We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SO Sofitel Bangkok
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AETAS lumpini(Bangkok)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,749)
Filter reviews
4,749 results
Traveler rating
3,566
856
205
63
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,566
856
205
63
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslumpini parkclub signaturepark societyred oven restaurantearth elementrooftop barwater elementwood elementpool partyearth roomchristian lacroixpark viewwater roomwood roomwater themestaff uniformswelcome drink
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,937 - 2,942 of 4,749 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I had a great experience with the 2 nights stay. We were impressed by the very beginning, the welcome drink. It was a very pretty one, I won't share it here as this should be left for you as a surprise. They have 4 themes for their rooms and we got the earth room. (the other ones are Metal, Water and The interior design was very modern.

The staff was very friendly and helpful with all of our requests. The location may not be the best from my point of view. It is located opposite to the park for people who would like to enjoy the quietness but I personally like convenience it will be better if there were more shopping centres or restaurants around. Nevertheless, a short walk to MRT with 5 min walk and a BTS with about 15 min walk.

They have infinity pool and gym on level 10. I would say the pool was better than Marina Bay Sands from Singapore, just came back from MBS and there were way too many people there..

I also loved the Pad Thai on Level 9. Very pretty :)

Definitely recommend for Bangkok travelers! Have a luxury experience!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomnom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear SO Guest


We read your comment with happiness as we learn that you had an enjoyable experience particularly with our unique welcome drink, tasty padthai and helpful ambassadors!

Your feedback has been shared with the team as it's so encouraging...thank you so much!

Wishing you an excellent year of prosperity & happiness, and hopefully we'll get to welcome you back so soon!

With SO Courtesy

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel get the prize for being the whackiest so far.............................................
The decor is somewhat bizarre, in the room I stayed in the predominant colour was BLUE and boy was it blue, the room itself had all the comforts of a Sofitel with an extremely comfortable bed and all amenities. I am not sure exactly what the Hotel is trying to acheive here as they really do not need to do this, It does nothing for the ambience in fact in places it down right awkward to see what you are doing due to the lack of lights !! In general its quite gloomy inside, the roms could do with extra lights. To say the Hotel only opened in February 2012 it is showing some wear and tear and thefinish to some of the decor is not quite there.
Having said all that,the staff make you feel relaxed and at home and they cannot do enough for you,
The pool area is quite and tranquil and of course it is a vista pool ! The food generally was not that great and to be honest you can get far better in central Bangkok.
The location is far from the central action and require a taxi ride to get you anywhere, which is not a great hardship as Taxis are cheap in Bangkok.
Would I stay here again, MMmmm probably not, I would opt for the Sofitel on Sukhumvit, the main reason being quick and easy access to the nightlife and shops, but the decor has a lot to do with my decision !!

Room Tip: If you like whacky and funky stay here, if not go to the Sofitel on Sukhumvit !!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear So Guest


We're so glad to hear that you were well looked after by our ambassadors! This is so encouraging!

Our hotel design concept is to aim for natural light, which is eco friendly and that is why you can see that in all the guest rooms, the main public areas like the Park Lobby and the restaurants are all built with panoramic glass windows. However, we appreciate your feedback on this regards, therefore, our project team has started adding some more lights into the guest rooms.

Next time when you visit, our City Guru will make sure to give you tips and insightful information of areas around the hotel that it is actually pretty convenient to take an MRT which is just right across the street from the hotel, which can take you to all over Bangkok!

Wishing you a very happy new year of 2013 & hope to see you in a very near future!

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

On arriving at the hotel we were taken back as the reception was not there,,but then up to the 7 floor with a beautiful view and a bar we felt relaxed and cool..the staff were also very friendly and the service great..restaurants offered a huge choice of buffet ..location is ok but a nice place to chill in Bangkok without leaving the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear SO Guest


We're so delighted to know that regardless the unexpected arrival at the street lobby, you were overall happy with your stay with us at So Bangkok, especially with the friendliness of our So ambassadors.

We hope to get the pleasure to welcome you back as our regular guest...please just say so when that occasion arises.

Have a fantastic new year that fills with joy and success!

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

First time to the new Sofitel So. Service on arrival and throughout our stay was outstanding. Their uniforms are stunning, as is the check-in level/bar area. On the downside, the lifts are confusing: have to swap elevators twice to get from ground floor to the room floor, and was not told I had to swipe card to gain access to the room level. Other people were also confused when I was there. Gym could do with more weights, otherwise fine. Pool looked lovely. We had the 'Wood' themed room. Excellent original idea being able to have options of room style, and decor looked great. Downside of rooms: obviously built way too fast / "on-the-cheap". This hotel is brand new, yet the draw in the bathroom kept coming open by itself, and there was a hole in the shower wall where it had not being grouted properly. Overall however, I was very happy with my stay, and would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThaiGoldRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear So Guest


Thank you so much for your feedback. Your points have been carefully noted and shared with concerned departments to rectify please rest assured on that.
Nevertheless, we are so gald to also learn that you had an enjoyable stay & you found our uniform is beautiful.

Wishing you an amazing year of 2013 that filled with joy & success!

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews