We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel finished too quickly, overall very poor”
Review of SO Sofitel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SO Sofitel Bangkok
Ranked #14 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“hotel finished too quickly, overall very poor”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I'm disappointed with this hotel. Lets start with the bathroom. The over-powering smell was so bad that I needed to change rooms, just like standing right on top of one of Bangkok's wastewater drains. All the practicalities fail: the hairdryer cords are so short that it constantly pops out of the socket whenever you try to use it, there are only large toiletry dispensers so you share them with all guests and anyway they constantly jam and dribble, and the grouting on all tiles, bath and sink has been done very badly. it's uneven, has been smeared over the walls, not cleaned properly and left stains. In the room, the airconditioning is stuck on freeze, and use of cheap wood veneer on the desk tops and minibar fridge means its already scratching badly and looking cheap, despite the hotel only just opening. this hotel is all about superficial style, but no practical substance. The staff are friendly enough, but there's alot of them (read, too many), they appear disorganised, and they have the irritating habit of all chorussing the Thai hello as soon as you enter a room like reception. I stay at five star hotels on business roughly 150-200nights per year and this one bombs out versus peers.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TAA-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusara A, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us at Sofitel So Bangkok.

We are so sorry to read that you found us falling short of expectations, but we appreciate your taking the time to share your comments, because they will help us improve our services and products.

We believe that our Guest Director, Mr. Stephen Gould, has personally met you during your stay and some measures have been done in order to turn your disappointed experience to a satisfied one. We hope that overall you eventually enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, thank you so much for your valuable feedback which will definitely help us improve to reach every guest’s satisfaction. We are looking forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Nusara Arampienlert (Ms.)
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,939
    738
    180
    53
    48
See reviews for
468
1,773
390
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This hotel is amazing. I went to many hotel in Bangkok but for sure this one is my favourite. The hotel is well located next to MTR and the Lumpini park.5 min by car from MBK and not so far from the center.The staff are very professional and helpful. The hotel itself is fabulous.I try already 3 elements,the water element is very peaceful and out of ordianary as the earth element. Inside each room you can enjoy a Apple mac mini systeme with integrated entertainment and you even can enjoy the music inside the bathroom.The room offers the view of Lumpini park is gorgeous! The bed is very very comfortable,you will enjoy your night. And when you will see the view from the swiming pool....
You can also have some drink or enjoy your dinner on the rooftop of the hotel but must book before.
All the hotel was design by famous Thai architect, I was really amazed by the dress of all women staff design by Christian Lacroix. This hotel is a very good experience of Bangkok!

Room Tip: Even if its a bit expensive than the city view,the Lumpini view is very amazing,If you want to choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nek961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusara A, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us at Sofitel So Bangkok.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel has become your favorite hotel in Bangkok. We will definitely maintain our standard and continually improve our services and products to ensure every guest’s satisfaction.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel to experience other elements with us.

Yours Sincerely,

Nusara Arampienlert (Ms.)
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Chose "Metal" out of the four elements. It is a stylish and comfortable hotel room with a great view of the Lumphini Park. 

The hotel puts a lot of emphasis on personal touch - 
Welcome drinks were served.
A Welcome Angel escorted us to the room and gave us a brief introduction of the hotel on the way up.
I sought help for restaurant reservation in concierge on the ground floor on the first day. That staff started to address me by name thereafter during the stay. 
Documents and stuff were already ready before we were in the reception counter for checkout. Taxi was ready when we were at the gate.

Didn't try any restaurants and bars in the hotel, the room service was good though.
Choices are very limited after midnight. We ordered a burger and Club sandwiches. They are yummy!!!

Convenient location; Attentive, helpful and friendly staff; Cool hotel room with all the necessary amenities; illy espresso machine and complimentary minibar with a selection of drinks and snacks....

BUT, flies and mites were found in the room. The problem should be addressed ASAP, or it will ruin all the +ve they have.

So Bangkok is so awesome. I will definitely choose So Bangkok again next time I'm in Bangkok.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank seungsuisun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusara A, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us at Sofitel So Bangkok.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will consider our hotel for your next visit in Bangkok. However, we are so sorry to hear about the problem with the flies in our hotel. We would like to inform you that we are trying our best to solve this problem as some measures have already been implemented to solve this issue.

Once again, thank you so much for your comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Nusara Arampienlert (Ms.)
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This new hotel in Bangkok offers great accomodations with convenient access to the metro. The location is ideal as it is not in the middle of the action but has a beautiful view of Lumpini Park and is right next to the metro station connecting to the SkyTrain. As a Gold card member, I think the staff was not aware of the benefits I was entitled to as I had to ask for them and I did not get the upgrade that I was entitled to. Besides that oversight, the hotel itself is fabulous. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rain shower with the amenities are a luxury. The pool and the view over the city and park are gorgeous. The room we stayed in was the earth themed, but I would have like to have tried the Water theme as it looked more relaxing.
Overall, the staff was extremely helpful, accomodating and did their best to ensure the satisfaction of the guests.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elseeyel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusara A, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us at Sofitel So Bangkok.

We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. However, please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of acknowledgment for your Accor Le Club Gold Member status. We are now monitoring this closely and will make sure that such an incident will not occur again in the future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We are looking forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Nusara Arampienlert (Ms.)
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

If you want a hotel experience out of the ordinary, you will find it here: although this hotel is part of the Sofitel chain, it feels like a boutique hotel. Very stylish decor throughout, with "elements"-themed rooms (I've tried "wood" and "metal" so far), and a breathtaking lobby and lounge at the 9th floor with views over Lumpini park with CBD skyline behind. The hotel only opened in spring this year and you have to expect some kinks in both the hardware and the service. But the hotel is very well located, close to the expressway and Lumpini MRT, and just across Lumpini Park should you feel like a stroll. The views are good on both sides, but the views of the park are worth paying for a little extra.

Room Tip: The park view rooms have an extraordinary view over Lumpini Park and the skyline behind. On both sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkgmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusara A, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to give your feedback on your recent stay with us at Sofitel So Bangkok.

We are delighted to hear that you like our hotel style and location. We have noted on the point you mentioned about our hardware and service. We are now trying our best to improve our products and services to meet great guest expectations.

Once again, thank you so much for your feedback. We are looking forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Nusara Arampienlert (Ms.)
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,040 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SO Sofitel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Sofitel Bangkok

Property: SO Sofitel Bangkok
Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SO Sofitel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime central location on the corner of North Sathorn and Rama IV roads, opposite Lumpini Park. SO Sofitel Bangkok offers panoramic views of both the park and the city's skyline. Few steps from Lumpini MRT Subway station and only10-min walk to Saladaeng BTS Skytrain station. Guests can conveniently access shopping & nightlife attractions including Silom, Terminal 21, Central World, Siam Paragon. Don Mueang and Suvarnabhumi International Airport are approximately 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SO Sofitel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing