We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Top Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rikka Inn(Bangkok)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
4
14
28
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
14
28
4
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 50 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

It is a Little difficult to find the Top Inn, cause it's in a very small street right next to Khao San Road, but it's very close to everything you wanna go to but quiet on the other hand. The staff is very nice and the rooms are very clean. But they charged extra for everything, the wifi, the computers and even for using the Safety box. However I can still recommend the Top Inn as a first Place to stay for a few days but if you are looking for a comfy Place to enjoy your holiday you should continue looking.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tabea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We arrived in Bangkok around 10pm and after being dumped at the end of Kho san road we found this place very hard to find, with none of the locals ever having heard of the place. However when we did eventually find the place thanks to a friendly local we were pleasantly surprised. The room was basic but we had a tv, air con and our own bathroom, however to have hot water you had to pay extra. The hotel didn't have wifi but did have two computers with internet access at 10 baht for 20 minutes which was more than adequate. A good place to stay on khao san road, just make sure you know its definite location before you get there!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 90vickih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights when me and my friend first arrived in Bangkok. We booked it in advance via STA travel to get us started with our trip. We had a private car booked to pick us up from the airport too which was great however when he dropped us off we had no idea where we were as it did not seem anything like Khao San Rd. we asked where it was we were saying and he pointed to a back path which was a little alley which we had to walk down which took us onto Khao San but had no idea where the Top inn was. Overall took us about 45 minutes to find it as none of the locals or shop owners could tell us where it was and had never heard of it! So for anyone planning on staying here it is located

DOWN AN ALLEY WAY BELOW THE SAWASDEE BANKOK INN (PURPLE SIGN) ... There is also a black tattoo sign above it too.

Aside from finding it the rooms were great, basic but spacious and clean, aircon, wifi at a small fee, The staff were really helpful and friendly and didn't have any problems. Also when you first arrive you need to pay 1000 Baht deposit for the key but you do get this back when you check out. You do hear a little noise from the main strip but nothing to cause a sleepless night.

Just a little warning for the transport, taxis and tuk tuks are constantly pestering tourists to use them and DO try to rip you off. Although books and the Internet say to insist on them using the meter when we were trying to do this they all pretty much refused so you may have to do some heavy bargaining.

Overall good little hotel for travellers on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oshea001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Clean, comfortable and cheap. Just what we wanted.

We had a double room with a TV and air con and I think it was 780 thai baht per night (about £15).

It is in such a great location - just tucked away behind the Khao San Road - so it's right in the thick of the action.

Staff are very friendly. Shame wifi isn't free but still not too expensive (100 bhat for 24 hours).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeedsEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stayed here by accident in 2007 so returned this year. The room was fine, the air-conditioning was the best I have experienced anywhere (why is it so hard to get that right for sleeping?), the mattresses too soft but okay, pillows excellent, shower wets whole bathroom floor as usual but dries well, reasonable space for a short stay, quiet even on the alley side, except for Saturday night, and a weird electronic motor noise that kept up all night, but was low enough to not bother about unless you want to stay more than a few nights.

Location is excellent if you like the grog scene of Khao San, but if you want something more sophisticated in life, then this whole area is best avoided, as it is primarily for the mindless holiday crowd who just want to buy cheap rubbish and party.

Main problem with Top Inn is the attitude of the desk staff - totally uninterested in their patrons, off-hand to even aggressive, little English, self-absorbed in their own world. Meaning, for travellers who seek relationship-value with locals, this is not the place to stay. Could be the result of the type of tourist who comes to Khao San rather than the fault of the staff themselves, as most tourists here are also completely self-absorbed and uninterested in Thai culture.

I had no problem with the honesty and efficiency of the staff. Their WiFi is daylight robbery - while neighbouring places offer free connection with food or accommodation, the Top Inn charges 100 Bht for 24 hours. Surely such rip-offs over WiFi are now a thing of the past - but not at this place.

There must be better places to stay in Bangkok, but I pass through too seldom to offer any alternatives myself. Even the next road over, Rambuttri, alongside the Vengtai Hotel, is a more fascinating place, with many more locals frequenting.

In the old days, long before the Khao San scene, we used to stay in Chinatown - I might look into that again for my next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews