We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dim Sum”
Review of Mei Jiang

Mei Jiang
Ranked #553 of 10,831 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bangkok
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Dim Sum”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I have been there a couple of times already because the restaurant has a really great dim sums. They all tastes really good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arporn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    36
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We love it here!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

The food here is prepared under the instruction of Hong Kong-native chef Jackie Ho and is consistently excellent.
Try the fish maw soup with prawns, JFC - Jackie's Fried Chicken, Peking duck, special fried rice, crispy-skinned snow fish, and stir-fried black pepper beef. Mango pudding for dessert. All are delicious so we order them every time we go.
The service is attentive and friendly, don't be put off because it's in a hotel.
Only 14 TripAdvisor reviews? I'm surprised.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Troylus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
648 reviews
515 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“terrific Chinese in BKK”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We were having dimsum lunch at Mei Jiang and were not disappoint at all. All dishes were of great quality. Staffs were nice and helpful in suggesting delicious dishes. Will sure return to this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KwinAun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
130 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best Chinese”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have been couple of times at this restaurant, both times for lunch. The restaurant is located at the Peninsula Hotel, a lovely place by the River, which choosing this restaurant for your dinning pick could be a small excursion from wherever you are to the BTS station on the river and take the small boat that Peninsula provides to the hotel. I find it a good excuse to do a small stroll/river excursion.

I must say that so far after trying almost every high end chinese restaurant in Bangkok this is my favorite one. Dim Sum is excellent, Fried Crispy Egg noodles with Sea Food in oyster sauce is amazing, fried rice is very good, the Duck is the best I ve tried in Bangkok, (i love the duck to be served together skin and meat) and the service is very good too.

Overall I really enjoy this restaurant, as I say the location makes it even more charming. I recommend anyone to visit this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alkatrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So Disappointed”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was looking for a good hotel restaurant to host my mother's birthday in August and this was my top choice from previous visits several years ago.

There are certain basic things you expect from a restaurant located in a hotel like Peninsular. Good Service, Great Chinese Food, and proper plating of the food. Not sure if it was the wedding party upstairs or not that took all the resources from Mei Jiang but it was so disappointing, we decided by the time the 3rd plate arrived at our table that we can forget this restaurant for my Mother's Birthday.

Have to ask to change our plates everytime, it is quite standard in any even 3 star restaurant to do this.

Have to ask to add tea.

Food presentation was horrendous. Nothing was plated on a serving dish only on dinner plates. No presentation.

Our Peking duck was ok but really nothing special, and our wraps were lukewarm, and I guess we were suppose to have 2 plates which they forgot to serve us the second plate of the wraps until the minced duck portion came. Which you wrap with lettuce not these flour wraps.

So Disappointing

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ABMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mei Jiang also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Mei Jiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing