We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average Indian veg. food”

Saras, Pure Vegetarian Indian Restaurant
Ranked #410 of 12,544 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Reviewed March 28, 2013

On recommendation of one of my veg. friends, I had my lunch here yesterday with 5 of my business associates. For a Punjabi meal, they charged us THB300 per meal, which is a total waste. The meal had 4 dry rotis, very little rice with few Punabi sabjis. Dear fellow Indians, please avoid this place, which is a total rip-off of your money.

1  Thank RSDhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarasIndianVegFood, General Manager at Saras, Pure Vegetarian Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Mr. Dhar,

We apologize for responding late to your post, but it is never too late if your intention/willingness is to improve and learn.

Firstly we would like to thank you for your feedback, which will always help us to improve further . Allow me to revert on your comments. Thali's are set meals, which contain the following items thoughtfully put together.

4 types of vegetables & curries, namely - one Paneer Vegetable (cottage cheese), Daal (Lentil), Green mixed vegetable and a Potato based vegetable (which changes every day) | Tandoori Roti (2 Pcs) | Basmati Rice bowl | Dahi Vada (Yogart based appetizer) | Dessert | Condiments (pickle, papad and salad) & small water bottle.
Based on our research on the best practices, we can safely say that this is sufficient for any one person (unless the same is shared with two or more people) but we appreciate that individual appetite may vary. it is always possible that one may not find the above quantity filling enough, in that case they can order additional breads, rice or other items.
Based on the nature/concept of business , it is not feasible to provide an unlimited option.

I hope this answer satisfies your comments. Incase there is still any query, you may write back to us.

SARAS Customer Relation Desk | cr@saras.co.th

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 417 of 460 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

no doubt that saras is the best indian veg. resturant in bangkok, under one roof u can injoy south indian, gujarati, rajasthani, punjabi and many more type of veg.food its imposible to get so many veg varities food under one roof even in india. the best part is that all the food items are superb in taste and at very reasonable price.the indian sweets and chaats are also superb, so one is to visit so many times to taste all that food. the managment is of in very helpful nature and has prepared the food for one guest without chlli and less oil.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank nar narayan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very nice restaurant and very good food. Malai Kofta costs 210 bahts, Mix Veg Curry costs 165 bahts, Tandoori Roti 35 baht each, Veg biryani 190 bahts, Dum Aloo 165 bahts, Mineral Water bottle large 25 bahts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank PurnimaJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Went there last week and was surprised with the prices for the kind of quality of the food served. Thali is over priced at THB 300++, as are other dishes. I believe since opening the quality has dropped and prices have zoomed.

Not sure how this place survives.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 67Sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarasIndianVegFood, General Manager at Saras, Pure Vegetarian Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Mr. Sharma,

We apologize for responding late to your post, but it is never too late if your intention/willingness is to improve and learn.

We thank you for your visit at SARAS and value your feedback.

With reference to your comment on the cost of a Thali, we feel that 300 THB, justifies the quantity-n-quality of food provided at SARAS. A Thali concept is designed for any individual or a group of people who would like to enjoy variety of choice without ordering individual items as alacarte, which will not only cost them 4 times the cost but also the food may go waste.
When we say, overpriced, we would really like to know on what basis this comparison was made ? We are confident that our prices are at par with the market trends and we can substantiate it with any comparison. As regards your complaints about the staff, we will definitely look into it and take steps to improve further.

SARAS Customer Relation Desk | cr@saras.co.th

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

A group of us non-Indian ladies decided to try Indian vegetarian for a change. The curries tasted delicious but the portion of Bhindi masala , Dhal Tadka were small but the prices very expensive in portion! Dahi Puchka was appetizing for me but not a popular dish with rest of the ladies . Rava Dosa and Masala Dosa were palatable but not enough to fill our tummies. The Mango lasssi was a bit sweet. The naans and roti were hot and tasty. Saras is established as a self service fast food joint but with 5 star prices. Non of the staff used their initiative to assist us with our orders other than placing an order pad for us to write what we wanted. No help with the menu or suggestions other than one word answer to our queries. We initially wanted to order Thalis but the prices kept us away! Our bills came to 1,480 Baht and we weren't really full . My personal opinion ~ once is enough at this price and might not even recommend to others.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bigbird10900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarasIndianVegFood, General Manager at Saras, Pure Vegetarian Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We apologize for responding late to your post, but it is never too late if your intention/willingness is to improve and learn.

Thanks for your feedback, kindly allow me to answer your queries. The portion (alacarte) quantity that we offer is between 220-260 Grams which is common standard restaurant practice. But, it is always possible that individual appetite may vary or when sharing with a group of people, one portion may not be sufficient.

SARAS Customer Relation Desk | cr@saras.co.th

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saras, Pure Vegetarian Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Saras, Pure Vegetarian Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing