We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but be aware of some things...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Oriental Residence Bangkok
Ranked #8 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel but be aware of some things...”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is very nice, very clean, we got a free upgrade to a one bedroom which was great but the only thing that we were placed on the side facing wireless road which was damn noisy all day and night. My suggestion is ask for a room change if they put you on that side unless you can handle traffic noise. The other thing that was lacking was a nice coffee machine in the room. These days most updated hotels place Nespresso machines or equivalent and I would have expected something more than a cheap kettle for the price we paid.
Breakfast was a little bit average as well. Once again for the price you pay they should have a better setup and more choices.

Room Tip: Stay away from the busy road side. If you plan to go out and use a taxi then keep in mind the peak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plavj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Plavj,

Thank you for your feedback as this is important information for us to evaluate. I am glad you enjoyed your stay despite certain hiccups. Please be assured that we are addressing the areas that you mentioned and look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,072
    369
    79
    22
    24
See reviews for
569
1,095
182
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

ahhh, our honeymoon was coming to end. Our last destination was Bangkok and boy did my husband book the right hotel.

There isn't much more I can say that wasn't addressed in the previous reviews so I won't bore you with much. Check in was smooth, relaxing and I appreciated the personal attention. They were nice enough to acknowledge it was our honeymoon by giving us a room on a higher floor. We were personally taken to our room by the lovely lady who checked us is. She also took the time to explain where everything was located in the room, down to the dishes and bottle opener. The room is very tastfully decorated, in fact, I want to redo my whole house to look like the Oriental Residence! The toiletries are from Penhaligon's and are my favorite. The only regret I have is that we only got to enjoy this wonderful property two days.

I hope you enjoy your stay here as much as we did. Thank You Oriental Residence for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear msconnielam,

Thank you very much. Congratulations on your marriage! We greatly appreciate your confidence in us and we are delighted that you had such a great experience. We hope to see you again on many more happy occasions!

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed three nights in this hotel on February 2013. We have been in Bangkok three times before this visit and I must say that this hotel was absolutely the best of these visits. We reserved the grand deluxe room (the cheapest one) and realised during our stay that it was more than enough for our expectations. The grand deluxe room is 45 m2, equipped with full kitchen, bathroom with the window etc. (check the pictures).
We did not eat the breakfast in the hotel because we are not so "heavy" eaters in the morning. From the opposite side of the road there is the Conrad shopping center where are several coffee shops, for example Starbucks so you don't necessary need to book the room with the breakfast (which was in fact quite expensive).
The nearest skytrain station (Phloen Chit) is just a ten minutes walk distance. Within half an hour you also walk to the big shopping centers in the hearth of the city, for example to CentralWorld.
Luckily we got the room which was facing to the American embassy and to the Dutch embassy. Both embassies have big garden so the nearest view from our room was over the threes to the park.
Tip: Taxi drivers dont recognize the Wireless road but if you give address Thanon Witthayu & American embassy they know their way to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Esko M,

Thank you for your kind remarks. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our Grand Deluxe room, our views and our amenities as well as our location. It is wonderful to know that our luxury accommodations have become your new favorite in Bangkok and I will be sure to share your feedback with my team. We look forward to having you back soon!

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
159 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Four of us stayed at one of tiheir two bedroom suites for our short holiday weekend in Bangkok and it was a dream.
The team could anticipate your every wish before you even thought of it! From technical pack to bathroom amenities to in room facilities they have everything you ever need.
The service team is always enthusiastic to help, ambience of the hotel is just the right balance between contemporary chic and classic cozy. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank confucius73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear confucius73,

Thank you for your very kind compliments. I am delighted to read about the level of customer service you experienced as well as the hotel amenities and will be certain to share with the entire team. We hope you will escape from Singapore and stay with us again soon!

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our 4 night stay was most relaxing in this beautiful hotel. The room was luxurious, most comfortable with a lovely bathroom and dressing room. Loved the kitchenette with quality appliances. The staff was always courteous and helpful. The shuttle service to the BTS station was a bonus. Across the street there is a morning market where you can buy local food and all sort of things. There is also a seven eleven store.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maclinksgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear maclinksgoer,

Thank you very much. It pleases me greatly to hear that you had such a nice time with us and you were able to take advantage of our neighborhood. We look forward to seeing you again for your next trip to Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed in the Oriental Residence Bangkok in January for three nights. It's a modern and well appointed hotel that manages to not feel too cold. The room was great, with a separate living and dining area and a galley kitchen and island with sink and washing area. The toilet was large, with separate toilet, shower and bathtub areas as well as separate dresser and sink tables. Having two flatscreen TVs in the bedroom and living area was a plus as you don't have to worry if there's a clash in different people wanting to watch different programs. The hotel pool is on the fourth floor and is large enough to do laps.

The hotel is in a prestigious location, next to the Dutch embassy and the US ambassador's residences. But it's situated midway between two stations (Ploenchit & Chidlom) and about a 10-15 minute walk to either. If you need to be at the doorstep to Siam Square shopping area, there are probably better located hotels for you, though having said that, the hotel does provide a half hourly shuttle to Chidlom station.

I found the breakfasts at the cafe adequate but the setting and view of the greenery of teh Netherlands embassy compound make up for it. Do book a dinner at the in-house Chinese Restaurant Mandopop. It's a very stylish restaurant and the food and service were good. For a high-end restaurant it was also relatively inexpensive.

Finally, if you can, do book the hotel's airport transfer service. Bangkok traffic can be hell, and it makes a huge difference to be fetched to and from the airport in one of the hotel's Jaguar XJ limousines. They are very luxurious cars that have sunroofs, huge amounts of leg space and even massage functions in the rear seats. You can even control the music from the in-car IPad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear BertSingapore,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind thoughts. It pleases me greatly to hear that you had such a great experience with us. I will certainly share your kind words with my team, especially with Mandopop team. See you on your next trip to Bangkok!

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were after a 24 hours flight so it was a huge hope to get some sleep and a take a good shower. But we found much more than sleep and shower, we were treated like some presidents from the movie and a bed... Guys, from where did you get this bed, it is a piece of heaven to sleep, we want the same to us!

I definitely recommend this hotel for a recover from flight. Kitchen was a bit useless for us but overall everything is just great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iSerge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear iSerge,

Thank you very much for kind comments. We will be delighted to have you again on your next trip and we are always here to help you recover from jetlag or a reason to get jetlag!

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 859 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 859 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,088 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Residence Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Residence Bangkok

Property: Oriental Residence Bangkok
Address: 110 Wireless Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Oriental Residence Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oriental Residence Bangkok: Grace in every detail, warmth framed by compelling beauty, Oriental Residence Bangkok offers refined accommodation surrounded by a lush tree in the centre of Bangkok. Situated in the prime location, residents at Oriental Residence Bangkok can enjoy the stunning panoramic view of Bangkok’s skyline with easy access to the embassies and shopping centres and business communities. Featuring 145 lavished appointed serviced residences, which include Executive Deluxe, One-Bedroom, Two-Bedroom, and Three-Bedroom Suites, Oriental Residence Bangkok also consist of 46 private residential units. Residents can enjoy unique dining experience from Café Claire – an all-day dining restaurant, Mandopop – signature Chinese restaurant, and 24-hour In-residence dining. Exclusive facilities include meeting rooms with natural daylight, residents’ lounge, fitness centre, and outdoor swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amari Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oriental Residence Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing