We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ratchadamnoen Residence
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
$213
$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$194
$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$157
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$125
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paragon Inn(Bangkok)(Great Value!)
$54
$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveler rating
43
77
27
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
77
27
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskhao san roadsmall alleywaywat phono elevatortriple roomwalking distancethe main roaddemocracytaxiaccommodationcouchbedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 151 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights for a quick visit to Bangkok. the first impression was really bad, as it is situated in a really ugly street with only old buildings, but at the hotel itself was really nice. situated near the old city centre with walking distance to main turst attraction. The hotel was renowated not much ago, quite big rooms, safety box and air condition in each bedroom. The breakfast was included, not a big choice but ok. Staff realy nice, specially a young girl that knew perfect English. I raccomend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights because we were 3 people it seemed a good choice.
The cleaness is not really done and in the room had a bad smelt because of the bathroom's tub.
The staff was sympatic and the breakfast very good.

The hotel is situated in small road on the traffic circle of the democracy monument.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A stone's throw away from Khao San Road, easy to find (just around the corner from Democracy monument - please be aware most of taxi drivers confuse Democracy and Victory momument - the best way is to show the photo) - some 60-80 THB from both Phaya Thai express line station or Hua Lamphong with switched-on Taximeter. Tip: try the fastest and most funny way how to reach Siam square - take the khlong taxi (station is near Wat Saket) - just 10 THB... As regards hotel itself - clean, helpful and friendly staff, free wi-fi. Negatives: little bit noisy A/C and difficulties to get into 4th-5th floor (no lift). Greatly recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miroslav_Kozelsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Found this hotel in extensive searching online for a cheap place to stay in Bangkok that still had a modicum of quality about it.

Finally settled on the Ratchadamnoen Residence (try saying that quickly 5 times!) after reading some positive reviews.

Got the express train from the airport to the city and then caught a taxi to the hotel which took about 20 minutes or so and cost around 200-250 baht if I recall correctly (4-5GBP).

Gave directions to the taxi driver that were handily provided by the hotel upon the internet booking and the place was found without excessive amount of difficulty.

Greeted at the desk by an English-speaking staff member who quickly sorted everything out and showed me to my room in the secure premises (there are electric doors which require your keycard which is a good touch)

Splurged for the most expensive option (9 GBP per night!) which was at the very top of the complex up quite a few flights of stairs (no lift, so keep this is mind if you have luggage or mobility issues). Was very impressed to be presented what resembled an apartment more than a hotel room - a moderate sized entry room, which lead into the living room with tv, adjacent to that was the large bathroom with open plan shower, and then past the living room was the spacious bedroom). Living room and bedroom were both air conditioned too!

Balconies/windows didnt open and I imagine there wouldnt have been a view as the hotel is off a small alleyway which is surrounded by other buildings etc.

There is WiFi included in the price and a Thai or continental-style breakfast was also included in the price.

Noise was generally good although there was some construction going on nearby which was loudly heard at the time - not the hotel´s fault of course.

Overall location in the old town was good - maybe 10 mins walk from Khao San Road (if that). No trains nearby but plenty of taxis and tuk tuks as it is right near the democracy monument (and a McDonalds!) on Ratchadamnoen Klang.

Some taxi drivers had difficulty finding the place, even with the handy directions provided by the hotel staff on printed paper in Thai writing. It´s quite near McDonalds so if you mentioned this, most of the taxi drivers immediately knew where it was (oh dear)

The mosquito netting on the shut windows seemed to fail a couple of times (or perhaps they got through under the doors or cracks in the bathroom) as I was greeted a couple of times by these unwelcome guests. Luckily I had DEET mosquito spray and had I been staying for more than a few days, I wouldve brought this up with the hotel staff.

Still, to pay less than 10 pounds per night for a huge hotel room more akin to an apartment with air conditioning, included breakfast in a secure location on a quiet road near to attractions represented excellent value. For the same price, I could´ve probably got a tiny guest room on or near Khao San Road with a fan and toilets that didnt work and stained bedding!!

Will definitely consider staying here again if I´m ever in Bangkok, which Im sure I will be.

A gem of a find.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrevCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The room was spacious and very clean but anyhow it was decorated in a pretty simple style. Room doors were paper thin and, therefore, noises may be heard from corridors. We didn't and there was quiet all the time. Drinks in the minibar were pretty cheap, which was a positive surprise.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We even got "a lunch bag" for breakfast because we had to leave so early.
The location was good and bad at the same time. The first time, it was really hard to find there, but then when we knew where it is located, the location was quite good nearby old town's attractions.
However, a good place to eat was pretty hard to find in surrounding.
There was a safety box in the room but it wasn't bolted anywhere and it was so light that it was easy to carry. Not very safety.
WIFI worked well and was fast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brunoiivana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews