We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and sleek, with a touch of old world charm.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Oriental Residence Bangkok
Ranked #7 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Modern and sleek, with a touch of old world charm.”
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

The service was very good. They tended to our every need. The room was very clean, sleek, and functional. The fruit basket is very good; they know how to select fruits! Very sweet and juicy! Also, it's very nice that they have a crossing guard there, the cars drive so fast, making it really hard just to jaywalk. On top of that, it is literally right next to the Netherland and American embassies, so you should feel super safe.

DON'T TRY HOME'S KITCHEN. THEY SUGGESTED IT TO US. THAT PLACE WAS A NIGHTMARE. NO MATTER HOW MANY TIMES THEY SUGGEST IT TO YOU, JUST DON'T GO THAT PLACE.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THE_ISABEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear HAI-AND-BYE,

I wanted to thank you for all of your kind remarks about our staff and I am proud to be part of a team that takes such excellent care of our guests and will most certainly share your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit!

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,112
    374
    80
    22
    24
See reviews for
582
1,116
185
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is the first time i comment at tripadvisor but this hotel really deserves it!
We absolutely loved our stay at Oriental Residence.
Everything was just PER-FECT!
The attention on every little detail made our stay unforgettable
The staff was genuinly very friendly and helpfull.
The hotel is so beautifull and cosy that you wonder if you should leave to know the city.
Wish i had more time in Bangkok to enjoy more of this wonderfull hotel.
Cafe Claire is also a must!

Having a SPA would definitely be a plus!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CristianaVazFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear CristianaVazFranco,

Thank you very much for your confidence in us. It pleases me greatly that you felt the service during your stay was exceptional and everything was perfect! We appreciate that your first Trip Advisor review was for us. See you again soon!

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Myself and my wife chose the Oriental Residence due to the 5 star rating and the fact that it was so much cheaper than some of the other hotels in the top 5 for Bangkok on Trip Advisor.

I spent weeks reading up on all the different hotels and reviews before booking the OR hotel. This was part of a 3 week trip to Australia and Thailand and had been a year in the planning so I wanted everything to be spot on.

The minute we arrived at the hotel the staff made us feel very special and they very genuinely wanted to assist us. The girls on reception were very pleasant and beautiful in equal measure and a joy to deal with (They even sorted our phones as we were struggling to connect to the hotels WIFI, that's going above and beyond in my book).

Having been to Thailand before it seems being nice and polite comes natural to most Thai people.

I can hand on heart say this probably the nicest and most pleasant hotel I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. We were kindly upgraded to a one bedroom corner suite with a balcony for our 3 night stay (wish we could have spent a few more nights but work commitments in the UK called).

The hotel was spotlessly clean in all areas, there are free bottles of mineral water, fruit and newspapers in the hotel for guests. We ate in Cafe Claire on the first night as we were too tired to venture out after out flight from Sydney and it was a lovely meal with very attentive staff, we also had breakfast in Cafe Claire which was extreme nice and a good selection.

I went in the pool a couple of times and it was a very relaxed, clean and quiet environment after all the walking and madness of Bangkok's traffic and people.

On our last night we ate in the Mandopop restaurant and this was a prefect way to end our trip, the food was outstanding and very reasonably priced we even managed to catch happy hour which pleased this tight Scotsman :-) The staff were first class in everything they did and made us feel like royalty I don't think we had to touch a door to open it for our whole stay.

All in all the staff we dealt with were a credit to this hotel and this is why it is number one in Trip Advisor, I just hope the prices don't sky rocket in the future.

A few posters have made a big deal about the location and how long it takes to walk to the Skytrain. The Hotel offer a free shuttle service to the station if you have difficulty walking or would prefer not to. I think it took us 10-15mins to walk to the Skytrain on our way back from touring Bangkok and was a doodle even in the heat of Bangkok.

All in all and thoroughly enjoyable stay and I'm happy to give this a 5 star review and would highly recommend the Oriental Residence

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jofneytoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Jofneytoad,

First of all I must thank you for your generous words regarding our staff. Hiring the best team in Bangkok is something I am extremely proud of. This is the level of service and generosity we aim to deliver and you described it perfectly. From the minute you arrived at the hotel, we truly aim to please our guests and offer the best service in the business.

We are humbled by your review and look forward to welcoming you and your wife back very soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh
Level Contributor
116 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here just one night, but it was fabulous.

Check-in was in a spacious lobby, soaring ceilings and the staff were efficient and friendly. The apartment rooms were a cut above anything similar I've stayed in before. The reasons - style, furnishing, content and attention to detail. Lots of room, all manner of gadgets and items to make your life easier, huge bathroom and nicely equipped kitchen. All appearing very new and up to date.

I didn't have time to check any other facilities barring breakfast.It wasn't your typical huge 5 star spread, more limited but there was the advantage there was actually a menu and so they'd take your order which was nice.

As the rate was comparable to a 5 star room only rather than an apartment, I'd be back here in a flash.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mupple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Mupple,

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and I am delighted to hear your feedback about our staff. I will be sure to share your comments with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oriental Residence Bangkok very soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our stay at the hotel. We reached much earlier than the check-in time and were told our room will be made available later. We left our baggage, as we wanted to waste no time to explore the city.
When we returned, we were given the card to our room, but alas, no one brought us up to orientate us. The room had a great view. Room amenities were luxe, and we were wowed by the details and amenities in the kitchen right up to the bedroom and bathroom. Superb, for our honeymoon. Bed was comfy. Iron and ironing board were missing though, and had to be asked for.
We saw that the reviews here in Tripadvisor stated choice of pillows. We were not even asked anything about that. We noticed that the concierge were always busy to be helpful - they doubled as the concierge, the bellboy, and even the driver for the shuttle service to the nearest BTS. (Which, by the way, we appreciated as it was too far to walk out to the BTS). Staff were friendly, but seemed too busy to handle the many visitors and residents.
For our room, after the first night, our napkin were missing, and totally not replaced, and so was our bathrobe. We prepared our own breakfast daily, in our room, so it would have been much better if they had been replaced. During our first night, they did not provide the turn down service, and during our last night, housekeeping entered quickly, to carry out turn down service, after just a ring of the bell, though my husband and I were inside. It was a rather rude shock.
During our last night, we had some light snack and dessert at the cafe claire. It was a rather quiet night with just us and one other couple, but staff were not friendly and attentive. We had to wait for them and call them a few times to get their attention. We thought it was totally insensitive for them to have had wine with our food, as we were obviously not wine drinkers.
Location wise, it was rather difficult getting back to the hotel. All taxi drivers could not understand the instructions. We had to speak in Thai to get back to the hotel.
All in all, a definite luxe place, but it could have been better with all these improvements made.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank CTJem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear CTJem,

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed the guest room. I am sorry to hear that other parts of your stay were less than perfect. I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the inconsistencies experienced during your stay. Our level of service is often ranked highly by our guests. I will speak with the team about the issues you experienced and we will look for ways to improve. We hope you will join us again next time you are back in Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

What an incredible stay here - the rooms, location, staff were top class. Lily - was truly outstanding, positive and a true asset to the group. The concierge were unbelievably helpful, informative and thoughtful! Well dine James and Wan - for making us feel at home. A very memorable time in Bangkok - hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayangara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Ayangara,

I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and felt that the level of service was so exceptional. I will share your comments with the entire team, especially Lily, James and Wan. We look forward to welcoming you back “home” again soon!

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed a total of 4 nights in this absolutely fantastic hotel. Two days before and two days after our week in Myanmar. We knew accommodations in Myanmar would be very unpredictable so we decided to try to pick a nice hotel in Bangkok that doesn't break our budget and did we ever choose a winner.
The outstanding experience begins in the lobby where you are greeted with the kindness and warmth that Thailand is known for, and continues through every aspect of the hotel. Beautiful rooms, incredible bathrooms... No detail is overlooked from the in-room French press to the pillow menu.
We left the O.R.B. with an ache in our hearts to spend the final 10 days of our vacation in Koh Lanta.
The only downsides were that it's not located very close to major attractions other than mega malls, and many taxi drivers had no idea where it was. We got around this by carrying a card from the concierge that had a map and the phone number.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slothbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Slothbuddha,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are honored to be your new favorite hotel in the world! I will be sure to share your wonderful comments with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable stay. Happy Holidays!

Kind regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 858 in Bangkok
4,297 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 858 in Bangkok
8,113 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Residence Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Residence Bangkok

Property: Oriental Residence Bangkok
Address: 110 Wireless Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Oriental Residence Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oriental Residence Bangkok: Grace in every detail, warmth framed by compelling beauty, Oriental Residence Bangkok offers refined accommodation surrounded by a lush tree in the centre of Bangkok. Situated in the prime location, residents at Oriental Residence Bangkok can enjoy the stunning panoramic view of Bangkok’s skyline with easy access to the embassies and shopping centres and business communities. Featuring 145 lavished appointed serviced residences, which include Executive Deluxe, One-Bedroom, Two-Bedroom, and Three-Bedroom Suites, Oriental Residence Bangkok also consist of 46 private residential units. Residents can enjoy unique dining experience from Café Claire – an all-day dining restaurant, Savelberg Thailand a gourmet French restaurant, and 24-hour In-residence dining and Oriental Bar. Exclusive facilities include meeting rooms with natural daylight, residents’ lounge, fitness centre, and outdoor swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Amari Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oriental Residence Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing