We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds the Promise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oriental Residence Bangkok
Ranked #10 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had booked another hotel in Bangkok and were so disappointed upon arrival that we decided to switch (walking away from a night's deposit). We moved to the Oriental Residence and were completely satisfied. The facilities are operating room clean and the location is peaceful, surrounded on three sides by the grounds of the enormous U.S. embassy. What really set the hotel apart is the staff, proactive and friendly. When we mentioned in passing that we were vegetarians, the staff took it upon themselves to create a list of appropriate restaurant options. We did not try the restaurant but the pool area, although compact, is really pleasant with wonderful city views. The rooms and lobby have a timeless mix of modern and classic architecture. Very classy. One warning: this is not a casual hotel. If you like to stroll around in shorts and sandals, you will feel out of place. In fact, the hotel has a formal dress code for both the pool area and lobby. This is refreshing to see after having stayed at so many hotels where the riff-raff spoil the ambiance. We observed that the guests take the behavior rules seriously. Anyway, a phenomenal place to stay. Much recommended. Nearly locations: Lumphini park, US embassy, Yummy Tummy restaurant. 15 min walk to Skytrain and subway stops.

Room Tip: The backside of the hotel overlooks the US and Dutch embassies. Take advantage since it is one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Mr Q,

I know you had many great hotel choices in Bangkok and on behalf of our team, thank you for choosing the Oriental Residence. I am pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay. Many thanks for your compliments on our design details, staff and the personalized guest room touches within the hotel. The staff at the Oriental Residence Bangkok is eager to assist with any guest requests and we strive to enhance each stay. It is great to hear that this commitment was recognized and well received by you. I will make sure to share your comments with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oriental Residence Bangkok soon.

Warmest regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,905 - 1,911 of 2,853 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is by far the nicest hotel experience I have ever had! The hotel is beautiful and in exceptional condition. The customer service is stellar-- mangos and sticky rice delivered to your room each the afternon, free bottled water at the pool, delicious food, and a complimentary ride to the skytrain, to name a few. On the recommendation of other Trip Advisor travelers, I requested an upper floor room and recieved one with an amazing view. Also, if you book on the hotel website you can get an 8 am check-in, which is great if you are coming in earlier in the day.

In regards to the location, it is in a quieter (relative to Bangkok) part of town, which I found a nice respite. Though they have a free van to the skytrain, the walk to the skytrain is simple and very short.

Also, the price is very reasonable for the quality. Very hightly recommended!

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank CambridgeMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear CambridgeMass,

There are many choice hotels in Downtown Bangkok and I am delighted you have chosen the Oriental Residence. Your review was very complimentary of our service and for that I thank you. I am glad our location was to your liking and our hotel amenities made for a comfortable stay. I will most certainly share with the team your positive comments on their service and attention to details. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is an outstanding property with posh furnishings, excellent in-room amenities, warm and discrete customer service/attentiveness that is normally experienced only in the ultra-high end hotels. The first impression was particularly impressive as we were met by a super-efficient and courteous hotel representative while still within the arrival area just steps after entering terminal upon disembarkation (we did not clear immigration nor customs yet). With him assisting us, immigration clearance took 1 minute (no kidding) whereupon we boarded an immaculate hotel van (Toyota Alphard) for our hotel transfer. The check-in process itself was very efficient and prompt.

The rooms were even more impressive in all aspects: size, comfort, furnishings, cleanliness, appliances (since this is actually a serviced apartment, there was the usual kitchenette) and a super spacious bathroom. Internet connectivity was very good/fast.

While we did not spend much time in the hotel itself as we were on a business trip, our other colleagues staying in different were so very impressed/awed by the experience. Our last surprise was the complimentary upgrade from the Toyota Alphard to their impressive Jaguar for our transfer back to the airport 2 days later. Having worked for some top hotel chains in a management position for many, many years in the past (I am now in a different industry), I do know/appreciate the finer details in a hotel operation. And this is one property that really stands out especially in its value-for-money (phenomenal).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miguel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Miguel R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Oriental Residence Bangkok-what a great review! Our staff prides themselves on being helpful and accommodating in every way so I am truly delighted to hear you felt so taken care of from the moment you were with us at the airport. I always appreciate it when guests take the time to write a review, so I thank you, and look forward to sharing your compliments with the staff. Whether for business or pleasure, I hope we will see you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is by far the best hotel I have stayed in. We stayed in a suite which was impeccably clean, with a very comfortable bed and large, lovely bathroom (shower, tub, large dual vanities, separate room for the toilet). We also spent a few hours at the pool which was large, elegant and relaxing. Wifi worked very well - I don't remember having any issues with it. Hotel is not a far walk from the BTS which was convenient.

We booked far in advance enough to get a free night for staying three nights, which made it a even better value.

I would not hesitate to stay here again. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Suite rooms have a kitchenette, small sitting area with couch and desk, and large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lm2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear lm2329,

Thank you so much for the compliments and for taking the time to share a few of the things that made your stay memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are in Bangkok.

Warmest regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Oriental Residences comprise luxury hotel suits and sumptuous condominium apartments in a central location in Bangkok close to a number of Embassies and Consulates. The design style is clean, light and refreshing; the rooms are spacious and extremely well appointed, with huge bathrooms and very comfortable beds. The staff are friendly and attentive and they made my stay a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The French Bistro-style restaurant, Café Claire, offered tasty food in a casual setting, again with great service and some very amusing wall plaquards! The Mandopop restaurant offering contemporary Chinese cuisine was also an enjoyable dining experience. This is a property which can be safely recommended and offers good value. .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank industryvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear industryvet,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful experience. Especially at our restaurants: Cafe Claire and Mandopop. We are also thrilled that you experienced phenomenal service and dedication during your stay.

On behalf of the staff, we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Bangkok!

Warmest regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

First of all, after reading many good reviews from tripadvisor and travel blogs regarding this service residence. My wife and I decided to stay at this establishment for 4d3n from 24 to 27 July 2013. This property is indeed very nice , clean and tastefully decorated lobby and well furnished rooms . A true 5* service residence. However , what surprise me is that the service level from the hotel staffs are sub-5 star standard. For example, we left our luggage at the hotel on the final day as we were catching an evening flight back , we did some last minute shopping before heading back to the residence to pick up our luggage. To our surprise, the bell boy brought us our luggage and told my wife and I (who is carrying some plastic bags of goodies) " if u want to pack your luggage , please do so over there " . Then he point us outside the hotel lobby non air con area which is under the sun. First of all, we never intend to pack our bag at your lobby. Secondly, as a 5* service residence with great review , how can your staff ask customers to go outside to pack their bags knowing it is under the hot sunlight? ?? My wife and I feeling annoyed told him to help us to get a cab to the airport and after awhile the cab arrive and the driver started to tell us he doesn't want to run on meter and want us to pay 400 baht for the trip and your bell boy just look at us and said " he want u to pay 400bht if not don't go airport" well, 400bht is not a huge sum of money but I am surprised that your establishment allow touting of taxi driver(refuse to in meter) and being 5* residence u allowed your customers to be cheated openly by taxi driver and never take any initiative to assist at all. My advise to the management is: being a 5* residence doesn't just take the outlook and the ambience of the hotel, more importantly is customer service and well trained quality staffs. Your customers pay and come for 5* experience , not to be treated like second class citizen just becoz we are dressed casually. Being 5* doesnt mean setting a dress code for your guest, I have been to many 5* hotels/resorts around the world , some with more aged building and rooms, but what stand out is their 5* customer service that can warm the customer's hearts and it is this wonderful experience that keep all customers happy and returned repeatedly. One such great resort is " the samaya ubud, Bali"

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Satjexon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Satjexon,

Thank you for your valuable review. We are disappointed to learn that your recent stay with us was unimpressive, and we extend a sincere apology from our entire staff. This is very rare feedback for us to receive - as we are known for our outstanding service and offerings.

I was disappointed to learn of the service issue you encountered with our bellman on your departure day for which their is no excuse, only an apology. I have shared this with the bell team to prevent a re-occurrence.

I also do apologise for your taxi incident. Unfortunately, it is way of life here in Bangkok. Taxis in Bangkok are always an issue. They are far from professional. The other issue is the fare is already low so the drivers are always looking for ways to earn extra income by negotiate the fare rather than use the meter, especially going to traffic congestion area or during the rain...or they will not go at all.

We take your comments very seriously and please be assured that each these issues that you experienced have been discussed with our departments. Our team will do everything we can to make certain that your future stays with us are memorable, as they should be! We look forward to hopefully welcoming you and your wife back in the future

Warmest regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I travel quite a bit and often stay at 5 star hotels for work but I rely heavily on tripadvisor for personal travel. This hotel is beautifully furnished, one of the nicest ones I've stayed in. The service is excellent and the hotel restaurant is lovely. Expensive, yes but very nice. B'fast was simple but good. Only draw back is location, the traffic on that street is really bad. It took us 55mins in a cab at 4pm to get to Khao San Road. Only cost 130 Bhat though. I would probably stay here again but might do some more research on the location to see if there is something better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mags132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Mags132,

Thank you for your kind review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your luxurious guestroom, the hotel décor, breakfast at Cafe Claire and the service provided to you by our staff. We take great pride in our location as we are situated in the most beautiful area of the city but unfortunately traffic in Bangkok will be very intense almost everywhere from 7.00 am until around 9.00 pm during the week but weekend is better.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back again soon!

Warmest regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 887 in Bangkok
4,533 reviews
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#40 of 887 in Bangkok
6,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Residence Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Residence Bangkok

Address: 110 Wireless Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $135 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Oriental Residence Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oriental Residence Bangkok: Grace in every detail, warmth framed by compelling beauty, Oriental Residence Bangkok offers refined accommodation surrounded by a lush tree in the centre of Bangkok. Situated in the prime location, residents at Oriental Residence Bangkok can enjoy the stunning panoramic view of Bangkok’s skyline with easy access to the embassies and shopping centres and business communities. Featuring 145 lavished appointed serviced residences, which include Executive Deluxe, One-Bedroom, Two-Bedroom, and Three-Bedroom Suites, Oriental Residence Bangkok also consist of 46 private residential units. Residents can enjoy unique dining experience from Café Claire – an all-day dining restaurant, Savelberg Thailand a gourmet French restaurant, and 24-hour In-residence dining and Oriental Bar. Exclusive facilities include meeting rooms with natural daylight, residents’ lounge, fitness centre, and outdoor swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Amari Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oriental Residence Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing