We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SO Sofitel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SO Sofitel Bangkok
Ranked #17 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Two stays at this hotel, both times excellent. Rooms are good, and service was great. Stayed on Club Floor which was great value. After learning we had an early check out, early morning breakfast boxes were organised for the next day which were much appreciated in lieu of the airline food!

Room Tip: Need a few stays to experience the different room types. Upgrade to Club Floor good value, especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicDD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear SO Guest


So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us both times of your visit. Can't thank you enough to choose us as your favorite hotel!

The Club Signature team is sending their Thai hello "Sowasdee ka!" to you & hope to see you return as our regular customer!

Wishing you a so amazing year of 2013 that fills with love & joy. See you soon!

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,891
    725
    178
    52
    48
See reviews for
460
1,742
384
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

From beginning to end our experience with Sofitel so was amazing. Here is our story.

We arrived about 10am on the day of our check in (obviously too early to check in) on the ground level, we were personally escorted up to the club lounge on level 25 (I think). We were taken care of by a lovely lady and I wish I could remember her name. She sat us down in the club lounge and got us a cool drink. She went through our check in and ensured that we got the room we wanted and it was on the 28th floor! I loved the mixologist with the drink and thought it was really unique and clever not to mention delicious. After about a 10min wait we were taken up to our room (during this time we were provided with another drink and some cookies!). Our room was so stunning. Floor to ceiling windows looking out over the city, a hidden wardrobe and a huge bathroom with an amazing bath and rain shower. The bed was without doubt the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. We made use of the club lounge as much as possible attending afternoon tea (amazing french and thai food and lovely drinks) and cocktail hours (with delicious delicacies and cheeses and lovely cocktails) and the breakfast with personally made breakfasts. The pool area was stunning and the sunning area was great too. The gym was excellent with plenty of machines and a beautiful view out over lumpini park. The staff simply were excellent - they could not do enough to help us and we did not want for anything. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. My fiance and I could say for sure that even though we have travelled around the world, Sofitel So is the perfect mixture of french elegance and Thai hospitality and is truly one of the best hotels in the world.

Room Tip: We stayed in a water room which was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear SO Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

For Christmas 2012 we decided to go to a 5 star hotel with a international reputation whilst the interior is amazing and the building is very well designed we sadly found some ants in the read sticks.

When we told on duty staff we saw no corrective action taken for the safety of the diners, I feel this was a let down for a major brand and as a Bangkok local will not return,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusara A, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your feedback.

We are terribly sorry to learn that your Christmas lunch experience was very disappointing, atypical, and far from our usual high standards that we proud of. Please do accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment you were caused.
Concerned departments have been notified to rectify the matter immediately kindly rest assured on that.

While I realise that there is nothing that we can do to change the past, it is very important for us to restore your confidence and trust in the hotel, and therefore we would be appreciated if you don't mind allow us to contact you for further discussion and to extend personal apologies.
Kindly drop me a quick note with your contact details via my email H6835-HR2@sofitel.com.

I hope you would give us another opportunity to welcoming you back in order to restore your trust and confident.

Warmest Regards


Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I had a great experience with the 2 nights stay. We were impressed by the very beginning, the welcome drink. It was a very pretty one, I won't share it here as this should be left for you as a surprise. They have 4 themes for their rooms and we got the earth room. (the other ones are Metal, Water and The interior design was very modern.

The staff was very friendly and helpful with all of our requests. The location may not be the best from my point of view. It is located opposite to the park for people who would like to enjoy the quietness but I personally like convenience it will be better if there were more shopping centres or restaurants around. Nevertheless, a short walk to MRT with 5 min walk and a BTS with about 15 min walk.

They have infinity pool and gym on level 10. I would say the pool was better than Marina Bay Sands from Singapore, just came back from MBS and there were way too many people there..

I also loved the Pad Thai on Level 9. Very pretty :)

Definitely recommend for Bangkok travelers! Have a luxury experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomnom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear SO Guest


We read your comment with happiness as we learn that you had an enjoyable experience particularly with our unique welcome drink, tasty padthai and helpful ambassadors!

Your feedback has been shared with the team as it's so encouraging...thank you so much!

Wishing you an excellent year of prosperity & happiness, and hopefully we'll get to welcome you back so soon!

With SO Courtesy

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalais, France
Level Contributor
194 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel get the prize for being the whackiest so far.............................................
The decor is somewhat bizarre, in the room I stayed in the predominant colour was BLUE and boy was it blue, the room itself had all the comforts of a Sofitel with an extremely comfortable bed and all amenities. I am not sure exactly what the Hotel is trying to acheive here as they really do not need to do this, It does nothing for the ambience in fact in places it down right awkward to see what you are doing due to the lack of lights !! In general its quite gloomy inside, the roms could do with extra lights. To say the Hotel only opened in February 2012 it is showing some wear and tear and thefinish to some of the decor is not quite there.
Having said all that,the staff make you feel relaxed and at home and they cannot do enough for you,
The pool area is quite and tranquil and of course it is a vista pool ! The food generally was not that great and to be honest you can get far better in central Bangkok.
The location is far from the central action and require a taxi ride to get you anywhere, which is not a great hardship as Taxis are cheap in Bangkok.
Would I stay here again, MMmmm probably not, I would opt for the Sofitel on Sukhumvit, the main reason being quick and easy access to the nightlife and shops, but the decor has a lot to do with my decision !!

Room Tip: If you like whacky and funky stay here, if not go to the Sofitel on Sukhumvit !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear So Guest


We're so glad to hear that you were well looked after by our ambassadors! This is so encouraging!

Our hotel design concept is to aim for natural light, which is eco friendly and that is why you can see that in all the guest rooms, the main public areas like the Park Lobby and the restaurants are all built with panoramic glass windows. However, we appreciate your feedback on this regards, therefore, our project team has started adding some more lights into the guest rooms.

Next time when you visit, our City Guru will make sure to give you tips and insightful information of areas around the hotel that it is actually pretty convenient to take an MRT which is just right across the street from the hotel, which can take you to all over Bangkok!

Wishing you a very happy new year of 2013 & hope to see you in a very near future!

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 852 in Bangkok
6,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 852 in Bangkok
7,879 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 852 in Bangkok
4,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SO Sofitel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Sofitel Bangkok

Property: SO Sofitel Bangkok
Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SO Sofitel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime central location on the corner of North Sathorn and Rama IV roads, opposite Lumpini Park. SO Sofitel Bangkok offers panoramic views of both the park and the city's skyline. Few steps from Lumpini MRT Subway station and only10-min walk to Saladaeng BTS Skytrain station. Guests can conveniently access shopping & nightlife attractions including Silom, Terminal 21, Central World, Siam Paragon. Don Mueang and Suvarnabhumi International Airport are approximately 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SO Sofitel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing