Few steps from Lumpini MRT Subway station and only10-min walk to Saladaeng BTS Skytrain station. Guests can conveniently access shopping & nightlife attractions including Silom, Terminal 21, Central World, Siam Paragon. Don Mueang and Suvarnabhumi International Airport are approximately 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SO Sofitel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing