We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oriental Residence Bangkok
Nearby Hotels
$114
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
$104
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
$206
The Peninsula
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$149
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok(Bangkok)
$317
$252
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Siam(Bangkok)
$607
$590
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$464
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,040)
Filter reviews
3,040 results
Traveler rating
2,418
463
98
35
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,418
463
98
35
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe clairewireless roadamerican embassyone bedroom suitepillow menuembassy districtpark viewmacaroonsbeautiful hoteldining tablewasher dryerlumpini parkour honeymoonhuge bathroomhome away from homeserviced apartmentperfect stay
Filter
Updating list...
2,187 - 2,192 of 3,040 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

From the moment you arrive and the white gloved doorman appears, you know you've arrived somewhere special. I don't know who designed this place, but it's just beautiful, and it seems they've thought of everything. The lobby is just gorgeous: cool, calm, smells fab. The staff are lovely, attentive and helpful. We had a one bedroom suite with an extra bed in the lounge for our children and we had more than enough space. Again, the way the suite is designed was just perfect. The furniture and fittings were really stylish and high quality. The drawer liners match the wall paper! Such attention to detail!! The bathroom was amazing, all marble and fantastic storage, products etc. We went for a city view and I'm really glad because, at night, the view was stunning from the living area balcony. The soundproofing is also excellent, because we couldn't hear the traffic at all until we opened the doors. We enjoyed the pool here very much too, though I do have to say it is a little cold. That was ok for me, my husband and eldest son, but the little one was less keen. There is a paddling pool adjacent too, and one afternoon he played there with his action figures while we swam or lounged. The views from the pool area are great too of the US Ambassador's garden and Netherlands embassey etc. There's a turn down service in the room each night, and this was a lovely touch and also meant that drinking water is replenished twice a day, robes re-hung etc. Service can't get much more attentive than that! I can't recommend the hotel highly enough. It's also great value considering the level or comfort and service. One thing I would say, is that this is the business district of Bangkok, so not a tourist area. That was fine for us and taxis are cheap and plentiful and it's in a central position so not too far from anywhere really. We did walk back from the Central World Mall, one day, and of course, Lumpini Park is also walking distance. There's also great street food across the road outside the 7-11 from early morning onwards. A couple of final things: Cafe Claire is lovely...we had brunch there and it was delicious, and again, impeccable service; but the last word has to go to the bed. It was the most comfortable bed EVER, with the most luxurious bed linen. A great night's sleep is the most important thing, after all!

Room Tip: We loved the city view room because it looked so fantastic at night! It was not noisy because of excellent soundproofing.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopperWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear hopperWales,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review. What a pleasure it was to have you and your family with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time spent unwinding in your suite, utilizing the pool and dining at Cafe Claire – birds chirping from the embassy gardens always seem to add the perfect touch to a relaxing day. It means the world to us and we will be sure to share your generous words with the entire team.

We do hope that we will see you and your family again. We truly appreciate the time that you spent with us and thank you for allowing us to be a part of your memorable experience!

Warmest regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Staff - attentive, capable, english speaking and friendly. Do you want or need much more?

Location - On the basis you are not here because you're a party seeking/back-packing/18-21 year old on a tight budget, the location is fine. This is the Thai business area of Bankgkok and so don't expect much tourist action. It's a short (barring the ridiculous traffic) cab journey to anywhere you want to go and they have a free and friendly bus to the skyrail if you can't be bothered to walk.

Room - We had a one bedroom corner suite and it was beautiful. Very well appointed, kitchen perfect for making breakfast or lunch in and the sofa/tv set up nice for a quiet night by the tv. Huge tv in bedroom if you're too lazy to leave and the bathroom was very large with separate bath and shower. Quality bath products and fittings as well. Coffee / tea facilities were great and complimentary. Large fridge/freezer in the room with microwave as well.

Further comments -
None really, it does what it says....it's a residence, full of oriental charm and hospitality and with bags of class to go with it. You won't get the full on hotel experience, but if you want that, head to one of the five-stars on the river or further in town.
The concierge was perhaps a little on the futile side...I reckon we could have done just as well with regards to recommendations etc with a bit of research online, but this is a reflection on the standards of the place. Everything else is so top notch you'd have expected better.

Room Tip: The corner suite had beautiful views, but honestly I am not sure it makes much of a difference which room you go for, I can't imagine that any of them are bad.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sa-moorei-blogspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear sa-moorei-blogspot,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comprehensive review on TripAdvisor. We are simply humbled by your kind words. Our team has great pride in the service and experience they deliver for our guests and your recognition is meaningful.

We appreciate the feedback, both the positive and the constructive. As a group, we tend to obsess about how we can get better and we share all of our guests feedback to ensure that happens.

Once again we appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I been to Bangkok over 20 times, I stayed at the Hansar last time and was very pleased, I read the good rating of Oriental Residence in Tripadvisor and decided to try this hotel.

First of all, I have to admit the interior decor was classy - the lobby, the swimming pool and the room, but there were certain things that annoy us very much, and we will definitely not staying here next time.

1) Room - very nice decor, good linen, cosy and clean but stupid arrangement, if you are business traveller or need to use computer sometimes, you will be very upset...the study table is a small folding bench (see photo) which has no chair, you can only sitting at the edge of the bed, they offer free wifi but sometimes not good reception so we need to plug in the Lan wire, guess what, the Lan wire was located at the entrance which was 15 ft away from the study desk, so we can only moved our computer to the entrance and use the sofa to do our work.

2) Toilet - No counter top to put my sanitation bag in such a huge bathroom.

3) Traffic - The traffic was terrible around that area, no Taxi want to come in and finally we need to use the hotel car (which cost 1000 baht/trip) to our dinner place.

4) Cafe Claire Restaurant - their green curry was worser than can food, we said "can we have the bill please", they gave us a Perrier, we said it again, they took the small bottle and replace with a large bottle of Perrier!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodieHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear foodieHK,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience here on Trip Advisor. On behalf of our team I would like to apologize for the aspects of your experience that fell short of expectations. We take the comments where we did not meet expectations as opportunities to review and improve our performance.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our final hotel on our honeymoon and we loved it! The staff are very very very very helpful and formal. They even dress formally. We had a very nice sticky rice pudding and berry cake welcome! The view was awesome out of the corner suite. They drop off to the station is very effective and the station is really not so far away to even walk! The swimming pool is beautiful! Unfortunately we only stayed one night but will definitely start our next thailand trip here! They even kept our bags safe until 9:30 pm for us while we spent our last day in the shops! Definitely an awesome hotel that compares to the best I have been to around the world! Oh and we came back to a warm bubble bath our first night! Amazed that it was hot!

Room Tip: Take a corner suite!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia4Rudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Alicia4Rudi,

Our team has been thrilled to host you. We are humbled by your kind words and glowing review of your experience. As you have discovered our best asset is our staff and the service they deliver every day.

We appreciate all of the time you have taken to share your experience and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed in the Oriental Residence on my first night in Thailand. The hotel is very classy, clean, luxurious, cool, welcoming. After a long journey and the initial shock of arriving in Thailand, it is the perfect place to relax and recharge before heading out to investigate Bangkok. Our room was excellent, and complimentary mango sticky rice on the first day was a nice touch, breakfast was not included in our rate which was not ideal but a good excuse to get out of the hotel, got room service one night which was very good quality. All in all a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tm2982000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear tm2982000,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind words here on Trip Advisor. Your overall experience are certainly appreciated. We share all of the feedback and I can tell you - our team loves to hear it!

Should you have an opportunity to come back to Bangkok we would love to be your hotel of choice.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews